We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous place for the family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malu

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Malu
Save
You added Malu to your Saves list
Naivasha, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mid Week Offer! 3 nights for price of 2
Ranked #35 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Gorgeous place for the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I went in November last year with my mother (over 70) and my son (under 2) and all three of us were enchanted by the place. Quiet and peaceful, great staff, delicious food. The farm was great for my little son who collected eggs and fed the chickens and even helped me milk a cow.

I would recommend this place to anyone who has small children. I was really happy because there are not many places which are not too far from Nairobi that also cater well for children.

Will definitely go back and explore the property more.

Room Tip: If you don't bring your car and have small children stay in cottage 1 which is closest to the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed it. We have plans for a little play area for children and some more farm animals - piglets soon we hope, and we have our new little puppy that has begun to steal guests hearts! - have a look at our Malu Facebook page for updates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
21
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ouagadougou
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Malu Farm is a fantastic place for a nice week end away from Nairobi. The cottages are absolutely fabulous: cozy, comfortable, clean, with a fireplace, and a fantastic view over Lake Navaisha. The food is fantastic, and the service impeccable.
This is a great place for families: children can see and feed the farm animals, it is possible to hike around the farm, enjoy the hot water hole, and ride horses.
Our only deception was that we did not see a lot of wildlife on the farm. But we will definitely be back to try the fabulous looking tree house !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review - I am sorry that you didn't get to see much wildlife, they can do a good job of hiding! - I would recommend some night game drives as one can see quite a bit with a spot light and the car's headlights - game drives at night are not allowed in the National Parks, but at Malu on our private 2000 acres you can explore all night until your heart's content and you can sometimes get lucky with seeing a Leopard at night. I hope that you will come back again soon and we will work on making sure that you get to see some animals! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This place is expensive, but you get what you pay for. The cottages are beautifully decorated! The food was pretty good. There are lots of activities for kids, but we just went to relax. The views from your cottage of the hills are stunning. They even bring you your dinner to your cottage if you don't feel like going to the restaurant, which is a bit of a distance. The staff is very nice and friendly. Not that close to the lake, but not that far either.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, and I am sorry if you feel that we are a little expensive - we do try so hard to keep our costs down, and in turn our rates, but the managing of the 2000 acres and trying to keep the highest quality in linens, food, included activities etc takes its toll on our costs - however we will continue to work hard at providing the best value for money!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

10 of and my friends and I had a fabulous time at the Malu treehouse this past weekend. The staff were AMAZING - kudos to Emmanuel and his team, who were more than generous and indulged our whims. The chef made an amazing spread - we were constantly eating. Beautiful views and the river just rushing beneath were a great accompaniment to the whole experience.

The road getting there is not for the faint of heart. It gets plenty cold at night too, but the duvets and blankets provided were more than enough. We had a great time and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: If you're a loud group like we were, go for the tree house. It gives you privacy, plus you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
I'm so glad that you had fun at the Tree House - it is a special place. We have some improvements in the pipeline for the Tree House so hope to make it even better! It is a special and fun place though.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Upon deciding we needed a break from the hustle and bustle of Nairobi, we booked one of the cottages at Malu, and what a break it turned out to be.

We were greeted on arrival at the taxi by the fabulous Lazarus who presented us with hot towels to refresh us after our journey (we took a matatu from Nairobi to Naivasha and a taxi from there - a journey you can do in less than 3 hours), and he immediately escorted us to the restaurant where the kitchen had been kept open for our arrival.

After a delicious dinner we were escorted to our cottage where the fire had already been lit. The cottages are beautifully furnished - if a little cluttered - with huge comfy beds and the rather unusual addition of a bath (we haven't seen many since moving to Africa).

Having decided we wanted to do not much at all during the weekend, we had a leisurely breakfast and headed down to the plunge pool. Unless we were both crowded up to the inlet, the pool was a little chilly for us, but really enjoyable in the dappled shade nonetheless. After lunch we released our inner children and milked the cows and met the other farm animals.

We'd recommend taking a variety of clothing with you - the proximity of the Aberdares means that weather can change dramatically over short spaces of time (it rained on Saturday and there was a need for jumpers and trousers but on Sunday we got sun burned despite wearing cream and only being out for 40 minutes). The evenings are also fairly chilly so some closed footwear and a warm jumper are a good idea.

