We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay while in transit” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Road | PO Box 43436, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Somerset West, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stay while in transit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The hotel is 18km from Jomo Kenyatta airport, and the travel by taxi is dependent on the peak hour traffic. May take up to an hour. There is no air conditioning in the rooms, and the restaurant - while having a very varied menu, serves poor quality food.
The only advantage was free wifi to guests. There is a 5 minute walk to the nearest ATM, and transactions at the hotel are done in Kenyan shillings and US $. However, only Kenyan shillings are provided for change. A 5% surcharge is levied on credit card transactions.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the garden and not the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    62
    77
    21
    22
See reviews for
20
60
30
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Had three separate stays at Sentrim Boulevard within a couple of weeks, so this is a combined review.

Positives:
- They let us check in very early, so we almost got an extra day.
- The hotel is clean, beds reasonably comfortable.
- Very nice garden and swimming pool (although I think you have to pay extra for that).
- Excellent breakfast
- Close to downtown, within walking distance to some shopping, restaurants, etc. (daytime only!)

Negatives:
- Very sketchy neighbourhood.. although probably the entire Nairobi is like that. You feel like you are in a prison, with barbed wire fences, special tickets needed to leave, etc.
- No air conditioning. In September you could probably live with that, but I don't know about the warmer months.
- Dinner restaurant food is really bad and greasy. Recommend you go out to eat somewhere else.
- The second and third time we stayed there, the WiFi was broken and they never managed to fix it. However, they did let us use their computer downstairs.
- Hot water may not always reach the third floor
- The biggest complaint we had was with the security. When they let us use the computer at the reception, we accidentally took a look at the thrash bin. And what do we find there, but copies of our passports, thrown away?! No shredding, just crumpled and tossed out. It's very troubling that a hotel would do that.

Room Tip: Don't face the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel was our introduction to Kenya. It is very dated throughout and very budget, but was clean and tidy. It had free wifi, but in Kenya, this drops in and out, with the power! We stayed two nights and couldn't sleep much as our room was facing a freeway and the beds were solid heavy density foam. There was no air conditioning, just wall fans. Overall accommodation was ok for the budget minded, but look around for other options. On a positive note, we did find we felt safe, with the good security, and the bar in the garden had good atmosphere to have a beer whilst watching the football. Buffet breakfast was surprising ok as well.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room overlooking the river, rather than the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madurai, India
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I frequent to Nairobi for business. On one such occasion, I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. The hotel has an excellent garden where you can do a morning and evening stroll. A swimming pool facing the busy road of the city. Then a restaurant with multiple sitting points (covered, one facing the entrance, one facing the lawn and so on). The flooring and rooms are well maintained and staff are supportive. The beds and washroom are clean. You don't have to move out for taxi which is available inside. It is a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Stay on the garden side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My sister and I stayed at this hotel for a few nights in between our volunteer and safari tours. We had a decent stay at this hotel. The hotel’s décor isn’t as modern both inside and outside, however our room was clean and spacious including the bathroom. We were very happy that WIFI was complimentary, but it was a little spotty from time to time that we would have to stand by the room’s door to get connection. The breakfast buffet served had a good selection of food and was very delicious. The hotel’s staff was friendly. The hotel location is decent, just a short walk (~10mins) to the city centre. The drive from the airport to the hotel is a little bit of a distance, but shouldn’t cost more than $25 USD for a ride. Despite this hotel being a little on the expensive side, we had no problems starting and ending our trip here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Clean, basic rooms which were a welcome relief at the end of a 56 day camping overland tour. Just don’t plan on getting the hotel to do your washing here – they tried to charge a friend a whopping US$180 to get hers done! The included buffet breakfast was ok and dinner at the restaurant was surprisingly pretty good even though a little on the expensive side.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed at this hotel 8 years ago and then again in August at the beginning and end of our safari trip. Last time I stayed on the ground floor and it was terrible. This time I was on the second floor both times with a garden view. The difference was amazing.

Nice clean room, bright and airy - no fly screens but they do provide plug in mosquito repeller which worked fine. The mattress was firm but not uncomfortable. The shower hot and pressure good. Ok breakfast, Ok dinner - but you don't come here for the food.

It is a convenient gated hotel/property in a great location. I had no problems starting and ending my trip here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel

Address: Harry Thuku Road | PO Box 43436, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi is the capital and largest city of Kenya. The city and its surrounding area also form the Nairobi Province. The name "Nairobi" comes from the Maasai phrase Enkare Nyirobi, which translates to "the place of cool waters." However, it is popularly known as the "Green City in theSun." Location: Sentrim Boulevard is located at the end of Nairobi’s Harry Thuku Road, an oasis of peace and quite with beautiful manicured gardens and lawns. There are 70 rooms in 2 stories. The main guest area consists of the reception, lounge area, Restaurant and bar. The Mezzanine floor has the conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Jovago.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.