We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed, secluded, farm house experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malu

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Malu
Save
You added Malu to your Saves list
Naivasha, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Relaxed, secluded, farm house experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Malu's accommodation is, quite simply, beautiful. This, coupled with an innovative restaurant and great service, in the middle of natural leleshwa, makes it very high quality.

Bring your gumboots (a great investment at the local Bata store if your stay is during the rains), bring your book, curl up by the log fire after dinner, see the view of the Lake in the morning (not to mention the lights at night) and be guaranteed a wonderful stay.

For us a key high of our stay was the staff; the room steward who turned down our room and built our fire in the evenings, the Askari who cheerfully walked us back to our rooms after dark, the restaurant staff who handled everything, to the guys who expertly drove us out in the mud after the heavens opened upon Naivasha the day before. The constant impression was of professionalism and care.

The second was the restaurant. There is some innovative cooking and strong, fresh flavours which do much to recommend Malu.

The third was the canopy bed with parachute silk lining the ceiling. A romantic cottage with extra magic.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
What a lovely review. Thank you so much. We continue to work on value for money so we can tip you towards a full 5/5 on every aspect! - thank you and I hope you will come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    21
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

I love Malu, we've been to stay there twice now and it is a wonderful escape from Nairobi, and attracts plenty of Nairobi families looking for a break. It is peaceful, quiet and the children love being able to walk around, feed the animals, milk the cows and swim in the hot spring pool.
My only complaint is that the prices seem to be creeping up fast, and what used to be an affordable weekend away is now becoming less so. I worry that Malu will start to lose business as it prices itself out of its market.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Dear Caroline, Thank you very much for your kind review. We are trying hard to keep our prices low, we haven't raised our prices in two years until this year and have only done so by about 10% - unfortunately inflation in Kenya in 2011 was unbearable with some food items increasing by up to 80% and the general rate for the year was 22%, electricity went up 32% in the period and the current news says it will increase again shortly by 26%. We also invested over USD$200,000.00 in lodge infrastructure and assets in 2011 - a lot for a small 10 room lodge. All very scary stuff. We do however, keep a good eye on our competition and believe that we have a lower rate than all. We will continue to strive to offer our guests the very best value for money and hope that you will come back for a third visit and hope that we can persuade you that we are really worth it - many thanks for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We had the privilege of staying at Malu for one night this last Friday and it was wonderful. quiet, away from beaten track and exactly what me and my boys needed! An evening of good food, fire place and comfortable beds!! In the morning my kids milked cows, chatted to ducks and geese and saw horses and donkeys etc. Ate a delicious breakfast, went for a walk to the river and hot spring when we saw some wildlife, namely warthog, then back for a self grown freshly picked luncheon.thank you very much!

Room Tip: Depends whether you are a family or not. As a person with small kids it was great that we were in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review. We shall work hard to increase our value for money at Malu. Though you will be happy to learn that since your stay we now have six brand new top of the range bicycles at Malu, with suspension on the two adults and two teenage size bikes as well as two new children's bikes. These new bicycles complement our existing seven bicycles which have been completely overhauled. We have also since your stay invested in new bath towels by the British Luxury Linen Company - Mitre which has a Royal Warrant to its name - so we are working hard on that value for money at Malu. I hope to be able to welcome you and your family back to Malu very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

This little lodge located on a private forest reserve is a perfect getaway for a few days. We were there with friends and just relaxed. There are lots of nice activities as well. So, you can just relax and do nothing or fill your days with a few of the many acticities they offer. We went horse riding both mornings. First riding we went down to the plunge pool and had a swim. It's a wonderful little pool in the forest with fresh water from the rocks. In the evening we had so much fun doing a night game drive looking for Buffalos.
The food at Malu is Italian style and very good. You can tell they use lots of vegetalbles and herbs from their own farm. Every lunch and dinner they serve you a delicious 4-course meal. At lunch time we enjoyed our food outside and at supper in their very cosy little restaurant with open fire. When we came back to our cottage after supper the fire was on and the bed warmed up by a hot water bottle. The service was excellent with friendly and helpful staff. We'd love to come back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Thank you for your most kind review, you clearly had a lovely stay and I am so happy. One of the joys of Malu being situated in its own private 1900 acres is that we are able to do night game drives, something that is forbidden in game parks. If I may be so bold as to point out one error in your review - our lunches and dinners are actually five courses. I hope that you will come back with your friends very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Sobrante, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