Unlike our dinner on the first evening where we were alone (everyone seems to make the journey on Saturday morning instead of Friday evening like us), our first lunch was crowded with other guests which didn't really achieve the seclusion we were looking for for the weekend. Luckily, you can get meals delivered to your room (/deck outside your room) for free - something we ended up opting for for the remainder of our meals (bar our final lunch where we sat well away from everyone else). Meals are BIG - four courses every time. One of us struggled a little with the portions but they did agree to serve half portions when we asked. Unfortunately the booking office hadn't passed on our request for one set of vegetarian meals so the first dinner was a little thrown together, but very tasty nonetheless.

All the staff (we probably met 8 of them during the weekend) were incredibly friendly, getting the balance of chatty and informative when approached but not interfering just right. The only real suggestion we have (and one we've made with other high-quality accommodation before) is that they provide some good quality soap, bubble bath etc. in the bathrooms. There's a real opportunity for a partnership with something like a community group in Kenya that produces good products that could be used and sold at the lodge. In particular, very few people take bubble bath on holiday, so we ended up using shampoo for bubbles. Not a major let-down but something that would really have topped off such lovely accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such an informative and honest review. You will be pleased to hear that we do now have some lovely 'soaps and smellies' from Cinnabar Green - they are very popular and we do run out from time to time (oops) - but they are now our standard! - so you will be pleased. I hope that you will come back and visit us again soon. Once again thank you so much for taking the time to give such a comprehensive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We have been here quite a few times and still cherish the memories of our stays in 2007 and 2008, with very attentive personalized service, resident managers who were very involved and made sure all guests were OK, wonderful food with a lot of variety and reasonable prices. Unfortunately, they have not kept up the standards, perhaps due to changes in management. Last time, our booking was mixed up and the manager did not even apologize. The service was still OK but indifferent, less variety in the food and the cottages not as clean. The prices, however, had increased tremendously. Of course Malu is still a wonderful place to spend a few nights (like other reviewers have pointed out), but they should improve standards as there are plenty of alternatives around Naivasha nowadays.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Joe Traveller - I am sorry we were not up to standard. Please rest assured that since your visit we have worked hard to improve and think that by the response and reviews since, we are going in the right direction. I hope that you will visit us again and your review will state "better than it has ever been" - we will certainly aim for that! - thank you for your honest opinion, and sorry not to be at our best for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Malu's accommodation is, quite simply, beautiful. This, coupled with an innovative restaurant and great service, in the middle of natural leleshwa, makes it very high quality.

Bring your gumboots (a great investment at the local Bata store if your stay is during the rains), bring your book, curl up by the log fire after dinner, see the view of the Lake in the morning (not to mention the lights at night) and be guaranteed a wonderful stay.

For us a key high of our stay was the staff; the room steward who turned down our room and built our fire in the evenings, the Askari who cheerfully walked us back to our rooms after dark, the restaurant staff who handled everything, to the guys who expertly drove us out in the mud after the heavens opened upon Naivasha the day before. The constant impression was of professionalism and care.

The second was the restaurant. There is some innovative cooking and strong, fresh flavours which do much to recommend Malu.

The third was the canopy bed with parachute silk lining the ceiling. A romantic cottage with extra magic.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
What a lovely review. Thank you so much. We continue to work on value for money so we can tip you towards a full 5/5 on every aspect! - thank you and I hope you will come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malu

Address: Naivasha, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Malu!Nestled in an ancient forest with sweeping views over the Great Rift Valley, Malu is a stunning getaway and the perfect base for exploring the Rift Valley and many national parks ...a magical encounter with Africa - just 90 minutes from Nairobi.Malu is a small country hotel offering luxury accommodation, superb service & acclaimed cuisine. On Malu's 1800 acre private forest reserve you have the freedom to walk and ride through one of East Africa's original highland forests, where leopard, buffalo and zebra roam. Our horses & mountain bikes provide a unique close encounter with this untouched wilderness.Malu is a stunning getaway destination as well as a perfect base for excursions to Lake Nakura National Park, Lake Naivasha and Crescent Island, Hell's Gate National Park and Kigio Game Reserve.Malu is a stunning getaway destination as well as a perfect base for excursions to Lake Nakura National Park, Lake Naivasha and Crescent Island, Hell's Gate National Park and Kigio Game Reserve. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Malu Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.