We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sentrim 680 hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sentrim 680 Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sentrim 680 Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sentrim 680 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue, Muindi Mbingu Street, Nairobi 0100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Lithonia, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“sentrim 680 hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

old style hotel rooms clean restaurant good 2 female lobby staff arrogant but respectful whilst I T guy and male members were excellent and a little embarassed .cashier excellent . security pleasant and helpful. location good worth while recommending to ordinary folks colleagues?? perhaps the other sentrim - has the pool and gym the safe was working but 3 days i asked for a workable fridge from lobby staff before replacement. Yes it was adequate and served my purpose

Room Tip: if you want flight details or tickets go to a travel agent-- the airlines are continuously changing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    28
    42
    22
    20
See reviews for
13
20
20
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stay here often whilst on business, the service and staff are great, Achieng's smile in the coffee shop is a real boost every morning. Fantastic if you are working in Nairobi town, you are in easy reach of everything, so you have no traffic jams, clean warm bedding, Hot water, DSTV, fans and mobile air con units, great value. If you are with a young family you might prefer the sister hotel ( Hotel Boulevard ) only five minutes away but it has out door grounds and a swimming pool.

Room Tip: If you prefer a quiet room ask for a room away from Simmers ( the bar next door )
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had hopes that the hotel would provide a clean room and safe- all that was required by us. There was no working safe when we arrived and our room was already occupied by cockroaches. The cost of the hotel was 130USD per night- very expensive for the room and service received.

The rooms were old and outdated with a view comparable to a Russian prison.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manilla
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel is just in the city center. It's good if you have business to do focused only in the city. Even if to go far from the center, the taxis are easy to get once you move out of the hotel. The rooms are quiet ok. Good services. Food with buffet breakfast. During the night, the side closer to the front road is a bit noisy, bar-cabaret with music all along the night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Very good hotel. Normal price, normal room, normal breakfast. I will stay here if I will visit Nairobi again. Espesially I like beatiful street girls which cost about 20$. Please be informed that 20 $ is extra charge for hotel if you will bring with you lady into room for night or some hours. It is a little dangerous at nights but very amazing:) and it is not so good hotel for travellers with family..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Coast, Kenya
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel is centrally positioned in the center of Nairobi's central business district.Check in was fast.The hotel is old but rooms been refurbished.At least the ones that I saw were refurbished.Food service was fast.Had dinner on la carte.In the morning had buffet breakfast.The room had a fan which was inadequate for the west facing rooms given that Nairobi is close to the equator and the sun is overheard around 21st march.The heat in the room was unbearable despite the fan being full speed.I was in room 1029, on the 10th floor.There was a little respite at night,though still uncomfortable.The hotel has a casino(I did not visit this as I dont gamble).There is also a bar next to the restaurant which is frequented by non residents as well.At every floor was a sentry posted which was quite comforting in terms of security.All in all , a ideal location in order to avoid the traffic gridlock.

Room Tip: choose a room facing the east,they are cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ullswater
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The 680 is in perfect location for all my work needs, it has nice facilities and the restaurant is fine serving a good range of food. There is a casino on the ground floor which can be a little noisy, but this is Nairobi, you need to be Kenya wise. I needed an air-con unit for my room as I had came from -6 in the UK to +30 of Kenya. I had to request this as they do not provide as standard. But for the price I have little in the way of complaints, security on every floor you can't really go wrong.
The staff are very helpful as always in Kenya the service is always kind and friendly. When you leave the hotel, remember where you are, at night I had to go to the ATM, as a white guy I had to endure many propositions from ladies of negotiable affection, not the most pleasant of experiences but this is the reality of Nairobi.
The 680 on a whole suits your needs as a city stop over, I wouldn't recommend a long stay.

Room Tip: Ask for an A/C unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sentrim 680 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim 680 Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Muindi Mbingu Street, Nairobi 0100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sentrim 680 Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sentrim 680 Hotel is located in Nairobi CBD, 30-minute drive from JKIA. The recently refurbished rooms have views of Nairobi. Each sound-proofed room features a digital flat screen TV, digital safe, electric fans / coolers and a fridge. The rooms also have private en-suite bathroom with hot / cold water and free toiletries. Some of the rooms have a private balcony. A restaurant, coffee shop and the Sentrope Bar & Lounge are also on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Tingo and Jovago.com so you can book your Sentrim 680 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sentrim 680 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.