We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My time at Milimani” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre
Milimani Road | P.O Box 21005-00505, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Perth, Australia
1 review
“My time at Milimani”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hostel is a beauty. The staff are very friendly and informative (George is true legend), there are all the facilties you need and it attracts a nice group of people who are up for some fun. I'll be back one day Georgey :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    14
    19
    7
    11
See reviews for
2
13
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was a great Hostel in a great location!! Close enough to walk to town and to several markets for buying gifts and eating places! The staff was supper friendly and the food was so good there as well!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

I love this place! The staff are super friendly and make it a point to serve you well! They have great food and wonderful facilities! One of the favorite things that its located close to the mall and Nakumatt as well as several coffee shops and there's wireless. Check it out!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We spent one night here after getting a bus from Uganda. The bus was delayed and we arrived at 3am, after our driver had great difficulty in finding the place. It had moved location again and was not obvious where it was. We had also not been informed that they had moved. Considering we had phoned ahead to tell them we would be late, when we arrived they took a long time finding us a room, which was not ideal at 3am! The room was basic and clean. The prices on the website are not obvious. It is 2500 Ksh for a double room and 2000 Ksh for a double cabin (which have not yet been built!). The website was difficult to use although you can book a room by e-mailing them. It's ok if you need somewhere to stay but I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

After travelling much around Kenya, i stayed at the hostel it pretty decent and was a short walking distance to the town center. the staff were really helpful and the price was much cheaper than most hostels in Nairobi, i also had a chance to meet up with fellow travellers in a nice and comfy atmosphere.

Room Tip: rooms outside are quiet and have showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunia, Democratic Republic of the Congo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This place is AWESOME... the staff is great, the accomodation and everything, you are 5 minutes away from one of the Nairobi malls, you just have to call in order to get a reference of the location... but after that, I don't have anything else to say... 100% recommended

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I was really positively surprised by this place. The rooms are pretty basic; you can choose a dormbed for approx 14 dollars a day or a privat room for 35 dollars (which is a better deal if you're more than one since you get your own room with a key) and the toilets are decent - there are three big bathrooms so it has a homely feel to it. But the big draw are the common areas! There is a big room inside, which is divided in an eating area and a living room area, where there's a tv, and a big outside area, which is really lush and green and where there's a nice pool!
The breakfast menu is good and cheap; you can get yoghurt and fresh fruit for less than 1,5 dollars but for other meals I would go out to eat, since we never really managed to get a good meal at Milimani.
The place is a ten minutes walk from Yaya Centre, where you can find western goods and restaurants; especially the Italian restaurant in the foodcourt is recommendable. And there are other good options in the area, for instance Habesha, an ethiopian restaurant.
But the really big plus about the place are the people working there. So friendly and helpful! I wasn't hesitate to recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre

Also Known As:
Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre Hotel Nairobi
Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre Hotel
Milimani Backpackers And Safari Centre
Address: Milimani Road | P.O Box 21005-00505, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 88 Specialty lodging in Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre to your Saves list