We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hard to resolve booking problem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel to your Saves list
Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Road | PO Box 43436, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 119 Hotels in Nairobi
Wallan, Australia
1 review
“hard to resolve booking problem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we changed our booking date to a couple of days earlier we rang the hotel and they said it was alright at no extra charge. But when we arrived they said we had to go through getaroom so a call on my mobil phone to getaroom ( Kenya to U.S.A) said they would fix it and the girl put me on hold after 5 minutes the phone was dead. To cut a long story short I rang getaroom three times that day one with the girl from getaroom talking to the hotel girl and getaroom trying to fax through to the hotel . In the end nothing resolved because I new the phone bill was going to upset me and gave up, I had to pay for the room twice and got a $300 phone bill when I arrived back in Australia hope this makes senses I still get worked up about it these months later.

Room Tip: pot luck not near kids amenaties
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    63
    85
    24
    22
See reviews for
20
72
35
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We only stayed one night before starting our private safari. Staff friendly clean rather dull rooms shower lukewarm and not much pressure..
Breakfast a buffet and good selection.would not have liked to stay longer.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langston, Ok
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

I have stayed at Boulevard Hotel three times and would stay there again. The rooms are spacious, clean, and quiet. The staff is courteous, helpful, and efficient. The breakfast is excellent. The garden/lawn in the back is fabulous and the birdlife is fantastic.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the hotel are away from the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

We spent the first night of our recent birding trip here in December 2014. It was arranged for us by Lion Trails and we were very pleased with their choice. Our room eas large, clean and comfortable with everything we could have wished for. Our room overlooked the beautiful gardens where over 30 species of bird can be found (or so we were told). Breakfast was OK and the staff were friendly and polite. No time to use the pool!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Located on the outskirts of Nairobi CBD, it's surrounded by razor wire and it's a reasonable walk to the centre of the city.

The hotel itself is passable. Rooms were relatively large, clean and comfortable for African standards. It had nice big windows facing the garden.

The hotel has a clean pool (hard to get to) and breakfast was reasonable and plentiful.

Lobby was shabby and the staff were jovial but uninformed and unhelpful.

As a 3 star hotel, the hotel had no pretentions. It's probably 2 and 1/2 star and a reasonably priced option in Nairobi - particularly if you are starting an overland tour, as we were......

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankleshwar, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

Had visited in 2012 for a trade fair mostly in business

The hotel has a large garden in backward with lush green trees around and a stream flowing which make you feel like you are in a small forest . It also has a pool and a clay surface tennis court which you do not normally find in a 3 star hotel .

Location : Around an hour from the airport or an additional if you get stuck in Nairobi traffic which you certainly will. No public transport nearby except if you ride the shared matatu vans . Not safe to roam around on foot if you are a tourist which is true for most of Nairobi

Service : WiFi was expensive , Breakfast was above average , Room service was OK

Restaurant is good and you will like the food if you like a bit of sour taste as they do make it that way or may be what I ordered

The security at the gate is assuring enough and the taxi service from hotel though a bit expensive is recommended as it is safe





Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

We booked this hotel through Detour Africa. Perhaps the price was high for what was nothing more than a three and a half star hotel. However, after a long 42 Day Safari through 8 African Countries, this hotel was a haven. An initial difficulty with the first room was easily resolved and we were provided a room facing the garden, a must because rooms facing the road are quite noisy. The room was comfortable, with a safety box. There was no AC nor a fridge. The bed was comfortable and the room was provided with a fan.
The breakfast was good and so was the dinner we had the hotel restaurant. This is a safe hotel and well guarded by security officers which regrettably tells the story of Nairobi and Kenya in particular. That was a shame as we would have liked to have spent much more than one night in Kenya.

Room Tip: Choose a Room facing the Garden. Rooms facing the road are not an option
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel

Address: Harry Thuku Road | PO Box 43436, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 119 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi is the capital and largest city of Kenya. The city and its surrounding area also form the Nairobi Province. The name "Nairobi" comes from the Maasai phrase Enkare Nyirobi, which translates to "the place of cool waters." However, it is popularly known as the "Green City in theSun." Location: Sentrim Boulevard is located at the end of Nairobi’s Harry Thuku Road, an oasis of peace and quite with beautiful manicured gardens and lawns. There are 70 rooms in 2 stories. The main guest area consists of the reception, lounge area, Restaurant and bar. The Mezzanine floor has the conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.