We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of City Center, with Good Security” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Road | PO Box 43436, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 103 Hotels in Nairobi
West Baldwin, ME
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Out of City Center, with Good Security”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

The Sentrim Boulevard can provide a quiet, relaxing experience or a night punctuated by road noise, depending on whether your room is located off the right or garden side of the corridor and overlooking a lawn bordered by the Nairobi River or off the left or pool side that faces Uhuru Highway. Rooms are a bit larger following the renovation that replaced balconies with interior space and are still of modest size, but quite comfortable with good beds, TV, and ample storage space. The small, ensuite baths are equipped with adequate shower and towels. The restaurant serves good, reasonably priced meals. Grounds include a tennis court as well as a good pool and ample parking. Security is very good as the hotel, restaurant, and grounds are a gated complex with a guarded entrance. The location is near the university, National Museum, International Casino, and even within walking distance (via Harry Thuku Road & Muindi Mbingu Street) of the City Market. Though not luxurious, the Boulevard offers many amenities not available at comparably priced hotels. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Insist on a room facing the river, not the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    57
    77
    24
    22
See reviews for
20
65
34
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I stayed here at the start & end of my trip around Kenya. The hotel organised my transfers from and to the airport at a reasonable price with pleasant drivers in reasonable cars.

The hotel itself has good facilitiies, a nice clean pool with good sunbeds, great restaurant with a good variety and quality of food, at a reasonable price. Inclusive breakfast was also great - good choice and regularly replenished

The rooms look like they have recently been re-done - good bathrooms and they were re-painting the corridors whilst I was there. Don't expect loads from them, they are clean, functional and comfortable The only draw-back was the lack of air conditioning in the rooms - they were very warm!

For a mid-priced hotel, would definitely recommend and if you are travelling on your own - I felt safe here (which is a good thing especially in Nairobi)

Its well situated, near the Norfolk Hotel and univeristy & a short walk from Kenyatta Avenue

Room Tip: Ask for rooms closer to reception end and at the rear of the hotel (facing over the gardens not the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed there before and after our "Safari" and would do so again. The Hotel is located within an easy and "safe" walk into the city where you can get all you need before heading off on your adventure. Great pool area, good bar and restaurant, and very good spacious rooms which I think have mostly been refurbished recently.
Front Office staff very helpfull

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the back garden area rather than the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for one week in late September with my Son and 9 yr old Grandson Charlie and had a really good time. This is a very nice hotel with lovely friendly staff. We had a triple room with a great walk in shower. Enjoyed a good breakfast each morning with a choice of specially prepared egg dishes with fruit, cereal and pastries.
Had dinner at the hotel on several occasions and thought it good food and very good value with no added charges like the more expensive hotels. Drank Tusker lager at about £1.60 for a large bottle in the outside bar with large televisions showing a South African sports channel. My Son said this was his favourite bar in the world.
The Boulevard was in the city centre next to the Norfolk Hotel and Nairobi University. We always felt felt very safe when walking around and when the locals saw Charlie with his Manchester United shirts on they all gave him the thumbs up.
There were three internet stations in the hotel charging about £1.50 for half an hour. Charlie’s treat each night was to have his time on them. The girls in charge took a like to him and he always seemed to get more time.
The swimming pool was large and very clean if not a little cold but lots of people used it.
Visited Nairobi National Park, The National Museum and Snake Park, Lake Naivasha and the Great Rift Valley and 14 Falls where a lot of movies are made including Tarzan films. We all enjoyed our holiday very much thanks mainly to having a lovely hotel to return to each day.
This is an honest evaluation and we did not find it tired or run down but a great place to stay for a city visit.
Special mention for Jackson, who was the lobby attendant and dealt with the suitcases. Charlie built up a special friendly relationship with him.

Room Tip: We were on the swimming pool side and our room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for two nights before commencing an overland tour of Africa. Staff were friendly and welcoming and provided good service. The room was of a good size and it was spotlessly clean. The beds were really comfortable, which was a blessing after our 26-hour trip to get to Nairobi. The bathroom was quite large compared to most hotels, and it was nice to have a windown (a small window strip along the top of the wall which faced out into the corridor - it was high enough that no one could see through it at all!). We were on the first floor overlooking the pool, and a porter happily carried our luggage upstairs for us.

The breakfast was of a good standard, with a good choice of food available. We ate lunch and dinner at the restaurant as well, the service was a little slow but the food was good. We arranged transport out to the giraffe sanctuary and Nairobi National Park with reception, and we had a fantastic driver/guide for the day.

The hotel itself is located quite close to the city centre. To get there, you need to walk down a street which is home to the University and some other hotels - so there are plenty of people around! You do need to cross quite a busy road to get across to the CBD - we asked some locals to guide us across the road (much to their amusement) but they did so happily.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Austell Cornwall
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Stayed here before catching flight back to UK. A good hotel - clean and good sized rooms. Great showers!! Felt safe as there was security to get into the complex. A few little shops/stands were at the entrance to the complex - ideal for getting last minute souvenirs.
Had a very nice evening meal here and prices very fair. Good atmosphere and ideal base to get to the airport the next day. Good hotel!!

Room Tip: overlook the garden where possible - a lot quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Stayed here 2 nights before and after safari. It was one of three choices offered by our safari company. Small, garden like atmosphere. Clean, comfy, staff very helpful. Currently doing some upgrades and renovations. No air conditioning, but didn't need it (September). Close to downtown, but security was plentiful-felt totally safe. We enjoyed it!

Room Tip: We were on 3rd floor and no elevators. Staff were very eager to carry our luggage. Not sure if there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel

Address: Harry Thuku Road | PO Box 43436, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 103 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi is the capital and largest city of Kenya. The city and its surrounding area also form the Nairobi Province. The name "Nairobi" comes from the Maasai phrase Enkare Nyirobi, which translates to "the place of cool waters." However, it is popularly known as the "Green City in theSun." Location: Sentrim Boulevard is located at the end of Nairobi’s Harry Thuku Road, an oasis of peace and quite with beautiful manicured gardens and lawns. There are 70 rooms in 2 stories. The main guest area consists of the reception, lounge area, Restaurant and bar. The Mezzanine floor has the conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.