We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit Nairobi City!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sentrim 680 Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sentrim 680 Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sentrim 680 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue, Muindi Mbingu Street, Nairobi 0100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Acqui Terme, Piemonte, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Visit Nairobi City!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Hello. I want to give my contribution to the Trip Advisor about 680 hotel in city center Nairobi. I often go to Nairobi to work, and I always go in 680 hotels. I never had any problems. Just once, I had a problem with my room key card, but quickly resolved. So, quality accommodation, clean, quiet and silent. You can eat and spend little to Simmers, a typical and very nice place opposite the hotel. I never ate at the hotel, but breakfast in the morning is good and plentiful. The reception provides a great service, and the casino Babylon, near the hotel, offers good exchange rates. Therefore, good quality / price ratio. Remember: You can visit the center on foot, because 680 Hotel is in city center.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    27
    42
    21
    17
See reviews for
15
21
21
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Craigavon
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We, (myself and two adult sons) arrived at the hotel and were warmly welcomed by the doorman, Jared and porters were quickly on hand to take care of our luggage. Checking in was a painless process with pleasant and helpful receptionists. Although we did not book directly with the hotel we did correspond before we arrived with Mercy in reservations who was most helpful and even organised our tour of Nairobi National Park and other places on the itinerary.

We had two bedrooms and these were spacious and comfortably furnished and included a fridge and a free safe. Extra marks for that. Reception and choice of channels on the TVs in both rooms were extremely poor but then we were not there to watch TV!

Breakfast is served in the large dining room and provides a vast selection including really good porridge. Eggs cooked to order whatever style one wants. Plenty of fresh fruit and breads. Like most hotels - the toaster takes an age and usually requires a few passes before one gets golden toast! The service is really excellent but it would be nice to see the table being cleared between each course.

I always have an issue with hotels that charge for Wi-Fi and internet access and the charges in the 680 are high and the speed very low. We recommend that you use the internet shop around the corner in Standard Street where it is much cheaper and faster.

Taxis are availablle outside the door and we were there from Thursday to Monday and the first taxi we used the driver Geoffrey was affable and helpful and we used him during our entire stay including the return to the airport and discovered that by doing this it cost a lot less. We recommend Geoffrey and can provide his number!

The 680 is a large hotel and reasonably priced. The little 24 hour coffee bar in the foyer is really good and ideal for a coffee and a snack. If we return to Nairobi we would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I was at the 680 hotel late 2011 and the rooms were out-dated, the staff wasn't very friendly and spoke English that wasn't very easy to comprehend. I wanted to talk to the manager but when I did see someone I was told was the proprieter he seemed to be flirting with one of the girls. Definitely under new mis/management because the first time I was there in the mid 90's at least the staff was very friendly and professional. I am never going back to the 680 again.

Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed here for one night in the beginning of April. It is located in the centre of Nairobi, which is good if you have some business around, so you don't have to take a taxi all the time. We walked to a nearby travel-agency and to Java Coffee bar, no problem. We felt quite safe walking around during the day. Would not do it in the night though. Can really recommend Java, in my opinion they have the best coffee in Kenya! The room was small and outdated, but clean, and ok for a night. The breakfast was not so good, but with a nice view of the street outside from the restaurant. Don't buy breakfast if it is not included.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lagos
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

this is the most old fashioned hotel i have been to. there are no recent airconditioning,no pool, the tv is archaic with extremely limited unclear channels,the duty manager is rude. kenyans generally are not hospitable people.
i practically had to beg for hot water to shower. if for anything, it is only good for one night stay as its in the centre of town.
overall,it's below average.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I chose this hotel for my first stay in Nairobi. It is well located, although if you are not local, you will realize that you need to take taxis for almost any visit you may need to do (so it is not essential to sleep in downtown). The room was OK with a general old-fashion appeareance, but it was noisy, even if we asked for a silent one. The breakfast was good enough to keep you going the whole morning!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huldenberg, Belgium
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

I have stayed at 680 for now over ten years (between 15 and 20 visits), everytime as a stop for one night, en route to other places.

The rooms are OK, but security can still be improved a lot. The bar is a place where you will find businessmen, locals and prostitutes. I certainly would not recommend for a longer stay.

Rates are OK, rooms clean. Ask for a room at the back side of hotel, not in front of Simmer's, at least if you want to sleep...

Room Tip: Avoid front side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sentrim 680 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim 680 Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Muindi Mbingu Street, Nairobi 0100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sentrim 680 Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sentrim 680 Hotel is located in Nairobi CBD, 30-minute drive from JKIA. The recently refurbished rooms have views of Nairobi. Each sound-proofed room features a digital flat screen TV, digital safe, electric fans / coolers and a fridge. The rooms also have private en-suite bathroom with hot / cold water and free toiletries. Some of the rooms have a private balcony. A restaurant, coffee shop and the Sentrope Bar & Lounge are also on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Sentrim 680 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sentrim 680 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.