We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun times at the Malu Tree house” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malu

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Malu
Save Saved
You added Malu to your Saves list
Naivasha, Nairobi 20117 , Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fun times at the Malu Tree house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

10 of and my friends and I had a fabulous time at the Malu treehouse this past weekend. The staff were AMAZING - kudos to Emmanuel and his team, who were more than generous and indulged our whims. The chef made an amazing spread - we were constantly eating. Beautiful views and the river just rushing beneath were a great accompaniment to the whole experience.

The road getting there is not for the faint of heart. It gets plenty cold at night too, but the duvets and blankets provided were more than enough. We had a great time and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: If you're a loud group like we were, go for the tree house. It gives you privacy, plus you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
I'm so glad that you had fun at the Tree House - it is a special place. We have some improvements in the pipeline for the Tree House so hope to make it even better! It is a special and fun place though.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
21
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Upon deciding we needed a break from the hustle and bustle of Nairobi, we booked one of the cottages at Malu, and what a break it turned out to be.

We were greeted on arrival at the taxi by the fabulous Lazarus who presented us with hot towels to refresh us after our journey (we took a matatu from Nairobi to Naivasha and a taxi from there - a journey you can do in less than 3 hours), and he immediately escorted us to the restaurant where the kitchen had been kept open for our arrival.

After a delicious dinner we were escorted to our cottage where the fire had already been lit. The cottages are beautifully furnished - if a little cluttered - with huge comfy beds and the rather unusual addition of a bath (we haven't seen many since moving to Africa).

Having decided we wanted to do not much at all during the weekend, we had a leisurely breakfast and headed down to the plunge pool. Unless we were both crowded up to the inlet, the pool was a little chilly for us, but really enjoyable in the dappled shade nonetheless. After lunch we released our inner children and milked the cows and met the other farm animals.

We'd recommend taking a variety of clothing with you - the proximity of the Aberdares means that weather can change dramatically over short spaces of time (it rained on Saturday and there was a need for jumpers and trousers but on Sunday we got sun burned despite wearing cream and only being out for 40 minutes). The evenings are also fairly chilly so some closed footwear and a warm jumper are a good idea.

Unlike our dinner on the first evening where we were alone (everyone seems to make the journey on Saturday morning instead of Friday evening like us), our first lunch was crowded with other guests which didn't really achieve the seclusion we were looking for for the weekend. Luckily, you can get meals delivered to your room (/deck outside your room) for free - something we ended up opting for for the remainder of our meals (bar our final lunch where we sat well away from everyone else). Meals are BIG - four courses every time. One of us struggled a little with the portions but they did agree to serve half portions when we asked. Unfortunately the booking office hadn't passed on our request for one set of vegetarian meals so the first dinner was a little thrown together, but very tasty nonetheless.

All the staff (we probably met 8 of them during the weekend) were incredibly friendly, getting the balance of chatty and informative when approached but not interfering just right. The only real suggestion we have (and one we've made with other high-quality accommodation before) is that they provide some good quality soap, bubble bath etc. in the bathrooms. There's a real opportunity for a partnership with something like a community group in Kenya that produces good products that could be used and sold at the lodge. In particular, very few people take bubble bath on holiday, so we ended up using shampoo for bubbles. Not a major let-down but something that would really have topped off such lovely accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such an informative and honest review. You will be pleased to hear that we do now have some lovely 'soaps and smellies' from Cinnabar Green - they are very popular and we do run out from time to time (oops) - but they are now our standard! - so you will be pleased. I hope that you will come back and visit us again soon. Once again thank you so much for taking the time to give such a comprehensive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We have been here quite a few times and still cherish the memories of our stays in 2007 and 2008, with very attentive personalized service, resident managers who were very involved and made sure all guests were OK, wonderful food with a lot of variety and reasonable prices. Unfortunately, they have not kept up the standards, perhaps due to changes in management. Last time, our booking was mixed up and the manager did not even apologize. The service was still OK but indifferent, less variety in the food and the cottages not as clean. The prices, however, had increased tremendously. Of course Malu is still a wonderful place to spend a few nights (like other reviewers have pointed out), but they should improve standards as there are plenty of alternatives around Naivasha nowadays.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Joe Traveller - I am sorry we were not up to standard. Please rest assured that since your visit we have worked hard to improve and think that by the response and reviews since, we are going in the right direction. I hope that you will visit us again and your review will state "better than it has ever been" - we will certainly aim for that! - thank you for your honest opinion, and sorry not to be at our best for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Malu's accommodation is, quite simply, beautiful. This, coupled with an innovative restaurant and great service, in the middle of natural leleshwa, makes it very high quality.

Bring your gumboots (a great investment at the local Bata store if your stay is during the rains), bring your book, curl up by the log fire after dinner, see the view of the Lake in the morning (not to mention the lights at night) and be guaranteed a wonderful stay.

For us a key high of our stay was the staff; the room steward who turned down our room and built our fire in the evenings, the Askari who cheerfully walked us back to our rooms after dark, the restaurant staff who handled everything, to the guys who expertly drove us out in the mud after the heavens opened upon Naivasha the day before. The constant impression was of professionalism and care.

The second was the restaurant. There is some innovative cooking and strong, fresh flavours which do much to recommend Malu.

The third was the canopy bed with parachute silk lining the ceiling. A romantic cottage with extra magic.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
What a lovely review. Thank you so much. We continue to work on value for money so we can tip you towards a full 5/5 on every aspect! - thank you and I hope you will come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

I love Malu, we've been to stay there twice now and it is a wonderful escape from Nairobi, and attracts plenty of Nairobi families looking for a break. It is peaceful, quiet and the children love being able to walk around, feed the animals, milk the cows and swim in the hot spring pool.
My only complaint is that the prices seem to be creeping up fast, and what used to be an affordable weekend away is now becoming less so. I worry that Malu will start to lose business as it prices itself out of its market.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Dear Caroline, Thank you very much for your kind review. We are trying hard to keep our prices low, we haven't raised our prices in two years until this year and have only done so by about 10% - unfortunately inflation in Kenya in 2011 was unbearable with some food items increasing by up to 80% and the general rate for the year was 22%, electricity went up 32% in the period and the current news says it will increase again shortly by 26%. We also invested over USD$200,000.00 in lodge infrastructure and assets in 2011 - a lot for a small 10 room lodge. All very scary stuff. We do however, keep a good eye on our competition and believe that we have a lower rate than all. We will continue to strive to offer our guests the very best value for money and hope that you will come back for a third visit and hope that we can persuade you that we are really worth it - many thanks for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We had the privilege of staying at Malu for one night this last Friday and it was wonderful. quiet, away from beaten track and exactly what me and my boys needed! An evening of good food, fire place and comfortable beds!! In the morning my kids milked cows, chatted to ducks and geese and saw horses and donkeys etc. Ate a delicious breakfast, went for a walk to the river and hot spring when we saw some wildlife, namely warthog, then back for a self grown freshly picked luncheon.thank you very much!

Room Tip: Depends whether you are a family or not. As a person with small kids it was great that we were in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review. We shall work hard to increase our value for money at Malu. Though you will be happy to learn that since your stay we now have six brand new top of the range bicycles at Malu, with suspension on the two adults and two teenage size bikes as well as two new children's bikes. These new bicycles complement our existing seven bicycles which have been completely overhauled. We have also since your stay invested in new bath towels by the British Luxury Linen Company - Mitre which has a Royal Warrant to its name - so we are working hard on that value for money at Malu. I hope to be able to welcome you and your family back to Malu very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

This little lodge located on a private forest reserve is a perfect getaway for a few days. We were there with friends and just relaxed. There are lots of nice activities as well. So, you can just relax and do nothing or fill your days with a few of the many acticities they offer. We went horse riding both mornings. First riding we went down to the plunge pool and had a swim. It's a wonderful little pool in the forest with fresh water from the rocks. In the evening we had so much fun doing a night game drive looking for Buffalos.
The food at Malu is Italian style and very good. You can tell they use lots of vegetalbles and herbs from their own farm. Every lunch and dinner they serve you a delicious 4-course meal. At lunch time we enjoyed our food outside and at supper in their very cosy little restaurant with open fire. When we came back to our cottage after supper the fire was on and the bed warmed up by a hot water bottle. The service was excellent with friendly and helpful staff. We'd love to come back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Thank you for your most kind review, you clearly had a lovely stay and I am so happy. One of the joys of Malu being situated in its own private 1900 acres is that we are able to do night game drives, something that is forbidden in game parks. If I may be so bold as to point out one error in your review - our lunches and dinners are actually five courses. I hope that you will come back with your friends very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malu

Address: Naivasha, Nairobi 20117 , Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Malu!Nestled in an ancient forest with sweeping views over the Great Rift Valley, Malu is a stunning getaway and the perfect base for exploring the Rift Valley and many national parks ...a magical encounter with Africa - just 90 minutes from Nairobi.Malu is a small country hotel offering luxury accommodation, superb service & acclaimed cuisine. On Malu's 1800 acre private forest reserve you have the freedom to walk and ride through one of East Africa's original highland forests, where leopard, buffalo and zebra roam. Our horses & mountain bikes provide a unique close encounter with this untouched wilderness.Malu is a stunning getaway destination as well as a perfect base for excursions to Lake Nakura National Park, Lake Naivasha and Crescent Island, Hell's Gate National Park and Kigio Game Reserve.Malu is a stunning getaway destination as well as a perfect base for excursions to Lake Nakura National Park, Lake Naivasha and Crescent Island, Hell's Gate National Park and Kigio Game Reserve. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Malu Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.