My wife and I spent 5 restful days and nights in this remote part of Kenya. Getting there is
a challenge but once there one can relax and enjoy the quiet restful aptmosphere of the
lodge and surrounding cottages. The restaurant is well managed and provides a good food
wine and aselection of vegtables and greens grown in their own garden. It is truly a fantastic get away from the hustle and bustle of Nairobi. We would recommend this venue for couples as well as families wanting to experience the activities such as horseriding and nature walks. The staff was especially attentative and friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Malu.
Larry & Jill Gebelein, El Sobrante, California, USA

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Malu Lodge was great for a quiet weekend away. The rooms were very comfortable and each cabin has its own fire-place and a balcony at the front which is great for enjoying the view. The only drawbacks were the 10km of dirt road to get there and the unexpected unavailability of credit card facilities which made paying at the end a bit difficult.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Dear Starush, thank you for your kind review - I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay. The road access around the Government 'Dairy Training Institute' can sometimes be a little unkempt but I hope that our roads on Malu were acceptable, as we have a constant team on road upkeep. We do accept both Visa and Mastercard at Malu - the credit card companies lines may have been down while you were there, I shall look into it, but we do very much accept them, in fact we generally prefer credit card payments. Once again, thank you for your review and bringing the credit card issue to my attention. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brüssel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Yes, it is quiet. And not much is happening at Malu Lodge. The cottages are beautiful - we were in a very spacious big one woith 2 bedrooms and a great fireplace - and the view is breathtaking. Our two girls (9 and 11) loved the horseriding and we enjoyed the nature walk. The friendly dog Tanga was quickly adopted, temporarily of course.

We just wanted to relax and Malu Lodge is perfect for that purpose. The staff is freindly and helpful. We were the only guests and while we were there a power problem plunged the Club House into darkness. Nevertheless, we had a great candlelight dinner and saw no reason for complaints. We would surely come back should we ever be in the country. Those who are looking for excitement and entertainment, for shops and a choice between 3 different restaurants should avoid it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Thank you for your kind review - I'm sorry about the power failure, it has become the norm in Kenya these days - hopefully our large new generator will be on line very soon, so we won't be totally reliant on the Kenya Power and Lighting Company. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Malu again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairobi
11.7 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
55.8 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
53.6 mi away
The Ndemi Place
The Ndemi Place
#25 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
8.8 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
11.5 mi away
Enashipai Resort & Spa
Enashipai Resort & Spa
#1 of 5 in Naivasha
4.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malu

Address: Naivasha, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Malu!Nestled in an ancient forest with sweeping views over the Great Rift Valley, Malu is a stunning getaway and the perfect base for exploring the Rift Valley and many national parks ...a magical encounter with Africa - just 90 minutes from Nairobi.Malu is a small country hotel offering luxury accommodation, superb service & acclaimed cuisine. On Malu's 1800 acre private forest reserve you have the freedom to walk and ride through one of East Africa's original highland forests, where leopard, buffalo and zebra roam. Our horses & mountain bikes provide a unique close encounter with this untouched wilderness.Malu is a stunning getaway destination as well as a perfect base for excursions to Lake Nakura National Park, Lake Naivasha and Crescent Island, Hell's Gate National Park and Kigio Game Reserve.Malu is a stunning getaway destination as well as a perfect base for excursions to Lake Nakura National Park, Lake Naivasha and Crescent Island, Hell's Gate National Park and Kigio Game Reserve. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Malu Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.