We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Company!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kenya Expresso Tours And Safaris

Kenya Expresso Tours And Safaris
Mombasa Road, Vision plaza 3rd floor Door 10A, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 724 291 139
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 102 activities in Nairobi
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Kenya expresso tours and safaris is a web based travel information center whereby you will get all your requirements fulfilled by its experienced staff at very affordable rates, we offer Nairobi Excursion & Things to do,Masai Mara Safari,amboseli Safari,Tsavo East and West Safari,Lake Nakuru, Lake Naivasha,Samburu Safari.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Company!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Selected this trip based on the TripAdvisor Reviews and was not disappointed. Paul made booking the trip very easy. He was prompt in his responses and gave me lots of details. He even met us at the airport with our guide - great customer service. We did the Amboseli, Lake Nakuru, Masai Mara trip and there is a lot of driving between each park. (bring a pillow) Our driver, Ken, was really safe on the road- not a trait shared by most of the other drivers in Kenya. Ken seemed to have some kind of animal whisperer sense to always get us in the perfect place to see the animal action. (leopards, lions hunting zebra, cheetahs right next to the jeep) Definitely request him if you want an amazing experience. We saw the Big 5 two times over, plus dozens of other animals. You can also add a few extras to the tour- we did the Masai camp and Lake Naivasha boat ride. Both fun, but Lake Naivasha had the best hippo views and waterbirds of the whole trip. Overall: would absolutely recommend everyone book with KET.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul m, Owner at Kenya Expresso Tours And Safaris, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
We feel much humbled by honoring your review.In my case I like to collect various ideas from my clients in order for me to withstand the stiff competition in the market.Through this and also encouragement from my disciplined drivers I am esteemed to give our clients all he best according to our ability.Thank you!Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    25
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect trips to Amboseli and Maasai Mara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We booked a one night stay to Amboseli which was awesome, our drivers name was Francis and he was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Our trip to Maasai Mara was even better. Our driver's name was Patrick and he really went the extra mile to make sure that we got to see everything. We stayed at the Oldarpoi Mara camp which I highly recommend you request. It was the perfect balance of comfort while maintaining a local feel. We had bonfires and homemade meals and the staff made us feel more like friends than customers.

The owner was able to accommodate our requests and make for two excellent trips

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul m, Owner at Kenya Expresso Tours And Safaris, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
I appreciate your effort and time that you took to write down a simple and one among the best reviews.Thank you very much and I welcome you once more to our marvelous country and keep in mind that KETS will always be there to make you feel at home and also ensure that you enjoy the beauty of the country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“KETS safari review, book with them”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We did the private 6day 5 night tour in Kenya. We were met by our driver Lucky who was a wonderful tour guide. We met Paul who we had emails with and organised everything.
Our favourite lodge was Ashnil in Sambaru. The accommodation there is luxury tents. The food at all venues was fresh and there was plenty of choice, especially for a vegetarian. Just be aware that the drive to Masai Mara is a long one with the last 2 hours being on unsealed dirt road. There is an option to fly to Masai Mara. I would recommend doing less parks on this tour and spending more time and the select parks.
Emily

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul m, Owner at Kenya Expresso Tours And Safaris, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
KETS will always give clients maximum support.Thank you Emily despite the long journey you had,for you still acknowledged our effort to make you feel warm.To us all we do is try to make our clients comfortable and make safaris more enjoyable.THANK YOU EMILY.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Would highly recommend this tour company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This company made planning our Kenya Safari very simple. Our entire trip was booked with approximately 2 weeks of planning time. The staff was very helpful, courteous and professional. Our driver Steven was extremely passionate about the animals. Steven truly understood animal behavior which enabled us to see everything we expected and them some. We had also brought stationary and small books to donate to children on our visit. When I mentioned this to Steven he went out of his way to arrange a visit to a local orphanage for us to donate the items. Thank you KETS for an amazing holiday!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul m, Owner at Kenya Expresso Tours And Safaris, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Being Discipline and etiquette is a source of business success in a society.Us as KETS try all our best to have etiquette while having conversations with our clients despite many challenges that we face.we appreciate your effort to see all this in us as a company.You will always have a record in our book of reference.Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent safari, great service and friendly, helpful driver.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Before the trip:
From the first correspondence with Kenya Expresso Tours and Safari (KETS) they provided a great service. I initially contacted KETS a few months before I wanted to do a safari by email to double check prices and availability and Paul responded very promptly (even though it was a Sunday night) and answered all of my questions. Over the next couple of months I contacted Paul a few more times and each time had prompt replies to my questions.

