We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner in a fabulous cottage” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malu

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Malu
Save Saved
You added Malu to your Saves list
Naivasha, Nairobi 20117 , Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 94 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Nairobi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great dinner in a fabulous cottage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Maul is a beautiful farm with lovely cottages. The rooms have a fireplace which makes the rooms quite cosy and warm. The meals provided are really good from breakfast to the in room dinner service for when you want to eat in. I spent two days in malu and enjoyed every bit of it. If you are looking for a break from Nairobi and looking for a place to go with the family or just a romantic getaway, this is the place. I recommend the tree house if you are going with a large group of 6 or more. It's beautiful with a small river crossing below. It's quite secluded so its not for those who are not used to this. Recommend having a barbecue outside, if you rent the tree house. The service is in this place is great!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
21
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Malu Hotel is a small country hotel in a private forest reserve with fabulous views over Lake Naivasha about 95 kilometers out of Nairobi.
Over the years I had heard such great reviews of this place that my expectations were very high when we set out for the Easter weekend. We got in late and were met by a very friendly manager Dan who explained where our cottage was (not an easy feat to get it in the night and with heavy rains). My biggest disappointment was the romantic cottage (boy, was I looking forward to a romantic weekend), the cottage is very old and clearly needs major refurbishing all round, the net over the bed has droppings from the thatched roof that have accumulated over time, the bath area also needs attention. For the price tag they can surely do some upgrading of facilities.
Once I got over the cottage I must say I greatly enjoyed my time here, it was peaceful and serene and just the ideal place to relax. The food was good and they even offer to bring it to the rooms ( in my view highly overworking the few cleaning gals who sometimes had to do it in the rain). They light up a fire in the cottage which is great. The staffs are super friendly. The highly spoken about swirl pool was again underwhelming but as I said this may be due to my overly high expectations.
All said a lovely place and worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I went in November last year with my mother (over 70) and my son (under 2) and all three of us were enchanted by the place. Quiet and peaceful, great staff, delicious food. The farm was great for my little son who collected eggs and fed the chickens and even helped me milk a cow.

I would recommend this place to anyone who has small children. I was really happy because there are not many places which are not too far from Nairobi that also cater well for children.

Will definitely go back and explore the property more.

Room Tip: If you don't bring your car and have small children stay in cottage 1 which is closest to the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed it. We have plans for a little play area for children and some more farm animals - piglets soon we hope, and we have our new little puppy that has begun to steal guests hearts! - have a look at our Malu Facebook page for updates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ouagadougou
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Malu Farm is a fantastic place for a nice week end away from Nairobi. The cottages are absolutely fabulous: cozy, comfortable, clean, with a fireplace, and a fantastic view over Lake Navaisha. The food is fantastic, and the service impeccable.
This is a great place for families: children can see and feed the farm animals, it is possible to hike around the farm, enjoy the hot water hole, and ride horses.
Our only deception was that we did not see a lot of wildlife on the farm. But we will definitely be back to try the fabulous looking tree house !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review - I am sorry that you didn't get to see much wildlife, they can do a good job of hiding! - I would recommend some night game drives as one can see quite a bit with a spot light and the car's headlights - game drives at night are not allowed in the National Parks, but at Malu on our private 2000 acres you can explore all night until your heart's content and you can sometimes get lucky with seeing a Leopard at night. I hope that you will come back again soon and we will work on making sure that you get to see some animals! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This place is expensive, but you get what you pay for. The cottages are beautifully decorated! The food was pretty good. There are lots of activities for kids, but we just went to relax. The views from your cottage of the hills are stunning. They even bring you your dinner to your cottage if you don't feel like going to the restaurant, which is a bit of a distance. The staff is very nice and friendly. Not that close to the lake, but not that far either.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, and I am sorry if you feel that we are a little expensive - we do try so hard to keep our costs down, and in turn our rates, but the managing of the 2000 acres and trying to keep the highest quality in linens, food, included activities etc takes its toll on our costs - however we will continue to work hard at providing the best value for money!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

10 of and my friends and I had a fabulous time at the Malu treehouse this past weekend. The staff were AMAZING - kudos to Emmanuel and his team, who were more than generous and indulged our whims. The chef made an amazing spread - we were constantly eating. Beautiful views and the river just rushing beneath were a great accompaniment to the whole experience.

