We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated and overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Road | PO Box 43436, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 103 Hotels in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Dated and overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Boulevard attracts most of its guests from overland tours due to large parking facilities but frankly they overcharge and have awful food. Nairobi seems to lacking decent cheap accommodation but boulevard is still poor value. We found the room comfortable but tired and passé, and the restraint was a farce: we ordered dinner and after 20 mins the waiter returned to advise us most of the food was not available so after much negation we opted for what was left: pizza and a curry.

My gut is they have become lazy with the captive tour business.../

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    57
    77
    24
    22
See reviews for
20
65
34
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was the end point of a tour and the food really let's the place down. The exchange rate into dollars meant that I paid $16 dollars for a beer and curry that was neither warm or spicy (despite requesting hot). A real let down for my last meal in Africa after eating better on the side of the road for a month.
The room is spacious however my shower was a bit hit and miss for hot water.
The hotel is rather expensive, however as soon as check out time hits then all service is dropped. My flight was not until midnight yet we were not allowed in the pool as we were no longer guests, and couldn't even go to a friends room to shower/change.
The g adventures man is friendly and offers a good taxi to the airport though make sure to allow atleast 2 and a half hours for traffic!! The staff at the pool bar are very friendly, thank you!

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I enjoyed two nights here before leaving on a safari with G Adventures, and one night at the end of the Kenyan leg of the safari. I found the staff to be friendly and professional, and service was good. Decor and furnishings were a bit dated, but rooms were clean and the decor on the landings did have a certain unpretentious charm. Beds were comfortable and the rooms had safes for valuables. When I stayed on the third floor the water pressure in the shower was weak compared to what I am used to, but the water got nice and hot. The third floor was noisy - there was a rhythmic, mechanical noise whose source I couldn't identify that was always present. Luckily because the noise was constant and repetitive, I was eventually able to tune it out. Bring earplugs! When I stayed on the second floor the water pressure in that room was better, and again I had nice hot water. The second floor was much quieter than the third. The offerings at the breakfast buffet and the quality of the food was typical as compared to budget hotels I've stayed at in the US, and I appreciated being able to eat some hearty, hot food before a long day on the road. For dinner one evening I had stewed chicken and ugali, which I enjoyed. It seemed to be well prepared, but I am by no means an expert on East African cuisine. The servers in the restaurant were very gracious. I didn't have time to visit the Nairobi National Museum, but it is very close by and many visitors walk there. I loved watching the ibises flying over the hotel garden in the early morning, and having a beer in the garden in the evening was quite relaxing. Overall, my stay was very pleasant and I felt safe and well cared for.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was the starting location for our Kenya Safari. Unless you have a specific reason for staying there - don't!! The front desk was a total nightmare. Couldn't speak English well & couldn't locate our booking. Eventually it was located but it was an effort. To say th rewtaurant food was ok would be very kind. This is a one night stay pub with no redeeming features,

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed one night mid-safari and was pleasantly surprised at the standard of this hotel which was labelled "Local". It is centrally located convenient for shopping and is used as a launching place for many safari companies.
The day we stayed, there were three wedding parties so it is popular with locals.
The room was clean and comfortable, the staff helpful but very busy. Buffet breakfast was the standard fare with reasonable choices. Dinner was a la carte and very Westernised.
There is a really nice little bar in the gardens (use your mozzie spray!!) reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed in this hotel for one night before to catch a flight.
It is a very noisy place !! The room are old, the bed is not comfortable at all and the bathroom is opened on the aisle, so that everybody can hear what you do over your shower...
The swimming pool is clean but very very noisy as it is located at more or less 50 meters from the highway ! Also,the food is not clearly good.
Finally, we had to discuss a lot with the guy at the reception desk because he did not understand that we booked for half-board...
In a summary, I advise you to avoid this place and to stay in an other hotel maybe if it is a little bit more expensive.

Room Tip: None room is good....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

First things first when reading these reviews...remember, this is Africa! The comforts you are used to in your home country or other travels don't count here! After reading the reviews I wasn't expecting much, but after arriving after a very long journey, it was a delight to be welcome by such friendly and accommodating staff. You can't help but smile and laugh with them.

Had two stays so had two different rooms.
1. ground floor room overlooking the gardens -lovely outlook. Windows opened provided plenty of breeze. Rooms are clean and basic but comfortable (in-room safe available). Hot water plentiful. Good wifi.

2. 3rd floor looking over the road. If you are a light sleeper, I'd suggest ear plugs 'just in case'. Hot water plentiful and good wifi in room.

I heard people complain about no/lack of hot water, but neither myself or the 6 others in my group had any issues.

Breakfast Buffett plentiful as is evening restaurant menu choices. A little pricey, but evens out for the safety of the hotel. Definitely recommended not to venture out after dark.

Make sure you include a trip to elephant orphanage, I was originally quoted 7000 shillings for both elephant orphanage and giraffe centre, this reduced to 4000shillings when I only wanted to do the orphanage (driver later offered 5000 shillings for both). The hotel has drivers readily available to take you but make sure you are early, the session is from 11am for one hour only and it's approximately an hours drive.

Airport taxi 2100 shillings. If you are going to additional East African countries make sure you get the right visa upon entry to save you money later!

Most importantly, relax and settle into African time! You'll love it.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel

Address: Harry Thuku Road | PO Box 43436, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 103 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi is the capital and largest city of Kenya. The city and its surrounding area also form the Nairobi Province. The name "Nairobi" comes from the Maasai phrase Enkare Nyirobi, which translates to "the place of cool waters." However, it is popularly known as the "Green City in theSun." Location: Sentrim Boulevard is located at the end of Nairobi’s Harry Thuku Road, an oasis of peace and quite with beautiful manicured gardens and lawns. There are 70 rooms in 2 stories. The main guest area consists of the reception, lounge area, Restaurant and bar. The Mezzanine floor has the conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;