We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location in downtown Nairobi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sentrim 680 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sentrim 680 Hotel to your Saves list
Sentrim 680 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue, Muindi Mbingu Street, Nairobi 0100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Miami, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Central location in downtown Nairobi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have been in this hotel on several occasions. The 'deluxe' rooms are cleaner tha the rest. Great location in the city center. Breakfast was great. Take extra care with your belongings; I lost a phone and an electric shaver and I didn't get much help from the staff in charge

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    30
    46
    21
    19
See reviews for
16
23
23
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Hi, I stayed at the 680 for 6 days I was there on business. Great hotel slap bang in the centre of town. Excellent for the business traveller who needs to be centrally located. Good security but a bit concerned as no control over who is coming in and out. Local hotel with a lot of local people.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The hotel has a great central location. The staff are very friendly and very helpful. There is a safe in the room and hotel security is very good. The hotel is very run down, if only it really did look like the pictures on the website! It is a little over price if I compare to an English travel lodge hotel. Nothing special but does you fine if u want a low budget central located hotel which is VERY safe.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Good hotel, reminded me of a large 1980s style business hotel.
Lots of function rooms with talks, meeting & shows going on, A Miss fabulous beauty competition was on while i was there! There is Security on every floor & I was soon on first name terms with the ever present security guards. Which I found to be easily more helpful than the reception staff.
Room was quite big, clean with a sky rise view of Nairobi. Breakfast very good, lots of good food to choose from. Plus a nice little Coffee shop downstairs too for a Kenyan tea & a quaint bookshop next door.
With a mixed variety of guests it was nice because I met a few fellow Tourists & some friendly Business folks over breakfast.
Its very centrally located & easy to walk within the CBD by day. A Taxis desk is at reception and security will encourage you to only go out at night if you go by Taxi & they know where you are going. Which as I was traveling alone made me fell very safe.
Not sure if I would stay here again as I noticed a few traveller/backpacker type places down the road which may have suited me better...but I wanted somewhere central & reasonably priced and this def is.
Also beware of tourist information touts hanging around in reception shop around first.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithonia, Georgia, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

old style hotel rooms clean restaurant good 2 female lobby staff arrogant but respectful whilst I T guy and male members were excellent and a little embarassed .cashier excellent . security pleasant and helpful. location good worth while recommending to ordinary folks colleagues?? perhaps the other sentrim - has the pool and gym the safe was working but 3 days i asked for a workable fridge from lobby staff before replacement. Yes it was adequate and served my purpose

Room Tip: if you want flight details or tickets go to a travel agent-- the airlines are continuously changing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stay here often whilst on business, the service and staff are great, Achieng's smile in the coffee shop is a real boost every morning. Fantastic if you are working in Nairobi town, you are in easy reach of everything, so you have no traffic jams, clean warm bedding, Hot water, DSTV, fans and mobile air con units, great value. If you are with a young family you might prefer the sister hotel ( Hotel Boulevard ) only five minutes away but it has out door grounds and a swimming pool.

Room Tip: If you prefer a quiet room ask for a room away from Simmers ( the bar next door )
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had hopes that the hotel would provide a clean room and safe- all that was required by us. There was no working safe when we arrived and our room was already occupied by cockroaches. The cost of the hotel was 130USD per night- very expensive for the room and service received.

The rooms were old and outdated with a view comparable to a Russian prison.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sentrim 680 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim 680 Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Muindi Mbingu Street, Nairobi 0100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sentrim 680 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sentrim 680 Hotel is located in Nairobi CBD, 30-minute drive from JKIA. The recently refurbished rooms have views of Nairobi. Each sound-proofed room features a digital flat screen TV, digital safe, electric fans / coolers and a fridge. The rooms also have private en-suite bathroom with hot / cold water and free toiletries. Some of the rooms have a private balcony. A restaurant, coffee shop and the Sentrope Bar & Lounge are also on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sentrim 680 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sentrim 680 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.