We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget lodging” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre

Save Saved
You added Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre to your Saves list
Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre
Milimani Road | P.O Box 21005-00505, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 94 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Kisumu, Kenya
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great budget lodging”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I try to stay here whenever I'm in Nairobi, because it's really fantastically located and the price is the best you will get for anything in this area of town. It's walking distance from the center (a pretty decent walk, but still beats paying for a taxi).

The rooms are, to be perfectly honest, not very nice. The ones inside have mold growing on the ceiling and are a bit damp. The outside ones are better, but you'll not get much sleep as the next door bar can be clearly heard.

The atmosphere is great though, always lots of friendly travelers and the staff is lovely and very helpful. There is a nice hang-out area outside with an open fire most nights, and I always enjoy the food here as well.

All in all, it's nothing spectacular, but the low prices, great staff and excellent location make it one of my favorite places to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    21
    7
    12
See reviews for
2
14
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We give this an average rating because the food was good - although sometimes a little cold - the bar man David is lovely, very friendly and helpful and there is a good communal area outside and in. Otherwise this is a bit overpriced, with very basic rooms and cold communal showers. You have to pay for wi fi per device, on a daily basis and it's very slow, sometimes not even working (and its not cheap!) and most the of the staff aren't very helpful, sometimes even rude. I think we could have paid less for something similar but would have paid more for something a bit nicer if we'd known the above.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

it is a small place with dorm and partitioned room, restaurent, bar and campsite. its clean and somehow cheap, you can usually meet so many travellers there.
you should pay for wifi
outside area is not safe at night

Room Tip: partitioned room is not a good choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

My partner and I had just come off a 60 day Overlanding adventure and needed a cheap place to stay in Nairobi before we flew into the Middle East. As it was close to our friends in the Kivi Milimani Hotel we chose this backpackers.

The young lady on the front desk was lovely when we arrived, but informed us that they had booked us a double when we requested a twin through our booking agency. She confirmed this room was cheaper so it was a win for us. There was no introduction to where anything was in the backpackers, so it was a little confusing the first morning when ordering and paying for breakfast.

The restaurant is very basic, our breakfast was usually cold but the bacon serves was great! At dinner time there is only one option and it is premade which concerned me highly.

The bathrooms were fair, most mornings there was no toilet paper, or the sink was blocked.

On checkout they informed us we still needed to pay the original balance despite being told on check in that our room was cheaper than the twin room we booked.

Internet was slow but manageable.

Not close to anything - needed taxis to get around everywhere. I recommend waking down to the Kivi Millimani for a driver as they are very friendly and reasonably priced. We found one fellow who looked after us all three days we were there and even took us to the airport for 1600Sh which was quite cheap.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

The nicest thing about this place is the people you encounter here. Aside from backpackers, its a hub for NGO workers and volunteers getting together the last few bits and bobs before of inbetween their projects. They will all have an interesting story to share and will be able to give you advice on your trips. The long term guests especially- chat to Kevin if he's there, an amazing guy.
The staff is beyond fantastic, Mari and Ruth are extraordinary and will go out oftheir way to help you. Same goes for the owner Patricia who is such a cool lady and always smiling.
But the real big big boss is Scooby, the dog and his new friend Samu, they run the place and are the lovelyest pair of pups you'll meet.
the location is perfect, close to the city centre, walking distance, but far enough to remain peaceful and green. close to a clinic as well, a saving grace for when you come down with random mystery illnesses. also there are pleanty of taxis outside happy to take you around, rememeber to haggle.
the premisis itself is a bit iffy, the best thing about it is the friendly set up, you can meet people here. also, for nairobi its really quite cheap.
i come here on stop overs and enjoy it quite a lot, nice to see friendly faces, and muzzles.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

After reading some of the reviews written, my wife and I were very wary about going to the backpackers. In fact, we went to check in at another backpacker run by Australians. They didn’t have space though so we ended up going to Milimani. We never made a better choice. Contrary to some comments, they are very efficient. The staff was lovely, welcoming us warmly, and the cleaning ladies so cheerful.eunice helped me track down a shirt I lost on the lines and never grumbled even once. Patricia Runs the show, and I have never met a more helpful woman. she knows everything about Kenya! Marise is a right laugh, and witty as well. Ruth is so funny and they all treated us like family,they were never once rude at all and made us feel very welcome. We took a safari with them, and the driver Sammy is the best guide in the whole entire world. the dogs were a bit noisy at night though, and there was one that kept chewing everybody’s ankles! Everybody has different experience, we can’t all be happy with the service we get in hostels, but Milimani was a great surprise, so I say go go go!!

Room Tip: the ones inside are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Milimani is chill. Very chill. Ordering food? It'll take awhile (but it's good.) Wanting to use internet? It'll take awhile (but it works.) Want to just lounge around and watch tv? No problem.

I stayed with a group of 60, so I'm not too sure what it's like staying on your own. The rooms worked just fine for me. Same with the showers.

The outdoor area is awesome in the evening, especially if there's a fire on. Met some really interesting folks when I was there.

As far as the safari went...I think it was a little overpriced, but I had a geat time and don't regret it at all. Milimani isn't the greatest...but it's far, far from the worst. Some of the other reviews on here seem a little extreme if you ask me.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre

Address: Milimani Road | P.O Box 21005-00505, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 94 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre Hotel Nairobi
Milimani Backpackers And Safari Centre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.