We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Road | PO Box 43436, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 103 Hotels in Nairobi
Bangalore, India
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed here for a day before our departure. Good, clean and nice place. You can see lot of birds in this place. Being next to the university is an advantage, close to the city center but out of the hustle.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    57
    77
    24
    22
See reviews for
20
65
34
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

This was the hotel that GAP Adventures had booked as the startibg hotel for our Kenya/Tanzania tour. It was nice enough but would never have paid that price if on my own. You can do better.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riyadh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

I arrived early in the morning and the hotel management was able to provide me room upon arrival. Staff was very cooperative and friendly. Cleaning and standard of room was excellent. Air conditioning worked perfectly. Hotel has tight security and is situated at the walking distance from the centre. If you travel first time in Nairiobi, be ware to respect the time when national flag is hoisted opp and taken down every day. You have to stop like any other citizens. Resurant is pretty ordinary with prices that did not match neither quality nor quantity. No wireless connection, however paid service is avaialbe in the lobby, which is very expensive.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed here for our first night in Kenya . Reception was not friendly. The room to the street side were very noisy. They were renovating the hotel and thus it was also very noisy inside the hotel. Breakfast was basic. The positive: the children liked the swimming pool and it is walking distance to the national museum. Good for one night but all the places we stayed in Kenya and Tanzania after this were much better.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

This hotel is clean and has good service. Lots of folks who come to Kenya to go on safarai stay here. It is a bit pricey if you are staying more then a day or so. They do offer discounts if you are working at the museum. The grounds are very pretty, and the little bars and tiki places are nice. Food is OK. They have a stir fry set-up which is good. Service in both the hotel and the dining areas is decent to good. Nothing stellar but pretty good overall. They are on the same genarator - standby power system as the National Museum so they don't suffer from the ongoing power outages that most of Nairobi's hotels have to deals with. Overall is is a expensive place for decent accomadations with few bad surprises, kinda a middle of the road place. If you are traveling cheaply you can get much better value for your money at other spots and if you are not traveling cheaply you can get much more luxury ither places. Good place for business travelers who want to be close to downtown but not in downtown. Be careful walking after dark in this area!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

This is an old hotel with no maintenace or renovations since the 1960's. There is basically no service: you may ask for a wake up call or for someone to come and repair a non-functioning lamp and they would just NOT act upon their words. Then there is the issue of mistrust of their own clients: you will be asked for a significant deposit if you want a remote control and a hefty non-remboursable fee for using the internet.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

I chose to stay at the Boulevard hotel, although it was a bit above my price range (the price quoted by my tour company was $95US & prices were similar online) as this was the adjoining point for my tour which left early the morning after i´d flown into Nairobi airport. However, when i arrived i was surprised to be told the price had gone up to $130US, which was extortionate for a hotel of this standard & my room didn´t even have aircon & i had a terrible nights sleep with the fan on! In europe i could have stayed in a 5star luxury hotel for less than this (having travelled around europe also).

I also had a problem with one of my US $ notes not being issued after 2004 & the hotel said they couldn´t accept this. Being on a budget & having limited funds, this was not a good start to my holiday.

However, when i returned from my tour i stayed at the Comfort Inn which was a 2star but more than adequate for my needs & at $55 for the night, including breakfast, was much more affordable & i would recommend this hotel to anyone on a budget. It was only a short taxi ride from the Boulevard hotel or you could walk it in about 10mins. Being a solo traveller i was a bit wary of my safety & would not have walked alone perhaps but getting a taxi was fine.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel

Address: Harry Thuku Road | PO Box 43436, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 103 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi is the capital and largest city of Kenya. The city and its surrounding area also form the Nairobi Province. The name "Nairobi" comes from the Maasai phrase Enkare Nyirobi, which translates to "the place of cool waters." However, it is popularly known as the "Green City in theSun." Location: Sentrim Boulevard is located at the end of Nairobi’s Harry Thuku Road, an oasis of peace and quite with beautiful manicured gardens and lawns. There are 70 rooms in 2 stories. The main guest area consists of the reception, lounge area, Restaurant and bar. The Mezzanine floor has the conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.