We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hideaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malu

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Malu
Save
You added Malu to your Saves list
Naivasha, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

This little lodge located on a private forest reserve is a perfect getaway for a few days. We were there with friends and just relaxed. There are lots of nice activities as well. So, you can just relax and do nothing or fill your days with a few of the many acticities they offer. We went horse riding both mornings. First riding we went down to the plunge pool and had a swim. It's a wonderful little pool in the forest with fresh water from the rocks. In the evening we had so much fun doing a night game drive looking for Buffalos.
The food at Malu is Italian style and very good. You can tell they use lots of vegetalbles and herbs from their own farm. Every lunch and dinner they serve you a delicious 4-course meal. At lunch time we enjoyed our food outside and at supper in their very cosy little restaurant with open fire. When we came back to our cottage after supper the fire was on and the bed warmed up by a hot water bottle. The service was excellent with friendly and helpful staff. We'd love to come back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Thank you for your most kind review, you clearly had a lovely stay and I am so happy. One of the joys of Malu being situated in its own private 1900 acres is that we are able to do night game drives, something that is forbidden in game parks. If I may be so bold as to point out one error in your review - our lunches and dinners are actually five courses. I hope that you will come back with your friends very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    23
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Sobrante, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

My wife and I spent 5 restful days and nights in this remote part of Kenya. Getting there is
a challenge but once there one can relax and enjoy the quiet restful aptmosphere of the
lodge and surrounding cottages. The restaurant is well managed and provides a good food
wine and aselection of vegtables and greens grown in their own garden. It is truly a fantastic get away from the hustle and bustle of Nairobi. We would recommend this venue for couples as well as families wanting to experience the activities such as horseriding and nature walks. The staff was especially attentative and friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Malu.
Larry & Jill Gebelein, El Sobrante, California, USA

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Malu Lodge was great for a quiet weekend away. The rooms were very comfortable and each cabin has its own fire-place and a balcony at the front which is great for enjoying the view. The only drawbacks were the 10km of dirt road to get there and the unexpected unavailability of credit card facilities which made paying at the end a bit difficult.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Dear Starush, thank you for your kind review - I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay. The road access around the Government 'Dairy Training Institute' can sometimes be a little unkempt but I hope that our roads on Malu were acceptable, as we have a constant team on road upkeep. We do accept both Visa and Mastercard at Malu - the credit card companies lines may have been down while you were there, I shall look into it, but we do very much accept them, in fact we generally prefer credit card payments. Once again, thank you for your review and bringing the credit card issue to my attention. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brüssel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Yes, it is quiet. And not much is happening at Malu Lodge. The cottages are beautiful - we were in a very spacious big one woith 2 bedrooms and a great fireplace - and the view is breathtaking. Our two girls (9 and 11) loved the horseriding and we enjoyed the nature walk. The friendly dog Tanga was quickly adopted, temporarily of course.

