We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean basic hotel with helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel to your Saves list
Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Road | PO Box 43436, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 120 Hotels in Nairobi
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Clean basic hotel with helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We found this hotel to be clean, quiet, and have helpful staff. The internet connection was slow but it worked. We could not make local calls from our room but we could receive calls in our room.

For our first visit we stayed in room 314 which has a nice tree outside that beautiful birds love. On our last visit we stayed on the first floor which, though more convenient, did not have the lovely views and could not open the window.

We were short on time twice and the restaurant prepared and served dinner quickly. On our second visit we found we were taking home more than could fit in our bags. A staff member wrapped our souvenirs in a nice box that we were able to check in with the airline. What a help that was!

Room Tip: Stay on top floor for the view of the trees and the beautiful birds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    63
    86
    24
    22
See reviews for
20
72
35
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Honestly when I read some of the comments I really thought you guys should stay home in your Western civilization with ur high standards.. I don't have anything to complain about. I sleep on the side with view of the pool and the road but I don't have excess noize. Nor do I have mosquitos, apart from the lonely one in the bathroom. I ate in the restaurant and I thought the food, prices and service were great! Staff in the hotel is very smiley, friendly and helpful. The safe in the room can store a small backpack. There's a flatscreen tv with enough channele to find something interesting. I could go on and on. Nothing wrong with this hotel if you're looking for a nice stay according to normal-people standards. Otherwise you can always check inti the Intercontinental...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in August 2012 before embarking on Safari. The staff were so friendly and helpful as it was our first time in Africa. The rooms were really comfortable and big and the breakfast was delicious. I would recommend!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed here two separate nights during the same week in late July. Other reviews are right about the noise if you have a room facing the highway - it's loud. We stayed in one of those the first night, and then when we checked out, we asked them if they could put us in a garden facing room for the night that we returned. We were happy to see, as we registered on our return, that they had prearranged this as promised. We found the staff to be friendly and accommodating, and the rooms were comfortable. UNlike other reviews, we found the shower was excellent, and we also loved the buffet breakfast - there were lots of options for a vegetarian, and everything was hot and fresh. We rarely eat at hotel restaurants, but we were kind of "forced" to eat here after arriving to the hotel 3 hours later than planned. We were pleasantly surprised - the food was quite decent and not too expensive. Overall, I would probably return to this hotel if I returned to Nairobi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balclutha
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Pleasant hotel in lovely garden surroundings. Good sized rooms with well appointed bathrooms with good showers and plenty of hot water. The restaurant had good food with plenty of variety. Safes were supplied in each room for personal belongings and wifi was available in your room for a small charge. A pleasant pool area with good seating and poolside meals and drinks were available. Taxi's readily available for travel to shopping areas, would be unsafe to walk especially at night.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I was booked in this hotel in 18th June to 24th June by a volunteer coordinator of Friends of friends of African child Kenya(volunteering and community development).when I came with my three sisters for a short term volunteer work .The rooms are medium sized but clean and comfortable with hot showers,they also serve good foods in their restaurant.In the hotel we met Daniel of Expol tours, who operates a tour safari, he charged us fairly but offered excellent services ,he didn't exploit us like others have done before.You need fairness and excellence visit this hotel and also make sure you meet Daniel for his good services

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river are specious and good view of the nature its self( river)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The hotel is within a very lush and green compound but the structure itself looks unkept and in desperate need of a facelift. For those wondering whether this is an improvement over its sister, the 680, here are my takes:

Cost; it is more expensive, and yes, you must pay a $13 deposit to get the TV remote. Internet is very steeply priced and unreliable.

Location; good and bad - removed from the city center in a lush and mostly well maintained compound good for relaxing in the day; large swimming pool. But a bit of walking (20 min +) is necessary to restaurants, business center etc.

Noise: One side of the hotel (facing the garden) is mostly quiet. The opposite side is a different story; facing a very busy highway, it is noisy through and through. There is no AC so opening windows is obligatory, ear plugs would help.

Rooms; same size as 680, but more dated - seems like no renovation has taken place since hotel construction.
Water pressure was low, hot water was unavailable about half the time.
Room safe; very big - can accommodate a 17" laptop, so all your valuables are safe.

Restaurant; buffet breakfast among the worst in Nairobi, limited selection and of very poor quality. Restaurant meals were average to good.

Bottomline: I would look elsewhere for the money. The 680 is a better value overall, and that is not a compliment.

Room Tip: Please please request garden side rooms if you wish for a good night sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel

Address: Harry Thuku Road | PO Box 43436, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 120 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi is the capital and largest city of Kenya. The city and its surrounding area also form the Nairobi Province. The name "Nairobi" comes from the Maasai phrase Enkare Nyirobi, which translates to "the place of cool waters." However, it is popularly known as the "Green City in theSun." Location: Sentrim Boulevard is located at the end of Nairobi’s Harry Thuku Road, an oasis of peace and quite with beautiful manicured gardens and lawns. There are 70 rooms in 2 stories. The main guest area consists of the reception, lounge area, Restaurant and bar. The Mezzanine floor has the conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.