We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting and Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karen Blixen coffee garden and Cottages

Karen Blixen coffee garden and Cottages
336 Karen Road, Nairobi, Kenya
254-20-88 21 38
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #6 of 43 attractions in Nairobi
Type: Historic Sites
Attraction Details
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting and Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were not prepared for the non-commercial atmosphere at this beautiful restaurant which was originally Karen Blixen's plantation office. There is a great bar, but we sat at a table in the lovely garden. After 3 weeks on safari we were craving a cheeseburger, and were not disappointed! Their menu also includes salads and fish. Credit cards are welcome

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    45
    14
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I loved everything about this place. very outdoorsy and nice. Great food! Great service! i just wished the cocktails had more alcohol in them. i could've sworn i was taking virgin cocktails

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hocking Hills
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Rustic in nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Had lunch at the Karen Blixen Coffee Garden when we visited Kenya last September. It's was a rustic in the upmarket countryside settings of Karen Area. It is lovely, stylish and well though out in design.

Food was great as was the service and ambiance. Would love to be back there for another lunch stop whenever possible in the future.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food and environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The food was very good except for the starter- chicken wings.They were quite dry and seemed to have been microwaved and served

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Fabulous late lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I've given it a 5 dot rating as it was the end of our first day in Africa, a lovely sunny day, and we sat out in the garden under an umbrella for a really lovely lunch, a stylish one actually.
Food selection was nice, well presented, tables well spread out, and you felt a bit special.
If you go to see the museum, you're mad if you don't lob down the road to soak this up as well.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karen Blixen coffee garden and Cottages also viewed

 

Been to Karen Blixen coffee garden and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karen Blixen coffee garden and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.