Our Driver, Jackson:
On arrival at Nairobi airport we were met by our driver, Jackson, who was very warm and welcoming. Jackson was incredibly knowledgeable and informative about all aspects of the country. It was great to get a Kenyan perspective on life out there, and Jackson was happy and able to answer all the questions we had. He was a very good driver, and I always felt safe in the vehicle with him, which on the roads in Kenya is something I was grateful for.

Our vehicle:
We opted for the Toyota Land Cruiser 4 X 4 and since there were only two of us (as well as our driver Jackson) it was really spacious. I’m not sure how old the cruiser was, but it was clearly quite a few years old. This wasn’t a problem at all though and the cruiser was pretty comfortable with seatbelts to go around your waist. The other option would have been to pay slightly less and have a Toyota mini van 4 X 4. We saw one of the KETS mini vans on our travels and it looked to be newer than our vehicle and in good condition. Since there were only two of us we could have, in hindsight, opted for the cheaper option, but I don’t regret the decision to go for the cruiser at all. It was a spacious, comfortable option for us, and meant we could keep our bags in the back of the van and access them during the day if we ever needed to.

Jackson had a large radio within the cruiser, something which I imagine most safari tours have, but this enabled him to stay in touch with other safari drivers and find out where the interesting animals were as well as providing a great resource on the long journeys to find out if there were any incidents on the roads to avoid.

Our Safari:
We did the 5 Days 4 Nights Amboseli/Lake Nakuru/Masai Mara safari trip as we wanted to take in as much as possible in a short space of time. It was also really good value for money compared to a lot of other safaris that other companies offered.

This safari would not be everyone’s cup of tea, but it was perfect for us and what we wanted. There is a lot of driving, and we were prepared for that, having noted the long distances between the various parks.

We were picked up at the airport and unfortunately Paul was busy, so he wasn’t able to meet us there to sort out our payment, so we instead drove to meet a company secretary who we paid our fee to (minus the deposit which we had already transferred before our trip.) This exchange was brief, but pleasant. After that, we were on our way to Amboseli. We stopped off for one rest break on the journey and the toilets were very clean; clearly marketed as a stopping point for western tourists. Jackson had told us that the men would try to encourage us to buy souvenirs from their shop (to which the toilets are attached) but they were friendly and not overly pushy as you might imagine. I was glad that Jackson had forewarned us though, and his thoughtfulness of doing this was not the only time he was able to preempt something that might make someone of a different culture feel out of place or uneasy.

On days 1,2 and 3 of our safari we would do a long drive each morning to get to the new park. Most of the time this meant getting an early breakfast and hitting the road. We would stop off for a rest break at some point and every time it was somewhere with clean toilets, (and normally a beautifully stocked souvenir shop), but as before, the salesmen are just friendly and no one was offended when we didn’t buy anything.

We reached the new lodge in time for lunch and would be able to check in and relax before meeting Jackson around 3pm for our safari drive. The drive would last until Sunset when everyone had to be back at their lodge. Day 4 meant that we were able to do an all day safari drive as we stayed put in the Masai Mara, but day 5 was mostly a travelling day back to Nairobi with a stop off at Carnivore for lunch.

The variety of the different parks was great, and we were able to see very different landscapes and different wildlife at each park. For these reasons alone it was a great choice for us. If you do decide to do this option, just be prepared for long drives. I happily dosed for some of the journeys, whilst Jackson never seemed to get tired!

One downside to driving to the Masai Mara which is unavoidable unless you fly there is that the last hour and a half drive before reaching the park entrance is an incredibly bumpy road. It didn’t really bother us, it just meant that the drive was very slow going for the last stint.

The Lodges:
I was expecting the lodges to be a lot more basic than they actually were, but they were wonderful. We stayed at the Ol Tukai Lodge in Amboseli, the Lake Nakuru Lodge in Nakuru and the Sopa Lodge in the Masai Mara. I will do separate reviews of those lodges, but all that is needed to say here is that they surpassed my expectations and we were very happy with the choice of lodges that KETS made for us.

In summary:
We had an amazing trip with Jackson and KETS and couldn’t have wished for a better organised and wonderful experience on safari. If we ever travel to Kenya again we wouldn’t hesitate to use KETS services again and try out some other safaris that they offer.

Thank you so much Jackson, Paul and the rest of the KETS team for making our holiday so memorable for all the right reasons.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul m, Owner at Kenya Expresso Tours And Safaris, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Boom!!!The review surpassed our expectations .KETS team mind about our clients.We try to put confidence to you as a clients because we care and love you.Kenya is a country full of magic things to some extend one might think he is building castles on the air but as you had it,hope you saw light and yet there is more .KETS always try all its best to make our clients dream come true and from the review its all clear.THANK YOU!!!ASANTE SANA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kenya Expresso Tours And Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenya Expresso Tours And Safaris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kenya Expresso Tours And Safaris to your Saves list