We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a stopover...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel to your Saves list
Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Road | PO Box 43436, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Blackwood, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“OK for a stopover...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Our group stayed here for two nights. It was OK. The grounds were nice. We felt safe within the gates of the place-would NOT venture out. Breakfast was nice, a variety of choices and plentiful. Dinner-not so great. Don't choose the lamb chops! The room was facing the pool. For November the fan was enough with an open window. The "safe" in the room...you could pick it up and carry it off! The room and the entire hotel were clean. I understand there are surcharges if you use credit cards. Didn't miss not having an elevator, liked the staircase. There was a conference room for our group's morning meeting, which was convenient and private. It was a good place to stay for a couple of nights before heading out on safari, without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    60
    82
    24
    22
See reviews for
20
69
35
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
delhi
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

The good points:
Nice modern rooms, clean and good modern washrooms too
Free wifi in rooms
reasonably good location
the not so good points:
No elevator, though there are only 2 floors
the rooms are a bit small
the airport taxi service is a bit expensive
overall good experience for me

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night before starting on safari.
The journey from the airport took well over an hour due to heavy traffic. Be aware of beggars who try and reach into your taxi if stuck in a que, not a nice experience.
Our room was facing the gardens and was basic but clean and the wall fan worked fine in order to keep us cool.
We didn't venture out of the hotel as didn't feel that it was safe to do so.
Can't comment on the food as didn't eat at the restaurant, only had breakfast which again was basic but ok.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

120 usd per night for this horrible pathetic hotel where u feel why am I here on a lay over and why I did not go straight on a safari leaving the hotel .
Hair dryer even exploded when I tried to use it ! Rooms are just filthy , you just don't feel u want to stay there overnight !

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here twice. My first room was at the front of the hotel on the road. Iy wasn't amazing. The second time my ro faced the beautiful gardens and I really enjoyed it. Decent hotel. Good food. Good size room. Good for the price.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The hotel is 18km from Jomo Kenyatta airport, and the travel by taxi is dependent on the peak hour traffic. May take up to an hour. There is no air conditioning in the rooms, and the restaurant - while having a very varied menu, serves poor quality food.
The only advantage was free wifi to guests. There is a 5 minute walk to the nearest ATM, and transactions at the hotel are done in Kenyan shillings and US $. However, only Kenyan shillings are provided for change. A 5% surcharge is levied on credit card transactions.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the garden and not the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Had three separate stays at Sentrim Boulevard within a couple of weeks, so this is a combined review.

Positives:
- They let us check in very early, so we almost got an extra day.
- The hotel is clean, beds reasonably comfortable.
- Very nice garden and swimming pool (although I think you have to pay extra for that).
- Excellent breakfast
- Close to downtown, within walking distance to some shopping, restaurants, etc. (daytime only!)

Negatives:
- Very sketchy neighbourhood.. although probably the entire Nairobi is like that. You feel like you are in a prison, with barbed wire fences, special tickets needed to leave, etc.
- No air conditioning. In September you could probably live with that, but I don't know about the warmer months.
- Dinner restaurant food is really bad and greasy. Recommend you go out to eat somewhere else.
- The second and third time we stayed there, the WiFi was broken and they never managed to fix it. However, they did let us use their computer downstairs.
- Hot water may not always reach the third floor
- The biggest complaint we had was with the security. When they let us use the computer at the reception, we accidentally took a look at the thrash bin. And what do we find there, but copies of our passports, thrown away?! No shredding, just crumpled and tossed out. It's very troubling that a hotel would do that.

Room Tip: Don't face the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel

Address: Harry Thuku Road | PO Box 43436, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi is the capital and largest city of Kenya. The city and its surrounding area also form the Nairobi Province. The name "Nairobi" comes from the Maasai phrase Enkare Nyirobi, which translates to "the place of cool waters." However, it is popularly known as the "Green City in theSun." Location: Sentrim Boulevard is located at the end of Nairobi’s Harry Thuku Road, an oasis of peace and quite with beautiful manicured gardens and lawns. There are 70 rooms in 2 stories. The main guest area consists of the reception, lounge area, Restaurant and bar. The Mezzanine floor has the conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.