We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal base to explore Nairobi from” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre
Save
You added Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre to your Saves list
St Hellen Ln Off Langata Road, Karen | P.O Box 21289, Nairobi 00505, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ideal base to explore Nairobi from”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Milimani backpackers is an ideal base from which to explore Nairobi or the rest of Kenya.It is in a nice secluded compound South of the centre, has a beautiful garden, and relaxed atmosphere to find other travelers to explore Nairobi with. I made some great friends there, and drank many a relaxed beer on the patio. The food is decent, (especially some great breakfasts), the rooms are clean and comfortable, and staff is super helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NLDTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The hostel itself was ok if you are looking for a cheap place to stay in Nairobi. Nothing too special, not too clean, not too dirty. It is located in a peaceful area some kilometres from the city center and easily reached from the airport.

The service was sometimes really weird as they wanted to charge us phone calls we never made and breakfast we never got. When trying to solve the problem, they just told us we are wrong.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

GOOD: Third-party safari destination that they send you too is everything a safari should be!!! Peter, our driver, and Asmon, the chef, were a true delight. Fairly clean, average hostel.

BAD: Barely a common area to meet with other travelers, and an office-sense about the entire thing. Worst experience I had in Africa was not getting all my things stolen (bc our driver left the van unlocked where they brought us for lunch), but instead dealing with the wolfish owner after the fact. We lost over $800 in cash, all of our photos, a journal with 4 years of experiences, $1500 worth of gear, ALL of our gear, and medicines. I reasonably asked that her business not profit ($300) off of our misfortune (due to their employee) and maybe extend a hand to help us realize the rest of our plans --I was met with 3rd World stone-walling. $100 slap-in-the-face refund was offered so that we wouldn’t “blackmail” her with a bad (TRUE) review. It was particularly disturbing when she raised her hands to the air exclaiming, “I have done right in the eyes of God.” I 100% would tell anyone thinking about staying here not to support such a person as this. Oh and if she punished or fined the employee that messed up and her pockets saw the gain, how incredibly gross and even more unethical. Bad business, lady - and bad karma for your avarice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I absolutely LOVED my time at Milimani. The staff are very welcoming and friendly. The other guests are very nice as well. The kitchen and chef always had delicious food. I've stayed with Milimani numerous times while in Nairobi, and I've always been happy with my stay and sad to leave!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hostel is a beauty. The staff are very friendly and informative (George is true legend), there are all the facilties you need and it attracts a nice group of people who are up for some fun. I'll be back one day Georgey :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was a great Hostel in a great location!! Close enough to walk to town and to several markets for buying gifts and eating places! The staff was supper friendly and the food was so good there as well!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christi-An H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I love this place! The staff are super friendly and make it a point to serve you well! They have great food and wonderful facilities! One of the favorite things that its located close to the mall and Nakumatt as well as several coffee shops and there's wireless. Check it out!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alecia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
The Ndemi Place
#29 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Meltonia Luxury Suites
Meltonia Luxury Suites
#43 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Reata Serviced Apartments
#15 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manyatta Backpackers
#29 of 155 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Lake View Studios
#35 of 155 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 10 reviews
Lulu's Guest House
#54 of 155 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre

Address: St Hellen Ln Off Langata Road, Karen | P.O Box 21289, Nairobi 00505, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide budget oriented, sociable accommodation for guests; Travel and Tourism related services & a Location for hosting events. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Milimani Backpackers And Safari Centre
Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing