We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel-Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Road | PO Box 43436, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel-Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for one week in late September with my Son and 9 yr old Grandson Charlie and had a really good time. This is a very nice hotel with lovely friendly staff. We had a triple room with a great walk in shower. Enjoyed a good breakfast each morning with a choice of specially prepared egg dishes with fruit, cereal and pastries.
Had dinner at the hotel on several occasions and thought it good food and very good value with no added charges like the more expensive hotels. Drank Tusker lager at about £1.60 for a large bottle in the outside bar with large televisions showing a South African sports channel. My Son said this was his favourite bar in the world.
The Boulevard was in the city centre next to the Norfolk Hotel and Nairobi University. We always felt felt very safe when walking around and when the locals saw Charlie with his Manchester United shirts on they all gave him the thumbs up.
There were three internet stations in the hotel charging about £1.50 for half an hour. Charlie’s treat each night was to have his time on them. The girls in charge took a like to him and he always seemed to get more time.
The swimming pool was large and very clean if not a little cold but lots of people used it.
Visited Nairobi National Park, The National Museum and Snake Park, Lake Naivasha and the Great Rift Valley and 14 Falls where a lot of movies are made including Tarzan films. We all enjoyed our holiday very much thanks mainly to having a lovely hotel to return to each day.
This is an honest evaluation and we did not find it tired or run down but a great place to stay for a city visit.
Special mention for Jackson, who was the lobby attendant and dealt with the suitcases. Charlie built up a special friendly relationship with him.

Room Tip: We were on the swimming pool side and our room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    56
    75
    22
    22
See reviews for
20
63
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for two nights before commencing an overland tour of Africa. Staff were friendly and welcoming and provided good service. The room was of a good size and it was spotlessly clean. The beds were really comfortable, which was a blessing after our 26-hour trip to get to Nairobi. The bathroom was quite large compared to most hotels, and it was nice to have a windown (a small window strip along the top of the wall which faced out into the corridor - it was high enough that no one could see through it at all!). We were on the first floor overlooking the pool, and a porter happily carried our luggage upstairs for us.

The breakfast was of a good standard, with a good choice of food available. We ate lunch and dinner at the restaurant as well, the service was a little slow but the food was good. We arranged transport out to the giraffe sanctuary and Nairobi National Park with reception, and we had a fantastic driver/guide for the day.

The hotel itself is located quite close to the city centre. To get there, you need to walk down a street which is home to the University and some other hotels - so there are plenty of people around! You do need to cross quite a busy road to get across to the CBD - we asked some locals to guide us across the road (much to their amusement) but they did so happily.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Austell Cornwall
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Stayed here before catching flight back to UK. A good hotel - clean and good sized rooms. Great showers!! Felt safe as there was security to get into the complex. A few little shops/stands were at the entrance to the complex - ideal for getting last minute souvenirs.
Had a very nice evening meal here and prices very fair. Good atmosphere and ideal base to get to the airport the next day. Good hotel!!

Room Tip: overlook the garden where possible - a lot quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Stayed here 2 nights before and after safari. It was one of three choices offered by our safari company. Small, garden like atmosphere. Clean, comfy, staff very helpful. Currently doing some upgrades and renovations. No air conditioning, but didn't need it (September). Close to downtown, but security was plentiful-felt totally safe. We enjoyed it!

Room Tip: We were on 3rd floor and no elevators. Staff were very eager to carry our luggage. Not sure if there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We got a good price deal on the hotel from a website, the published rates are v.high and can get much better hotels at that price. The rooms were neat and clean. Stayed there twice, both times the rooms were clean and staff was v. polite and nice. No TV remote and No AC. Got really hot on 1 night, had only table fan in the room. Fridge was noisy so switched it off. Secure parking and good area. Building looks old but rooms have been renovated and balconies included in the room area to increase room space. No Lift. Can get on to highway A104 (if i remember name correctly) easily to go to airport or towards other cities of Kenya. GPS will show "Boulevard Hotel" only, not Sentrim, even there board doesn't have Sentrim on it.Breakfast was excellent. When we requested fro early breakfast they arranged for that too. Would recommend this over Sentrim 680 which was our biggest confusion due to location.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

My tour operator booked me into this hotel for the night before I flew to Amboseli. The hotel room was small but clean. I had no problems with hot water early in the morning. The staff were very helpful when i wanted to check out some local food and I enjoyed my dinner. The next day I had an early flight and was there 5 minutes after the breakfast buffet time. Everything was in place so I managed to have breakfast and leave in 15 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karachi
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Nothing negative about this hotel; good service, great location, nice rooms.....though the building seems a bit old, but i guess thats the old city charm of it.

Room Tip: Book online!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel

Address: Harry Thuku Road | PO Box 43436, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi is the capital and largest city of Kenya. The city and its surrounding area also form the Nairobi Province. The name "Nairobi" comes from the Maasai phrase Enkare Nyirobi, which translates to "the place of cool waters." However, it is popularly known as the "Green City in theSun." Location: Sentrim Boulevard is located at the end of Nairobi’s Harry Thuku Road, an oasis of peace and quite with beautiful manicured gardens and lawns. There are 70 rooms in 2 stories. The main guest area consists of the reception, lounge area, Restaurant and bar. The Mezzanine floor has the conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.