We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exprerience with KETS” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kenya Expresso Tours And Safaris

Kenya Expresso Tours And Safaris
Mombasa Road, Vision plaza 3rd floor Door 10A, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 724 291 139
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 102 activities in Nairobi
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Kenya expresso tours and safaris is a web based travel information center whereby you will get all your requirements fulfilled by its experienced staff at very affordable rates, we offer Nairobi Excursion & Things to do,Masai Mara Safari,amboseli Safari,Tsavo East and West Safari,Lake Nakuru, Lake Naivasha,Samburu Safari.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exprerience with KETS”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Not so great. The owner of the company wouldn't accept traveler's checks that we just found out when we arrived in Nairobi. He failed to communicate over a couple of things like this and we ended up wasting time, money, and energy, even though he had enough time (about 2 months prior to our trip date) clarifying things. We ran into some Brits having no problem using traveler's checks in the country. No so straight business practice but our driver, Francis, was a pleasant and patient guy to deal with.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul m, Owner at Kenya Expresso Tours And Safaris, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
We thank you for your review as this helps us to know where we fell short and work on avoiding such scenarios. However, our payments terms and conditions are well explained on our website, but glad that your safari was great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    25
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pijnacker
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent safari with superb guide for a good price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We are a family of four people from the Netherlands that have taken a 5days/6nights safari with KET safari. Before going to Kenya we got in contact with Paul who was very helpful and friendly. No matter what the question, he always replied within ours and everything we wanted to change or vary was possible.

We started our journey with the pick-up from our hotel in Nairobi. The driver/guide was Jackson. He came together with Paul to our hotel and they were a full hour early! This already showed reliability. After getting the introduction from Paul we headed to Masai Mara national park where we stayed two nights. After Masai mara we went to Lake Nakuru, Amboselli and Tsavo East after which Jackson drove us to our Mombasa Hotel.

Jackson was an amazing driver and a knowledgeable superb guide. He always knew where to find the animals, always beat the four of us to seeing them even though he was driving and even spotted animals when we were on the high ways in between the parks. Often we were the first (or one of the first) to find animals. Apart from being a great guide he was also very friendly and trustworthy. He was on time every day and never stopped early even though these were very long days in which sometimes he had to drive for over 10 hours. He also performed an excellent safe when we got a puncture whilst driving over 80 kmph on the 109 highway.

It was an absolutely fabulous experience. We saw the big five within two days and we saw over 50 species and many more birds. We saw many animals including elephants, giraffes, many many buffaloes, gazelles, zebras, ostriches, hyenas, hippos, leopards (one sleeping in a tree), lions (with cubs), cheetahs, white rhinos and a black rhino. Apart from this, we we also lucky to have seen the great migration. Thousands of wilder beasts and zebra's were crossing the mara river and we were right on top of the action. Eventhough we were very hungry and about to have lunch, Jackson was alert and spotted some dust in the air about 5 km away and hurried us back into the jeep. We rushed back to the mara river (passing some other drivers/guides that signaled that nothing was going on) and were just in time to be able to see the crossing of the animals.

One bad point we thought was the boat trip at Lake Naivasha, on route to lake Nakuru. This boad trip was optional and we recommend to remove it as option. The cost were 40 dollar per person, so 160 dollar for four persons. We spend maybe 20 minutes in the boat. We saw some hippo's up close and some birds which was nice. After 20 minutes we went a shore where we went for a walk with a local for about 30 minutes. Then we went back for 10 minutes by boat to the car. That was it. 160 dollars is way too expensive and the whole experience is definitely redundant and not in line with the all the amazing safaris.

The safari was absolutely great and we fear we will never be able to top this experience ever. Jackson was a great part of this experience and we thank most of it to him. Thank you Jackson and thank you Paul for this wonderful experience! We wish you all the best and hope to see you again!

Kind regards,
Dorus, Miriam, Theodoor and Liesbeth

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul m, Owner at Kenya Expresso Tours And Safaris, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you Dorus for your review on our services and glad that your safari and stay in Kenya for those few days was wonderful. We will be delighted to see you again as well! Karibu Sana Kenya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durgapur, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“An excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

On 29th of August I had been to Nairobi with my family & KET safaris organised two tours for me. The trip to NAKURU & MASAIMARA was superb & excellent. Paul the owner is a very professional & competent person. His coordination, arrangement, helpful attitude everything is excellent to us. We are overwhelmed with the treatment. His driver guide Dunkan was also excellent with an always smiling face. The tour to AMBOSOLI was also very good regarding arrangement. But the driver guide here was not exactly..... Anyway that is definitely not a fault of Paul. Overall KET is excellent.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul m, Owner at Kenya Expresso Tours And Safaris, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
We thank you Amit for your review on your safaris. We are glad that you enjoyed both the safaris despite the second driver being not up to the standards that you want, but this allows us to improve on our services in the field in terms of guides'/drivers' services.
Thank you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Helpful, friendly and good value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Took a tour to Masai Mara and Lake Nakuru. We got a big vehicle for ourselves and a nice guide who made sure we saw as many animals as possible.
The company is reliable and good to do deal with. I had planned a second tour with them but had to cancel it. KET returned the whole deposit to my bank account and were friendly and understanding about my situation.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul m, Owner at Kenya Expresso Tours And Safaris, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you Karin for your safari review and it is good that we met your needs and you had a great safari. We will be delighted if you choose to travel with us again in the future.
Thank again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome 2 Weeks With KETS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I've planed this 2 weeks trip with Paul for over 5 months for the 2 of us.Took the advice from this forum and I Am So HAPPY that I did it.Thank you all for your input and advise prior to the trip.About the trip,everything was so PERFECT.Paul & Lucky were waiting by the airport to greet us.One of my luggage was delayed until the next morning,but after that everything went well as planned it.Saw all Big 5 ,4 Crossing and plenty of Lions there.We went to Lake Nakuru didn't have any Flamingos so we took a day trip to go to Lake Bogoria ,and YES a lot of Flamingos even though the water was already a little high already,the main road was not passable..Lake Naivasha Is OK.I would skip the Boat Ride.
Lucky was imaging driver.We had a mini van not exactly 4 WD but didn't stop him to go anywhere.He can spot the animals miles away :) especially the 3 Cheetahs .They were asleep so we waited there for a good half an hour and finally the Baboons chased them away .It was so funny I never got over that .
We visited Amboseli ,Alberdare ,Samburu,Lake Nakuru,Lake Naivasha and Masai Mara.I don't have any negative to say about the company,Good Price and Paul always answers the emails within 12 - 24 Hrs.I would definitely recommended and I will choose KETS again for the next safaris.
If you do Road Safaris like us ,A lot of driving,I would take a mask next time to cover the dust.
Thanks so much my friends and we hope will see you again SOON.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul m, Owner at Kenya Expresso Tours And Safaris, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you Kim for your review on our services and your safari in general. We are happy that you safari went well as planned. Your driver Lucky will be glad to know about your review. It will be our pleasure to offer our services if you choose to travel with us again.
Thank you and welcome back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kenya Expresso Tours And Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenya Expresso Tours And Safaris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kenya Expresso Tours And Safaris to your Saves list