We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedbugs are always a drawback” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre
Save
You added Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre to your Saves list
St Hellen Ln Off Langata Road, Karen | P.O Box 21289, Nairobi 00505, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Oslo
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Bedbugs are always a drawback”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Milimani Backpackers is safe, central and friendly. During the day you can easily walk into the city and the gate is always locked and guarded at night. The bar at the premises with the bonfire is cozy and frequented by patrons of all ages and nations. Great place to pick up tips on do's and don'ts. If you want to feel the local pub vibe a little closer there's an excellent sportsbar just left with only 100m to go which is safe to do on your own or with a friend.

Bedbugs are a drawback..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    24
    23
    7
    13
See reviews for
3
18
38
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I only stayed in Milimani for one night, and it was okay. The food and facilities were mediocre. They said that they had wireless, but it wasn't working when I was there, so I made due with 2 ancient computers they had off to the side. The TV room was nice, but the outdoor areas were damp and dirty, so it was difficult to sit out. But, the compound felt safe and secure and the price was right.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The staff are wonderful, cheery, and so welcoming. They are knowledgeable and willing to help with things even beyond their job duties. They absolutely made staying here worth it! The facilities aren't great for the price, it'soften over-crowded and there is very little community space but you can't beat the location (just a 20 minute walk from downtown Nairobi).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I much preferred this hostel to the youth hostel. But they make a lot of mistakes, and my friends didn't even have beds even though they were booked in. Same happened to us the night before, luckily there were some spare beds. Also one guy came into our female dorm and claimed he'd been booked into my friends bed!
The food system is strange, you have to write down your order, go somewhere else to pay, then back to the chef. And it takes ages, I waited an hour and a half for ugali, and paid a little too much.
However, the place is good to meet other travelers, and it is comfortable with a tv and the atmosphere is friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Unfortunately this place has left a bad taste in my mouth that won't be gone any time soon. While I was staying here I and another guy had stuff stolen including an IPOD, and some money. We are almost certain it was some non guests who came in to use the restaurant but were wandering around. The owner had no sympathy saying we should have used the lockers which surprise, surprise had to be rented from her. The icing on the cake was one night at dinner we saw the chef drop food on the ground and put it right back in the pot.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kisumu, Kenya
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I try to stay here whenever I'm in Nairobi, because it's really fantastically located and the price is the best you will get for anything in this area of town. It's walking distance from the center (a pretty decent walk, but still beats paying for a taxi).

The rooms are, to be perfectly honest, not very nice. The ones inside have mold growing on the ceiling and are a bit damp. The outside ones are better, but you'll not get much sleep as the next door bar can be clearly heard.

The atmosphere is great though, always lots of friendly travelers and the staff is lovely and very helpful. There is a nice hang-out area outside with an open fire most nights, and I always enjoy the food here as well.

All in all, it's nothing spectacular, but the low prices, great staff and excellent location make it one of my favorite places to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We give this an average rating because the food was good - although sometimes a little cold - the bar man David is lovely, very friendly and helpful and there is a good communal area outside and in. Otherwise this is a bit overpriced, with very basic rooms and cold communal showers. You have to pay for wi fi per device, on a daily basis and it's very slow, sometimes not even working (and its not cheap!) and most the of the staff aren't very helpful, sometimes even rude. I think we could have paid less for something similar but would have paid more for something a bit nicer if we'd known the above.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
4.1 mi away
The Ndemi Place
The Ndemi Place
#28 of 133 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
5.9 mi away
Manyatta Backpackers
Manyatta Backpackers
#28 of 140 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bush House Guesthouse Kenya
Bush House Guesthouse Kenya
#135 of 183 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Margarita House
Margarita House
#41 of 183 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
1.6 mi away
Karen Inn & Suites
Karen Inn & Suites
#43 of 183 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 7 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cold Springs Karen Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre

Address: St Hellen Ln Off Langata Road, Karen | P.O Box 21289, Nairobi 00505, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide budget oriented, sociable accommodation for guests; Travel and Tourism related services & a Location for hosting events. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre Hotel Nairobi
Milimani Backpackers And Safari Centre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.