We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No 1 backpacking & camping in Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Upper Hill Campsite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Upper Hill Campsite
Save
You added Upper Hill Campsite to your Saves list
Othaya Road - Lavington | PO Box 29886 00200, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Soerendonk, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No 1 backpacking & camping in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We all (group of 9) loved our stay at Upperhill because it's: a dynamic and cosy place, with cool and supportive management and staff, a safe and well-managed place with great food,
an international meeting place, creative accomodation in a nice green garden.
Highly appreciated is the personal attention by Jessi and her husband: really friendly people, highly involved in providing the best standards and services.

Room Tip: Room no 3 includes ensuite shower and toilet !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    20
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
3
17
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Karatu, Tanzania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

This place is amazing. The staff are all so helpful, just ask and if they can't help you they will get on their phones and find you someone that can. The camp itself is very safe, and the surrounding area is a great to just wander around during the day. The camp is also just a short taxi ride away from local bars and clubs that are a ton of fun. The prices for everything (rooms, foood, drinks, etc.) are all super low so it is a great place for anyone on a budget or looking to save a couple dollars, but the quality is also great so even if you are not on a budget it is an awesome place. The dogs are all super friendly, and more than happy to just lay at your feet as you sit if you want them to. The staff also has taxis with set rates that are way lower than most of the other taxis you will find.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Park, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

I stayed at the campsite for 2 weeks and it was wonderful. The staff were really nice. The food was fantastic. The cabin was clean. The grounds were well kept and very clean. As a single woman I felt very safe. I recommend this place to anyone that wants a trip to Nairobi.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Lovly campsite, really well laid out and decorated. owners were so friendly and very helpful. We felt very safe in the campsite and they have security patroling all the time.

A lady called Jessie who greated us was soo nice and gave us directions to the shops and to get medication for our friend who was ill. She also woke up at 5am to wake up our group for the flights home. Now thats going the extra mile.

Richard the owner, is a really nice bloke. Good bit of bar side banter and made us all feel really welcome.

Theres only one thing i have noticed which had been put in another review, they do ask people to leave on occasions. 2 of our group members wearn't satisfied with the tents and slight friction occured, but i wasn't there to hear the conversation. Other than that i cannot recomend this place highly enough.

Thank you very much for a great night!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Where does one begin? Lost passports plus money not to mention our dignity. We were harrassed, cajoled, berated and humiliated during our one night stay in Upperhills. "Last man standing" is an utter farce as we were denied access to a friendly tipple or two at a reasonable hour. We were confronted with numerous intruders in the middle of the night of both human and canine variety complaining of phantom noises or else looking for a warm leg to cosy up to. The only redeemable feature was the reasonable food which only caused mild stomach problems.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We both loved it here. The cabins are really cozy and the food/bar is the perfect place to relax! It has a really great atmosphere and the owners are really friendly. The staff are also lovely!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We got a taxi to Upperhill after flying into Nairobi, and spent a reasonable first night there - the bunkbeds in the bandas not particularly comfortable but tolerable, and no pressure for the hot water in the morning.

Unfortunately the following day we made the mistake of going out into Nairobi for the day and the evening, leaving our banda locked and some spare money (in case we got robbed whilst out) in a rucksack that was also locked.

Upon returning at 11pm, we found that this money had been stolen. Someone had got into the locked room and picked the lock on the bag. Obviously we reported this to the campsite staff who, to their credit, phoned up the owners straight away, to whom I explained what had happened.

The owners came round about 30 minutes later and immediately launched into a rant about how "it was their first night off in 8 months" which we had apparently 'disturbed'. We were then asked to leave the campsite (at 11:30pm at night).

The justification for this was that we had accused the staff of being the ones who stole the money, and how dare we question them. No apology was made, no consideration of how it could have happened. They clearly wanted us out in case we sullied their reputation - perhaps if other people had heard they would (naturally) be cautious about staying there. Oh, and they clearly needed to get back to their big night out. As such, we had to get a taxi to take us, late at night, to find another campsite.

Absolutely disgraceful behaviour - as soon as the Kenyan tourism industry starts to apply the same standards and regulations as in developed countries, these jokers will quickly find themselves out of work.

I advise in the strongest possible terms to avoid this place at all costs.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Upper Hill Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upper Hill Campsite

Address: Othaya Road - Lavington | PO Box 29886 00200, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Upper Hill Campsite Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Upper Hill Campsite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.