The road getting there is not for the faint of heart. It gets plenty cold at night too, but the duvets and blankets provided were more than enough. We had a great time and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: If you're a loud group like we were, go for the tree house. It gives you privacy, plus you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
I'm so glad that you had fun at the Tree House - it is a special place. We have some improvements in the pipeline for the Tree House so hope to make it even better! It is a special and fun place though.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Upon deciding we needed a break from the hustle and bustle of Nairobi, we booked one of the cottages at Malu, and what a break it turned out to be.

We were greeted on arrival at the taxi by the fabulous Lazarus who presented us with hot towels to refresh us after our journey (we took a matatu from Nairobi to Naivasha and a taxi from there - a journey you can do in less than 3 hours), and he immediately escorted us to the restaurant where the kitchen had been kept open for our arrival.

After a delicious dinner we were escorted to our cottage where the fire had already been lit. The cottages are beautifully furnished - if a little cluttered - with huge comfy beds and the rather unusual addition of a bath (we haven't seen many since moving to Africa).

Having decided we wanted to do not much at all during the weekend, we had a leisurely breakfast and headed down to the plunge pool. Unless we were both crowded up to the inlet, the pool was a little chilly for us, but really enjoyable in the dappled shade nonetheless. After lunch we released our inner children and milked the cows and met the other farm animals.

We'd recommend taking a variety of clothing with you - the proximity of the Aberdares means that weather can change dramatically over short spaces of time (it rained on Saturday and there was a need for jumpers and trousers but on Sunday we got sun burned despite wearing cream and only being out for 40 minutes). The evenings are also fairly chilly so some closed footwear and a warm jumper are a good idea.

Unlike our dinner on the first evening where we were alone (everyone seems to make the journey on Saturday morning instead of Friday evening like us), our first lunch was crowded with other guests which didn't really achieve the seclusion we were looking for for the weekend. Luckily, you can get meals delivered to your room (/deck outside your room) for free - something we ended up opting for for the remainder of our meals (bar our final lunch where we sat well away from everyone else). Meals are BIG - four courses every time. One of us struggled a little with the portions but they did agree to serve half portions when we asked. Unfortunately the booking office hadn't passed on our request for one set of vegetarian meals so the first dinner was a little thrown together, but very tasty nonetheless.

All the staff (we probably met 8 of them during the weekend) were incredibly friendly, getting the balance of chatty and informative when approached but not interfering just right. The only real suggestion we have (and one we've made with other high-quality accommodation before) is that they provide some good quality soap, bubble bath etc. in the bathrooms. There's a real opportunity for a partnership with something like a community group in Kenya that produces good products that could be used and sold at the lodge. In particular, very few people take bubble bath on holiday, so we ended up using shampoo for bubbles. Not a major let-down but something that would really have topped off such lovely accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such an informative and honest review. You will be pleased to hear that we do now have some lovely 'soaps and smellies' from Cinnabar Green - they are very popular and we do run out from time to time (oops) - but they are now our standard! - so you will be pleased. I hope that you will come back and visit us again soon. Once again thank you so much for taking the time to give such a comprehensive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malu

Address: Naivasha, Nairobi 20117 , Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 94 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Malu!Nestled in an ancient forest with sweeping views over the Great Rift Valley, Malu is a stunning getaway and the perfect base for exploring the Rift Valley and many national parks ...a magical encounter with Africa - just 90 minutes from Nairobi.Malu is a small country hotel offering luxury accommodation, superb service & acclaimed cuisine. On Malu's 1800 acre private forest reserve you have the freedom to walk and ride through one of East Africa's original highland forests, where leopard, buffalo and zebra roam. Our horses & mountain bikes provide a unique close encounter with this untouched wilderness.Malu is a stunning getaway destination as well as a perfect base for excursions to Lake Nakura National Park, Lake Naivasha and Crescent Island, Hell's Gate National Park and Kigio Game Reserve.Malu is a stunning getaway destination as well as a perfect base for excursions to Lake Nakura National Park, Lake Naivasha and Crescent Island, Hell's Gate National Park and Kigio Game Reserve. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Malu Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.