We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to start your tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Road | PO Box 43436, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
London
1 review
“Great place to start your tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2009

My boyfriend and I stay a total of 3 nights at this hotel and we were pleasantly surprised by the standard of the hotel. Let's face it in Africa you're never really sure whether you'll get a clean room, bed bugs and the like...At Hotel Boulevard everything is as it should be. Ok there is no elevator... get used to it... there isn't those 'western' luxuries in Africa. Having said that there is aTV in the room!

The staff is friendly, the rooms whilst old are clean, if there is something wrong in your room just go down to the reception. They will send someone to fix asap! The bar and restaurant are reasonably priced and food is good.. not great but not bad - it's not 5 star, but it'll give you everything you would want. The pool is clean and the hotel is close to the centre of town. Don't be afraid to go out during the day - we were and there was no reason to be... we meet lots of people on our tour that went out during the day and thought it was great! The rooms are quiet and roomy enought and the hotel is a very safe and secure place to stay. It has an internet cafe. The internet speed is pretty good.

I am sure there are cheaper places to stay... but I was really happy with what I paid and what I got.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    55
    75
    21
    22
See reviews for
20
61
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somewhere in Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

I have stayed in this hotel many times over the years, the first time being over ten years ago, and it has changed very little in that time. The Boulevard ticks all the boxes for me: Clean, friendly staff, good facilities and a convenient location.
The rooms are simple, but they are clean and you do get complimentary shampoo and shower gel in the bathroom.
I love the buffet breakfast. It is really substantial and will set you up for the day. They do put out some odd African specialities though!
The swimming pool is a real bonus, when filled, but being next to a busy road it is not as tranquil as I would like. The gardens at the rear of the hotel are more relaxed, though a haven for mosquitos.
I find the location very convenient for walking to downtown Nairobi. Within 10 mins I can be shopping in a supermarket or surfing the web in an internet cafe (much cheaper and faster than the hotel). Also, the newly renovated National Museum is right behind the hotel.
The main drawback is that they can get very busy and quite often taken over by overland truck clients.

  • Liked — Great Location
  • Disliked — Noisy Overlanders
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
131 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

This was my second hotel I stayed in during my stay in Nairobi. THe first one was Sliver Springs and it was much better! Bolevard is very old and I don't think any rennovations have been done in there since it has been built. There is no elevator so the bell boys have to carry suitcases to the upper floors. Rooms, were spartan and very old looking. There were stains on the walls and paint was coming off. The TV was put at tthe seeling but there was no remote control so if you were a short person you had to get on a chair to switch betweeen the channels etc. I do have to say that the rooms were clean and had good sheets. The bathorrom was old but in a bad shape with stains all over and rust. The pressure in the shower was very weak.

I saw in the previous reviews that people were complimenting the staf, well they must have gotten new wmplyees because the staff was very uninterested in helping gets and they appeared as they really didn't want to be there. Breakfast food wasn't very good. In addition the hotel was very, very noisy so it was difficult to sleep and relax. The bottom line is that there are definitely better hotels in Nairobi for a similar price.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Boulevard for two nights: one before our safari and one after. The hotel is in a central location in downtown Nairobi. For the price, the room was decent and secure. The room was clean and the room safe functional. The shower was okay - not a lot of hot water or water pressure but that is to be expected in Kenya. The restaurant served good food, but was fairly pricey. There was a pool and tennis courts - we did not use them, they looked nice. The desk staff are very slow and not very helpful. If you decide to change money at the hotel cashier, BE CAREFUL. They tried to short change us the equivalent of $50 USD in Kenyan shillings - make sure you count your money before you leave the wicket. Even better, change your money at a Bureau de Change for a much better exchange rate. Overall, not a bad place to stay.

  • Liked — Functional room safe
  • Disliked — Getting cheated at the cashier
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

My wife and I booked three nights at the Boulevard in Nairobi as a stop off before and after our safari. I must say I wish we had stayed a few more nights. We arrived at 5am on a dark morning in July and were welcomed by a friendly lady at the front desk and after check-in procedures we were in our room within 10 minutes. As some people have mentioned, it is best to get a room on the agrden side of the hotel as this is away from the noise of the very busy Uhuru Avenue nearby. After our safari we requested a garden view and were granted with no problems.

Inside the hotel our room was nicely furnished plus contained an electronic safe (no extra cost) and fridge. Everything was clean and tidy with hot water in the bathroom. You can eat in the hotel at night and the food was just gorgeous and inexpensive. A bottle of Tusker was around 90p at the time of writing. Breakfast was buffet style with a mixture of everything including bacon, sausages etc just in case you want an English style breakfast.

Outside there is a swimming pool, tennis courts, outside bar and nice gardens. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from downtown Nairobi which you reach via the quiet Harry Thuku Road frequented by locals going about their everyday business and various learner drivers which was amusing. At the end of this road there is a Barclays Bank and ATM machine which gives a much better rate than the hotel.

The Boulevard and its staff are all so friendly and helpful and we just loved the place. I would thoroughly recommend it. Next time we go to Nairobi we will book with the Boulevard again

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff, cleanliness of room, great food
  • Disliked — Traffic on the Uhuru Highway (road side of the hotel)
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

My three friends and I stayed at the Hotel Boulevard the night before a safari and then for 4 nights afterwards. It was a great Hotel to stay in a city that is deemed unsafe at the moment. The staff were fantastic as they 'looked after' their white mama's. They were very protective and couldn't do enough for us. They even stored the bulk of our luggage under lock and key while we were on safari. The bedrooms and bathrooms were clean and our valuables were safe at all times. The meals were great and well catered for. Even though the traffic was a bit noisy we accepted that we were in a busy city going 24/7. The gardens and pool are beautiful. We would highly recommend it to travellers, old and young!!

  • Liked — easy access and friendly accommodating staff
  • Disliked — noisy traffic
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

We stayed here just before starting an Overland Truck Tour, based in central Nairobi (which we were told could still be dangerous at times). However we felt safe as it was situated behind a perimeter wall with security guards at the gated entrance. The Hotel was pretty mundane, our room and bathroom were clean but the decor looked tired. The restaurant food was basic but ok. Staff were pretty indifferent most of the time. They have a swimming pool however you had to pay extra to use it which we thought was a bit cheeky. A room cost about $55 and is quite good value for money overall.

  • Liked — Covenient Location
  • Disliked — Extra cost to use the Swimming Pool
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel

Address: Harry Thuku Road | PO Box 43436, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi is the capital and largest city of Kenya. The city and its surrounding area also form the Nairobi Province. The name "Nairobi" comes from the Maasai phrase Enkare Nyirobi, which translates to "the place of cool waters." However, it is popularly known as the "Green City in theSun." Location: Sentrim Boulevard is located at the end of Nairobi’s Harry Thuku Road, an oasis of peace and quite with beautiful manicured gardens and lawns. There are 70 rooms in 2 stories. The main guest area consists of the reception, lounge area, Restaurant and bar. The Mezzanine floor has the conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.