We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe just live in a tent..” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel to your Saves list
Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Road | PO Box 43436, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Maybe just live in a tent..”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had to stay at the start and finish of my safari tour in late July/early August of 2015.

First impression arriving at the hotel late at night was that the place smelled like a war time hospital and looked like an old prison. The first room we got certainly backed up that impression. To be fair though, the room I got on the return leg was a lot better.

For food, breakfast is terrible. For the lunch/dinner, definitely find out what they are good at, I just ordered the steak and I feel like I am still chewing 7 months later.... The Indian food I ordered was actually quite good, but it did give me food poisoning the night before my 24 hour journey back to Australia..... Not ideal.

The WORST thing though was the inconsistent service. 1 front desk and the manager were extremely unprofessional and gave my otherwise awesome Africa experience a very sour ending.

Room Tip: Ask them for a good room! They are not consistent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaelrcfj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
riyadh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A throwback on the 60's.Very old and dated hotel, though very clean and neat.Well kept garden and pool area non ac rooms,very old stand fans! Terrific and helpful staff.Average restaurant, though staff very kind and helpful. reasonable price.good for budget travelers.Secure compound. Center of Nairobi, though no good halal restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed December 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank javedmemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajni S, Manager at Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback about our hotel. though old we try and do the renovations often to the modern standard, I can assure you of great change on your next visit.
We are grateful to learn that our staff were of help to you during your stay.

We value your review which will make us improve where we are going wrong. We look forward to another opportunity to host you in the near future.


Kind Regards,

Kennedy Logedi
Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is very conveniently located off the Waiyaki Way, near the University of Nairobi Main Campus and just a walking distance to the CBD. The gardens are beautiful. Though the food is delicious and the staff are friendly, one always has the feeling that with a little more creativity, effort and enthusiasm, it would be a lovely place to be.

  • Stayed December 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here to start our safari tour. The meal in the restaurant was delicious and we had an amazing nights sleep before we embarked on a long bus journey the next day.

It is in a gated compound which is odd to an Englishman but guess that is a necessity.

I'd happily stay here again.

Stayed September 2015, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Saintstatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2016

I only stayed here for one night, as it was the departure point and meeting hotel for my overland tour. For my previous nights in Nairobi, I stayed at a budget guesthouse, which was MUCH nicer. For starters, the staff was incredibly rude. They were very unhelpful and condescending. The WiFi, which worked FINE in my budget guesthouse, barely worked at all. In fact, I asked them to relocate me to a room with working WiFi, as the first one they gave me had absolutely no service. They switched my room, but even there the service was spotty. There was no air con, nor was there a mosquito net, making me susceptible to bites all night. And the shower was bad - many of the campgrounds we stayed at in the bush had better showers. I would not recommend this hotel, and unless I have a future overland tour that starts or ends here, I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2015, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenInSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Battambang, Cambodia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

The room was clean and large. The staff was fine, just a bit slow and not so friendly, especially at the reception. The buffet for breakfast and lunch was very good. The bar was fine and garden was pretty nice.

  • Stayed November 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cogne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
201 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015

This was a starting point hotel for my safari adventure, so it was booked by the group I was with. The room was decent, no A/C but a fan, and a fridge for my water. The beds were decent, and I had no complaints with the room, staff or hotel restaurant.

I took a walk around the hotel grounds after dinner, it was well-groomed and quiet, no real problem with mosquitoes.

The hotel was within a guarded compound, and I really didn't leave the hotel unless I was in a taxi or tour van. The Pope was visiting the next day, so across the street the government set up an area for him, glad we got out the next morning to avoid the traffic, as the traffic in Nairobi is brutal!

  • Stayed November 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank digitalroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sentrim 680 Hotel
#73 of 145 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Meridian Hotel
#19 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont The Norfolk
#9 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 695 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Mvuli Suites
Mvuli Suites
#44 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 7 reviews
Hilton Nairobi
#47 of 145 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel

Address: Harry Thuku Road | PO Box 43436, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi is the capital and largest city of Kenya. The city and its surrounding area also form the Nairobi Province. The name "Nairobi" comes from the Maasai phrase Enkare Nyirobi, which translates to "the place of cool waters." However, it is popularly known as the "Green City in theSun." Location: Sentrim Boulevard is located at the end of Nairobi’s Harry Thuku Road, an oasis of peace and quite with beautiful manicured gardens and lawns. There are 70 rooms in 2 stories. The main guest area consists of the reception, lounge area, Restaurant and bar. The Mezzanine floor has the conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing