We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel for travelling without family :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sentrim 680 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sentrim 680 Hotel to your Saves list
Sentrim 680 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue, Muindi Mbingu Street, Nairobi 0100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Baku, Azerbaijan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good hotel for travelling without family :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Very good hotel. Normal price, normal room, normal breakfast. I will stay here if I will visit Nairobi again. Espesially I like beatiful street girls which cost about 20$. Please be informed that 20 $ is extra charge for hotel if you will bring with you lady into room for night or some hours. It is a little dangerous at nights but very amazing:) and it is not so good hotel for travellers with family..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    30
    45
    21
    19
See reviews for
16
23
23
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mombasa, Coast, Kenya
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel is centrally positioned in the center of Nairobi's central business district.Check in was fast.The hotel is old but rooms been refurbished.At least the ones that I saw were refurbished.Food service was fast.Had dinner on la carte.In the morning had buffet breakfast.The room had a fan which was inadequate for the west facing rooms given that Nairobi is close to the equator and the sun is overheard around 21st march.The heat in the room was unbearable despite the fan being full speed.I was in room 1029, on the 10th floor.There was a little respite at night,though still uncomfortable.The hotel has a casino(I did not visit this as I dont gamble).There is also a bar next to the restaurant which is frequented by non residents as well.At every floor was a sentry posted which was quite comforting in terms of security.All in all , a ideal location in order to avoid the traffic gridlock.

Room Tip: choose a room facing the east,they are cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ullswater
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The 680 is in perfect location for all my work needs, it has nice facilities and the restaurant is fine serving a good range of food. There is a casino on the ground floor which can be a little noisy, but this is Nairobi, you need to be Kenya wise. I needed an air-con unit for my room as I had came from -6 in the UK to +30 of Kenya. I had to request this as they do not provide as standard. But for the price I have little in the way of complaints, security on every floor you can't really go wrong.
The staff are very helpful as always in Kenya the service is always kind and friendly. When you leave the hotel, remember where you are, at night I had to go to the ATM, as a white guy I had to endure many propositions from ladies of negotiable affection, not the most pleasant of experiences but this is the reality of Nairobi.
The 680 on a whole suits your needs as a city stop over, I wouldn't recommend a long stay.

Room Tip: Ask for an A/C unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Highly insecure establishment with equally incompetent staff. Don't bother risking your security by visiting this place!

After recently getting my laptop stolen here, I found out they have none existent security measures for their guest. Despite filing a report with the police, the management had the audacity to ask me to prove I had my laptop with me. Not to mention false notices that the building is under CCTV surveillance.

Long story short, kindly take your business elsewhere where you will be safe.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Rooms have been refurbished, staff are helpfull well trained, this hotel is well located and the cheapest for the quality.

During the night, there is music outside in a nearby terrasse, if you are looking for a quiet place, dont go there.

Room Tip: Take a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I only picked this hotel because I saw someone's comment it was a safe place and I was traveling alone.
I will never stay in this place again and please, read this, as you should not either.
The wifi (which you have to pay for) does not work in the rooms nor in the restaurant so you have to use the PC at the lobby.
My room had toilet malfunction so I had to move to a new room in which the sink was blocked.
The in house restaurant has some sort of food selection which is ok but only if you are prepared to wait for half hour or longer for a simple salad (which takes 10 minutes to prepare).
The staff at the reception is clueless and knows nothing about how long it takes to local attractions via taxi or where are ATMs.
Honestly... this has to be the worst place I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: there is no option, wi-fi won't work and malfunction toilet is something not to foresee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed here to be close to a meeting i came for at the Lacio and needed to conserve funds. Other colleagues where staying here, so i stayed. I didn't get to spend a lot of time at the hotel, but at first i was worried about the security - as its in the center of town and has a disco/club on the first floor, with several meetings going on and some shops at the first level. The lobby is always busy, but the staff where very friendly and there is a lady security sitting by the elevator on every floor. The rooms where okay and the cleaners had burst into my room - knocked and opened - as i was dressing up. I didn't mind having people always around though, preferred it to being in a quiet and isolated place.
Hotel charges for internet which is very unreliable anyway.
Food was great.
Room has a safe and refridgerator
Room didn't get sprayed and had no mosquito nets and by the second day, i was worried about getting malaria from a mosquito bite.
Gave my clothes to housekeeping for ironing and was promised i would get it in 10 minutes - i left for a meeting leaving instruction to have it kept in my room. Had wanted to do my own ironing, but the hotel doesn't give irons. When i got back 7 hours later, i still hadn't gotten my clothes. On calling the frontdesk and housekeeping numbers severally, it took more than an hour to get back my clothes. When it came it came with a wrong bill saying the cothes where washed and then ironed. I insisted on their confirming what i had actually asked for, and eventually i got the correct bill.
Very easy to pick up taxis here

Room Tip: Request for a room high up and away from the main street and night club
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sentrim 680 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim 680 Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Muindi Mbingu Street, Nairobi 0100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sentrim 680 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sentrim 680 Hotel is located in Nairobi CBD, 30-minute drive from JKIA. The recently refurbished rooms have views of Nairobi. Each sound-proofed room features a digital flat screen TV, digital safe, electric fans / coolers and a fridge. The rooms also have private en-suite bathroom with hot / cold water and free toiletries. Some of the rooms have a private balcony. A restaurant, coffee shop and the Sentrope Bar & Lounge are also on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sentrim 680 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sentrim 680 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.