We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel in Nairobi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Road | PO Box 43436, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Basic hotel in Nairobi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

A basic but clean hotel in central Nairobi. The rooms are very noisy as they have open ventilation slits into the tiled corridor, which means our sleep was very disturbed by guests and staff walking through the corridor and talking noisily. It was okay for the one night before our safari started, but this is definitely not the best hotel you could choose in Nairobi and I would not stay longer than one night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    62
    78
    21
    22
See reviews for
20
61
30
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We reserved 6 rooms for 12 people. It was a ok stay.

* Breakfast is free with variety of selections.
* The rooms were basic. The sheets are pretty old but clean.
* The internet is not free and pricy.
* Location is safe.
* Water in the bathroom worked pretty good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Room was clean,provided with towels,soap etc.but there is no sound insulation & we had a very disturbed sleep as guests kept walking through the corridor till late nite.The bar was ok.food at the restaurant didnot taste good.breakfast was very basic.bread & cheese served were below average.service (if compared to what we received in other places within kenya) can be improved.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bujumbura, Burundi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I think most of the comments are exaggerate. The hotel is just correct for the price. The view from the room on the hihgway is not great but my room clean everyday with clean towel. Breakfast was average with no variety but once could have as much as i wanted.The staff are polite. The taxi drivers were correct especially Evan.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We found this hotel to be clean, quiet, and have helpful staff. The internet connection was slow but it worked. We could not make local calls from our room but we could receive calls in our room.

For our first visit we stayed in room 314 which has a nice tree outside that beautiful birds love. On our last visit we stayed on the first floor which, though more convenient, did not have the lovely views and could not open the window.

We were short on time twice and the restaurant prepared and served dinner quickly. On our second visit we found we were taking home more than could fit in our bags. A staff member wrapped our souvenirs in a nice box that we were able to check in with the airline. What a help that was!

Room Tip: Stay on top floor for the view of the trees and the beautiful birds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Honestly when I read some of the comments I really thought you guys should stay home in your Western civilization with ur high standards.. I don't have anything to complain about. I sleep on the side with view of the pool and the road but I don't have excess noize. Nor do I have mosquitos, apart from the lonely one in the bathroom. I ate in the restaurant and I thought the food, prices and service were great! Staff in the hotel is very smiley, friendly and helpful. The safe in the room can store a small backpack. There's a flatscreen tv with enough channele to find something interesting. I could go on and on. Nothing wrong with this hotel if you're looking for a nice stay according to normal-people standards. Otherwise you can always check inti the Intercontinental...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in August 2012 before embarking on Safari. The staff were so friendly and helpful as it was our first time in Africa. The rooms were really comfortable and big and the breakfast was delicious. I would recommend!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel

Address: Harry Thuku Road | PO Box 43436, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi is the capital and largest city of Kenya. The city and its surrounding area also form the Nairobi Province. The name "Nairobi" comes from the Maasai phrase Enkare Nyirobi, which translates to "the place of cool waters." However, it is popularly known as the "Green City in theSun." Location: Sentrim Boulevard is located at the end of Nairobi’s Harry Thuku Road, an oasis of peace and quite with beautiful manicured gardens and lawns. There are 70 rooms in 2 stories. The main guest area consists of the reception, lounge area, Restaurant and bar. The Mezzanine floor has the conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.