We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly insecure establishment with equally incompetent staff.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sentrim 680 Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sentrim 680 Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sentrim 680 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue, Muindi Mbingu Street, Nairobi 0100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly insecure establishment with equally incompetent staff.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Highly insecure establishment with equally incompetent staff. Don't bother risking your security by visiting this place!

After recently getting my laptop stolen here, I found out they have none existent security measures for their guest. Despite filing a report with the police, the management had the audacity to ask me to prove I had my laptop with me. Not to mention false notices that the building is under CCTV surveillance.

Long story short, kindly take your business elsewhere where you will be safe.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    28
    42
    22
    20
See reviews for
13
20
20
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Rooms have been refurbished, staff are helpfull well trained, this hotel is well located and the cheapest for the quality.

During the night, there is music outside in a nearby terrasse, if you are looking for a quiet place, dont go there.

Room Tip: Take a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I only picked this hotel because I saw someone's comment it was a safe place and I was traveling alone.
I will never stay in this place again and please, read this, as you should not either.
The wifi (which you have to pay for) does not work in the rooms nor in the restaurant so you have to use the PC at the lobby.
My room had toilet malfunction so I had to move to a new room in which the sink was blocked.
The in house restaurant has some sort of food selection which is ok but only if you are prepared to wait for half hour or longer for a simple salad (which takes 10 minutes to prepare).
The staff at the reception is clueless and knows nothing about how long it takes to local attractions via taxi or where are ATMs.
Honestly... this has to be the worst place I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: there is no option, wi-fi won't work and malfunction toilet is something not to foresee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed here to be close to a meeting i came for at the Lacio and needed to conserve funds. Other colleagues where staying here, so i stayed. I didn't get to spend a lot of time at the hotel, but at first i was worried about the security - as its in the center of town and has a disco/club on the first floor, with several meetings going on and some shops at the first level. The lobby is always busy, but the staff where very friendly and there is a lady security sitting by the elevator on every floor. The rooms where okay and the cleaners had burst into my room - knocked and opened - as i was dressing up. I didn't mind having people always around though, preferred it to being in a quiet and isolated place.
Hotel charges for internet which is very unreliable anyway.
Food was great.
Room has a safe and refridgerator
Room didn't get sprayed and had no mosquito nets and by the second day, i was worried about getting malaria from a mosquito bite.
Gave my clothes to housekeeping for ironing and was promised i would get it in 10 minutes - i left for a meeting leaving instruction to have it kept in my room. Had wanted to do my own ironing, but the hotel doesn't give irons. When i got back 7 hours later, i still hadn't gotten my clothes. On calling the frontdesk and housekeeping numbers severally, it took more than an hour to get back my clothes. When it came it came with a wrong bill saying the cothes where washed and then ironed. I insisted on their confirming what i had actually asked for, and eventually i got the correct bill.
Very easy to pick up taxis here

Room Tip: Request for a room high up and away from the main street and night club
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kisumu
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My advice for anyone considering this hotel is...... Dont Do It, receptionists are rude, security is lax to non existant, if you want to get a drink in the bar, leave yourself at least an hour because even if you manage to get any attention from the staff there is no chance you will get any service.
Unfortunately I stay twice, both times equally bad, never again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Ended up here as hotel of last resort, all others in the area being full. Rooms are OK, 12 channels on the flat screen TV, Bathroom basic but fine. Desk that you can work on. However the a/c unit is one of those portable numbers which isnt really what I expected. Town centre location is convenient if that's what you want but security is evidently an issue - notices in the room, guard on each floor logging all movements etc. There's a basic casino on the ground floor which seems to attract varied clientele. Wireless internet is neither good nor free ($5 for 1hr). Beware paying by Visa: the rate is quoted in USD, charged in Kenya shillings at an exchange rate about 10% above what you get in the bank, and then you get an additional 5% loading for using a credit card.
I might consider coming here again but only if I had to be in the city centre and all others were full.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed in 2 hotels in nairobi kivi milimani and sentrim 680
Sentrim was more expensive ( may be due to location the only positive thing about this hotel)
The rooms were smelly, the cooler (electric fan filled with water) was not working well and was very noisy (they did change it for us but after a lot of negotiations) the breakfast was bad that I just ate pineapple. I'd recommend you do more research before going to this hotel. Value for money is very bad

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sentrim 680 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim 680 Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Muindi Mbingu Street, Nairobi 0100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sentrim 680 Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sentrim 680 Hotel is located in Nairobi CBD, 30-minute drive from JKIA. The recently refurbished rooms have views of Nairobi. Each sound-proofed room features a digital flat screen TV, digital safe, electric fans / coolers and a fridge. The rooms also have private en-suite bathroom with hot / cold water and free toiletries. Some of the rooms have a private balcony. A restaurant, coffee shop and the Sentrope Bar & Lounge are also on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Jovago.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sentrim 680 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sentrim 680 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.