We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I could give the hotel a zero I would!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sentrim 680 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sentrim 680 Hotel to your Saves list
Sentrim 680 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue, Muindi Mbingu Street, Nairobi 0100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“If I could give the hotel a zero I would!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

This hotel was absolutely awful!

The room was basic and the beds had tatty, grubby blankets over them that looked like they could do with a good wash. The hotel staff (with the exception of one porter) were unpleasant and unhelpful. The lady who served us in the restaurant could not explain the food on the menu - despite there only being 2 things on it and gave us our bill halfway through our meal even though we wanted to order deserts. The reception staff told us on the first day that we had been overcharged for the third person in our room, so could pay some extra money and have a breakfast for all 3 of us packed for us to collect (we had to leave early that morning for a trip). In the morning there was no breakfast and we were unapologetically told that we would not get breakfast nor a refund.

The two nights we stayed would have been made more bearable if we could have slept. All night our hotel room was filled with noisy music, car alarms etc.

When we came to leave after our stay, the cashier rudely informed us that we had not been charged enough and demanded an additional $60.....it was just fortunate that we managed to scrape that together.

Rude, disorganised and in need of fresh carpets and bed linen...... definitely not one to stay in!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    30
    46
    21
    19
See reviews for
16
23
23
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

This hotel was utter misery. It was filthy and obscenely smelly - some combination of rotting, stale smoke, and unidentifiable "bad". I put my hand on the underside of the front ledge of the desk drawer and it came away sticky as if covered in honey... but it wasn't honey. The service was terrible, we found it nearly impossible to get our trash taken out or towels replaced (for some reason house keeping would take our towels, which we had hung up, but they did not replace them so we went a couple days without towels) or more toilet paper, water, and other things that should be stocked daily in our room. We called the front desk and visited the desk and the housekeeping office in person to no avail. We once left our overflowing trashcan in the hallway where housekeeping ignored it for several days. I was in a group which occupied 3 different rooms with a similar experience each. No matter how far in advance you pay, your room key is cancelled at 10AM (the check out time) EVERY DAY meaning you are constantly waiting for the mostly broken or epileptic elevators to take you to and from the front desk - to wait behind other customers with the same complaint. There are sleeping guards all over the place which is kind of weird, mainly because you can't decide if you want to not wake them out of politeness or intentionally wake them out of annoyance.

And oh, the noise! There's a casino and a NIGHT CLUB which is blaring until 5 or 6am every single night of the week. My group were on the 6 and 9th floor and in different parts of the building and had difficulty having a casual conversation. Car alarms would be set off by the bass and they don't turn off automatically. I think a fire alarm would go off occasionally (not fun the first night) and randomly shut off only to turn on again later. Sleeping was nearly impossible. Sometime around 6AM you might finally fall asleep, only to have housekeeping knock incessantly on your door around 7AM (then apologize when in shock they discover you are still in the room). We finally moved to a different hotel approximately 3 weeks into the stay and discovered that the 680 hotel is quite a bit more expensive than significantly nicer places within a couple/three blocks.

To summarize, one of my travel group has this to say: if you are forced to stay here, instead go to one of the prostitutes which can be found on the street outside the hotel and find out how much she is an hour - and pay to sleep in her room.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

During our extended stay with over 100 other party members I stayed in a variety of rooms.

The refurbished rooms on the 5th and 6th floor were a considerable improvement on the other floors, but be very careful when booking to ask for a room on the "quiet" side of the hotel. The all night music from Tuskys across the road makes for less than a good night's sleep. However, there are rooms on the other side of the hotel which are considerably quieter, although the view is nothing to write home about! Whilst I was there it sounded like they might be working on the 7th floor, if the all day hammering from ustairs was anything to go by.

Refurbed rooms clean and more modern with shower, lashings of hot water (if you leave the tap running for long enough) but the flush on my toilet wouldn't stop flushing 24/7 and nobody showed up to fix it, despite being told on several occasions.

Safe in every room for your valuables.

The restaurant is adequate, give their evening meals a try. Perfectly good food at reasonable price. The bar is good, drinks not overpriced and a better bet than some of the other venues nearby.

The guards on each floor check you in and out every time you enter or leave the lifts and the security on the door is good. I felt safe enough to use the ATMs around the hotel without assistance and never saw any trouble, but steer clear of the bar across the road!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

I travelled to Nairobi for a vacation with my wife, and we stayed in 680.
It is situated in the middle of the City, near to everything. I mean shops, restaurants, tour operator etc.
For the cost 80-100 USD, i should say it was a great experience. There is good security. Every floor has a security. People are friendly, and i should say the breakfast was amazing.

The rooms may not have 5 star facility. But if you are on vacation, you would be most of the time outside.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Top Contributor
502 reviews 502 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

Very basic rooms that are kind of down market. Very secure hotel with a watchman on every floor. Our room had a double bed, a small TV, and some hotel furniture from the 1970s. The bathroom has a shower just barely large enough to turn around in. The most basic room at a mid-range price. I cannot really recommend this place. There is nothing really bad about it, but certainly nothing very good. The lounge/bar was fine, but the restaurant was awful. Do not eat there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

The hotel is a good price for the quality you get. Has a great location. Bathrooms could get some improvement.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

The rooms are very dingy and ill-equipped. We did not have a table fan in our room, and got it after repeatedly prodding the staff. The surroundings are unsafe, and frequented by drunk men and prosts soliciting. The hotel itself has an open noisy casino and so for all these reasons it's definitely not a family place. We had been put up there for a night at the end of our Kenya trip and it did it's best to spoil what was otherwise a perfect trip. Avoid this hotel at all costs.

  • Liked — Nothing at all
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sentrim 680 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim 680 Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Muindi Mbingu Street, Nairobi 0100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sentrim 680 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sentrim 680 Hotel is located in Nairobi CBD, 30-minute drive from JKIA. The recently refurbished rooms have views of Nairobi. Each sound-proofed room features a digital flat screen TV, digital safe, electric fans / coolers and a fridge. The rooms also have private en-suite bathroom with hot / cold water and free toiletries. Some of the rooms have a private balcony. A restaurant, coffee shop and the Sentrope Bar & Lounge are also on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sentrim 680 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sentrim 680 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.