We just wanted to relax and Malu Lodge is perfect for that purpose. The staff is freindly and helpful. We were the only guests and while we were there a power problem plunged the Club House into darkness. Nevertheless, we had a great candlelight dinner and saw no reason for complaints. We would surely come back should we ever be in the country. Those who are looking for excitement and entertainment, for shops and a choice between 3 different restaurants should avoid it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Thank you for your kind review - I'm sorry about the power failure, it has become the norm in Kenya these days - hopefully our large new generator will be on line very soon, so we won't be totally reliant on the Kenya Power and Lighting Company. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Malu again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I went to Mlau with great expectation to spend a lovely week end in a nice place, with good food and good service.
The place is nice, I can confirm but service and food are really poor and definitely much below the average quality for the rate applied.
Very disappointing also because I wrote to the management to complain and I didn't get any answer.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Dear Nicoletta B. Thank you for your feedback, I don't seem to have received a complaint, but would really like to know more so that I can work on whatever issues affected you, your review isn't very specific - of course such a poor review on Trip Advisor is harsh, especially on value for money, which is what we really believe that we are, so please do try to contact me directly - kim@malu.co.ke I hope we can do better and welcome you back to Malu again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Well its a quiet place so if all you require is quietness then it the place to go. Went for a honeymoon four nights and all I can for say we have paid less for better deals. There is no wow factor to it from the time you arrive.
Staff are friendly and helpful. There is only one menu for meals meaning you dont have choice as there is no variety. We skipped lunch once coz there was nothing to look forward to. If you are African and want heavy food like nyama choma or fried/roasted chicken look elsewhere. The horse ride and nature walk was was ok. The night game drive we were really looking forward to didnt happen as the truck was spoilt for the duration of our stay. The plunge pool is just that, a pool of warm water in the forest, five people in and it will be crowded. Blackout on one entire night.
Thus if you are going there plan for a short stay like a night so that you can have all activities on one day coz on the 2nd day you will be dying for more activities. Thank God it was honey moon coz my husband and I were getting to know each other thus we didnt mind the quiet.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Dear 'Sparks'. Thank you for your review, and I am sorry that Malu is not what you expected. I can't apologise enough for the vehicle being out of action. We are a small lodge, situated in our own private forest sanctuary and peace, quiet and tranquility is what we love, we are not a fast, furious activity lodge, and don't pretend to be, gentle walks and horse rides through the forest is what we offer and a quiet place to read a book and unwind. Our views ARE "WOW!" and so is our forest - the only natural Cedar forest remaining on the East of the Rift Valley - experts say some of our trees are over 2000 years old - it IS "WOW!", our food is a set menu of Italian style, that is because it is fresh and locally produced, on our little farm or by our neighbours, you are quite right, it certainly isn't "nyama choma", but we don't want it to be - sadly many of our negative reviews are from people misunderstanding what we are, our plunge pool is only 25 degrees and is small - BUT it is a natural spring, a flow of warm spring water straight from the Aberdare Mountains, out of the hill right there, into the pool - it is amazing that it is so warm and fresh and beautifully situated in the middle of the forest, guests love it. It is small, or it would not fit in with its natural setting, next to a stream, also spring fed. I do believe, really honestly, Malu is very good value, USD$100 per person, full board, five course meals, on a private 2000 acre sacred ancient forest - though, it is never going to be good value if that is not what you expected - and I apologise, I shall try to be sure that our booking agents make sure that we ensure those that are looking for the fast furious busy holiday are aware that we are quiet and have more to offer families.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed at Malu over the weekend in one of the cottages and had a great time despite the cold weather. The provided lots of firewood for the fire place. The Italian food is good and the service great. We also visited the plunge pool which is a must visit. The donkey carts were quite fascinating though we did not try them out but saw a couple of kids enjoying the rides around the farm.

Malu is a great and quiet get away from Nairobi and excellent especially for kids with free space to room around. They also have farm animals including cows, free range chicken, ducks and sheep. I loved their friendly dogs and cats. Basically a lovely get away from Nairobi. The road was ok but its important to check with them before you take a drive there unless you have a four wheel drive. Great stuff.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu_Lodge_Kenya, Owner at Malu, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Thank you for your generous review. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay at Malu and hope that you will come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairobi
55.8 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 131 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
11.7 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
107.3 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
53.6 mi away
The Ndemi Place
The Ndemi Place
#27 of 131 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
53.2 mi away
Palacina Residence & Suites
8.8 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malu

Address: Naivasha, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Malu!Nestled in an ancient forest with sweeping views over the Great Rift Valley, Malu is a stunning getaway and the perfect base for exploring the Rift Valley and many national parks ...a magical encounter with Africa - just 90 minutes from Nairobi.Malu is a small country hotel offering luxury accommodation, superb service & acclaimed cuisine. On Malu's 1800 acre private forest reserve you have the freedom to walk and ride through one of East Africa's original highland forests, where leopard, buffalo and zebra roam. Our horses & mountain bikes provide a unique close encounter with this untouched wilderness.Malu is a stunning getaway destination as well as a perfect base for excursions to Lake Nakura National Park, Lake Naivasha and Crescent Island, Hell's Gate National Park and Kigio Game Reserve.Malu is a stunning getaway destination as well as a perfect base for excursions to Lake Nakura National Park, Lake Naivasha and Crescent Island, Hell's Gate National Park and Kigio Game Reserve. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Malu Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.