We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Lush Gardens” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karen Blixen coffee garden and Cottages

Karen Blixen coffee garden and Cottages
336 Karen Road, Nairobi, Kenya
254-20-88 21 38
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 43 attractions in Nairobi
Type: Historic Sites
Attraction Details
Woodstock, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lush Gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Karen Blixen coffee garden was simply charming! Our group of 8 women had a lovely lunch and stroll through the gardens with photo ops every step of the way. Good food, good drinks, good service.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    54
    18
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“ut of Africa into Africa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Very exciting to see how Karen Blixen lived, the style and feel of her residence. The coffee garden was lovely.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tranquility with good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The garden was an absolutely gorgeous setting to have a deliciously prepared lunch. The best part for me though is the fact that the waiter noticed I had a head cold, and recommended a ginger honey tea. It was perfection since not only did it taste great, but it also cleared my sniffles for the rest of the day. I don't normally give 5 stars, even for excellent reviews, but the attentiveness of the waiter kicked this restaurant up a notch.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Seren”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

a nice place to relax away from the city center.Quiet and very private.The food is good and satff are relaxed and welcoming.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Journey Back in Time Indeed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Amazing place even though i was bit a disappointed by the limited stuff i was able to see because renovations were just kicking-off and so much of the stuff was stored away for safe-keeping. I wish more efforts would be made to acquire most of the original pieces as most are currently replicas and can someone attend to the decaying wagons outside that are rotting away and with them a rich piece of history?

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karen Blixen coffee garden and Cottages also viewed

 

Been to Karen Blixen coffee garden and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karen Blixen coffee garden and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Karen Blixen coffee garden and Cottages to your Saves list