We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Setting, Above Average Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karen Blixen Coffee Garden and Cottages

Karen Blixen Coffee Garden and Cottages
336 Karen Road, Nairobi, Kenya
254-20-88 21 38
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 89 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Good Setting, Above Average Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2015 NEW

I confess, we were late-ish in the day for Lunch, but I was slightly disappointed by their spare ribs. The friendly waiter immediately had them changed, but they were still dry and had little meat on them.
I saw plenty of other folk ending their meals, who looked happy, so will give them another try sometime (but will avoid the ribs ;-)

Visited June 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    46
    14
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Busia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Karen Blixen lives up to their reputation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2015 NEW

Serene place and if you like to see a blend of colonial and modern times-that is the place to be. The menu is rich and the food mouth watering

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"I had a farm in Africa..."”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015 NEW

As soon as you arrive you get a "guide" to take you through the house and garden. Our guide's English was not great and we struggled to understand what he was saying. He did not take us to the coffee processing plant which was a short walk from the house. The house is interesting and worth a visit.

Visited August 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Perfect for events”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015 NEW

Well, I've been to Karen Blixen for many events and it's a lovely place with a peaceful atmosphere. It is perfect for events such as weddings, family get together and I was even once there for a Christmas concert.
Peaceful, tranquil.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wow.........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015

Brilliant food, lovely atmosphere. There was a fantastic artist painting on the lawn. His artwork was all around and up for sale for a reasonable price.

Visited July 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karen Blixen Coffee Garden and Cottages also viewed

 

Been to Karen Blixen Coffee Garden and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karen Blixen Coffee Garden and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.