We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place if you need something basic and friendly.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre
Save
You added Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre to your Saves list
St Hellen Ln Off Langata Road, Karen | P.O Box 21289, Nairobi 00505, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not a bad place if you need something basic and friendly.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Was only there for one night before leaving for safari but the place was pretty central (only a 10/15 minute walk to central nairobi) and it was clean with friendly staff. Wouldn't rave about it especially as it was a little bit pricey for Kenya, but definitely a safe place to stay for a short period of time in NBO.

Room Tip: The outside rooms are smaller (for 2/4 people usually) and I found them quiet and safe enough. Sligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    24
    23
    7
    13
See reviews for
3
18
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

A nice, secure place in Nairobi. The staff is mostly nice and helpful, especially the kitchen staff. Good food, but it can be found cheaper in town. I slept in the 8 person dorm, beds are nice, but the rooms are a bit small. All in all it was a good experience

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Well, I travel a bit in the region and found this great place in Nairobi called Milimani Backpackers. I was at the old place where they no longer are, but the new place takes this backpackers spot really to new heights. Serious, the guys are friendly and help you out a lot. They listen to problems and you will not find super quality with such great price as here. They moved now to Dennis Pritt Road, at the very end of it....totally green and quiet environment with a pool and sunbathing area...basically the best place to relax when you are going for safari or if you are on your way back home. The place is cleen and the food is great as well. Glad to have been with you guys!!!!!!!!!! Scooby (the dog) is the best;-)

Room Tip: simply ask the staff for a quiet dorm or room, and they will help if they have one available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I had not been to Nairobi before and so I don't know how it compares to the other hostels but this was very basic. I paid extra for an outside single room however it was very noisy from the hotel next door. It probably would of been quieter inside in the shared rooms.
The staff were extremely friendly and knowledgable and the bar area was a great little place to sit and meet other travellers.
The food was basic and cheap - 50ksh for a cup of tea, 180ksh for a beer. Not too bad at all!

I can't comment on the distance to the city but it's well known with the taxi companies and around 2400ksh to the airport which wasn't too bad split between 3 of us

A decent place for one or two nights. Don't expect luxury, or decent bedding but it's not bad

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This place does the bear minimum in serving their guests but they do the maximum in trying to scam every dollar out of them. The facilities are terrible and the price is high. Everything costs alot here. The place was dirty and broken. My bed had definitely been slept in there were obvious stains, hairs and skin in the sheets. I could barely get the surly staff to replace them. I did not feel welcomed or respected whatsoever.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The backpackers can be easily reached with public transport from the bus / train stations in town. Nairobi's public bus system in general is quite good (and a lot cheaper than haggling with the cab drivers for a fair fare).
We stayed before and after a group of American missionaries had booked the whole place and therefore got to test two different dorms.
The dorms were clean and with enough space. Please note that there is a cheap cheap dorm in a tent which I didn't get to test but heard horrendous things about. Apart from the dorms there are also doubles.
One of the dorms I stayed at came with en suite facilities. Both the en suite and the shared bathrooms were clean and with hot water but the showers in the shared one are a bit inconvenient: there is no private space apart from the shower itself so that you have to show some artistic skills to get dressed in clean clothes without exposing yourself to fellow guests.
There is a bar / restaurant with a wide range of drinks and dishes and a cozy fireplace. Prices are ok. But if you're on a budget budget go to the eatery / market place behind the backpackers (leave backpackers, turn left, left again and up the little alleyway).
WiFi and computers with internet are available against a charge (200KSH per day). Wifi only works in the common areas and - if you're lucky - the first dorm on the left (aka the girls' dorm).
The backpackers has a travel desk where you can book all sorts of tours to popular Kenyan tourist destinations. I didn't try them but the ladies seemed to be quite capable.

Room Tip: Stay away from the dorm tent. The Pink (or Ladies) dorm is en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Milimani Backpackers is safe, central and friendly. During the day you can easily walk into the city and the gate is always locked and guarded at night. The bar at the premises with the bonfire is cozy and frequented by patrons of all ages and nations. Great place to pick up tips on do's and don'ts. If you want to feel the local pub vibe a little closer there's an excellent sportsbar just left with only 100m to go which is safe to do on your own or with a friend.

Bedbugs are a drawback..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
4.1 mi away
The Ndemi Place
The Ndemi Place
#25 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
5.9 mi away
Manyatta Backpackers
Manyatta Backpackers
#26 of 134 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bush House Guesthouse Kenya
Bush House Guesthouse Kenya
#128 of 182 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cold Springs Karen Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Margarita House
Margarita House
#52 of 182 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
1.6 mi away
Karen Inn & Suites
Karen Inn & Suites
#45 of 182 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre

Address: St Hellen Ln Off Langata Road, Karen | P.O Box 21289, Nairobi 00505, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide budget oriented, sociable accommodation for guests; Travel and Tourism related services & a Location for hosting events. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre Hotel Nairobi
Milimani Backpackers And Safari Centre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.