We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 muzungu women” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel to your Saves list
Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Road | PO Box 43436, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 105 Hotels in Nairobi
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“4 muzungu women”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

My three friends and I stayed at the Hotel Boulevard the night before a safari and then for 4 nights afterwards. It was a great Hotel to stay in a city that is deemed unsafe at the moment. The staff were fantastic as they 'looked after' their white mama's. They were very protective and couldn't do enough for us. They even stored the bulk of our luggage under lock and key while we were on safari. The bedrooms and bathrooms were clean and our valuables were safe at all times. The meals were great and well catered for. Even though the traffic was a bit noisy we accepted that we were in a busy city going 24/7. The gardens and pool are beautiful. We would highly recommend it to travellers, old and young!!

  • Liked — easy access and friendly accommodating staff
  • Disliked — noisy traffic
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    57
    77
    24
    22
See reviews for
20
65
34
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

We stayed here just before starting an Overland Truck Tour, based in central Nairobi (which we were told could still be dangerous at times). However we felt safe as it was situated behind a perimeter wall with security guards at the gated entrance. The Hotel was pretty mundane, our room and bathroom were clean but the decor looked tired. The restaurant food was basic but ok. Staff were pretty indifferent most of the time. They have a swimming pool however you had to pay extra to use it which we thought was a bit cheeky. A room cost about $55 and is quite good value for money overall.

  • Liked — Covenient Location
  • Disliked — Extra cost to use the Swimming Pool
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2007

This facility should not be called a HOTEL as it does not even come close. the building is quite old but the Staff was great!. I arrived Sept 27 2007 for a 1 night stay. They sent a taxi cab to pick me up at the airport which was good ..(The cab fair is separate from the room price) The rooms have no air con but have a desk fan attached to the wall ..The fan does a good job of keeping the room clean but its rather noisy. There was a safe and small fridge in the room, a small tv attached on the wall almost close to the ceiling which didnt work so unless one is 5 ft 9inches or taller , you would have to get on a chair and change the channel. The Bathroom was the pits. It had a tub with hot water, a sink that and a commode(toilet) The floor was not clean or has probably seen better days .. The road nearby was very busy all night and I didnt sleep a wink.ON my return trip I changed hotels and got a better one for 4,500 Kshillings (Meridian Court) which was less expensive compared to this dump(HB was 5.400KShillings. I will not recommend this to anyone

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Florida USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2007

My wife and myself checked into the Hotel Bouvelard on 8/24/2007 and checked out on 9/1/2007. The room was small, but clean. No air conditioners in any of the rooms, but the temperature was acceptable at all times. The hotel was well guarded and patrolled at all times. All the employees were very friendly and courteous at all times. Luggage was transported to and from the room with no problems. The breakfast that was included with the room rate was excellent, full menu plus any special orders. Bread baked at the hotel was some of the best ever. Lunch and Night meals were excellent as well. Our arriving impression on first going to the room was not good, but the hotel grew on us as the week went on. The grounds were nicely kept and we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. Overall, a highly enjoyable stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2007

I was looking for a budget hotel for a night's stay in Nairobi and found this to be reasonable. The rooms are clean and the bathrooms big with hot and cold water. The only problem is that the rooms facing the main road are a bit noisy . Would recommend this place for a nights stop over...

  • Liked — Just right for a night's stay
  • Disliked — small rooms and the price paid for them
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHague
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
145 hotel reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
286 helpful votes 286 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2007

Situated on the edge of downtown Nairobi, not far from the much grander Norkfolk Hote, the Boulevard is a slightly run-down and faded place but reasonably clean and tidy. The tacky African tribal/safari decor in the corridors adds to its charm. There's a helpful tour desk, internet access, handy shop for everyday groceries and a surprisingly good (by Kenyan standards) restaurant. Breakfast is also not bad at all with superb English sausages, great fruit salad and delicious Kenyan coffee, my only complaint being that the food is generally cold to lukewarm. Perhaps it would be an idea for the chef to put the lids on the hot food trays on those cold Nairobi mornings ?

Bedrooms are cramped with awful looking 70's furniture, the bathroom toiletries never seemed to be replaced and like all hotels in Africa there aren't any coat hangers. The TV didn't work but at least the fridge did.

The hotel is located in beautiful gardens next to a river, which you can hear but not see due to a high hedge. These gardens are lovely for morning and evening strolls, they are also completely safe due to good security and fencing. The pool is pretty good too, although being unheated its a bit chilly early in the morning.

Staff were friendly if a little incompetent. Our room key card, like everyone elses, was invalidated during breakfast EVERY morning. The hotel told us our stay was for 2 nights when in fact we had been booked in for 3 nights. Ordering food or drinks was a little challenge as often the order bore little resemblance to what was asked. Example: ordering a sparkling mineral water with a slice of lemon resulted in getting a bottle of Sprite ! As has been said above, nobody ever replaced the toiletries, all I had was a sad half-empty bottle of hotel conditioner sitting on my bathroom shelf for 3 days.

So far so good, but why only 3/5 ? The NOISE ! We had the misfortune to be on the side of the hotel next to the main road and boy was it noisy. The rooms aren't the slightest bit soundproofed and the constant noise from one of Nairobi's busiest roads goes on 24/7. Even at 3am on a Monday morning the traffic was roaring past, I used to live next to a main road and am used to coping with traffic noise but this was something else, it felt like I was sleeping in the central reservation ! In 3 nights I never got more than a snatch of sleep.

Other people commented on prostitution at the hotel - absolutel rubbish, the only people here are Western tourists and the occasional local and very respectable Kenyan coming for a meal or drink. No disco either, just a bar in the grounds with a bit of music, it was normally way too quiet to keep it open later than 10pm.

All in all a safe and relaxing place to start an African safari, just a shame they can't make the road-facing rooms quieter.

  • Liked — Pool, breakfast, gardens
  • Disliked — Traffic noise
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel

Address: Harry Thuku Road | PO Box 43436, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 105 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi is the capital and largest city of Kenya. The city and its surrounding area also form the Nairobi Province. The name "Nairobi" comes from the Maasai phrase Enkare Nyirobi, which translates to "the place of cool waters." However, it is popularly known as the "Green City in theSun." Location: Sentrim Boulevard is located at the end of Nairobi’s Harry Thuku Road, an oasis of peace and quite with beautiful manicured gardens and lawns. There are 70 rooms in 2 stories. The main guest area consists of the reception, lounge area, Restaurant and bar. The Mezzanine floor has the conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.