We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 101 hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

I live in Nairobi and visited the hotel for their Sunday brunch and i must admit for a price of $30 per person I wasn't to happy. Generally it is hard to get good value for money for a good meal and I expected more from this hotel, and as per most of the restaurants in Nairobi, we ate at the Big Five restaurant, it fell short and the most shocking thing was that they didn't have hand towels to clean our hands before the meal and we had to visit the bathrooms to have them I cleaned,I personally declined and requested for a hand bowl as I was with my baby, really that's a flaw, the hotel needs to look into that.I am sure never going back :-(

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    199
    98
    33
    29
See reviews for
52
113
34
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

The Ole Sereni is a wonderful hotel. The property has a wonderful location between the airport and the city center (which is very important when one considers Nairobi's legendary traffic), right on the edge of Nairobi National Park. The rooms are well appointed, there is an excellent terrace bar and restaurant that overlooks the game park and the business facilities are exactly what one would expect from a top quality business hotel.

So what is the problem? The staff, though very friendly and eager to help, seem entirely unable to comprehend the concept of time and focus. While holidaymakers might appreciate a leisurely multi-hour breakfast, a business traveler can usually spend 20-30 minutes at most. To wait that long for the cup of coffee you have requested simply means that you must go without. Similarly the chef at the custom egg station seems to think that adding ingredients you didn't ask for is a good thing, which it may be unless you have allergies. And one morning they forgot to lay out the butter at the buffet. Twenty minutes later it still had not arrived so again one had to do without. Also please budget at least an hour to check out. Longer if you intend to pay by credit card. The checkout process involves sending someone up to your room to check the minibar consumption and to ensure you haven't nicked anything of value while you wait at the front desk.

If the hotel can educate its staff about the value of focussed service delivery, it has the potential to become the best hotel in Nairobi. The hard product is excellent, it just needs a bit of a soft product tweak.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

The rooms are big, clean, new and comfortable; you could not ask for better. The staff were helpful and sorted our issues some of the group had with the configuration of the rooms booked. The breakfast was one of the best on our month long tour; big buffet with great choice and quality. There was a party the night of our stay which was a bit noisy for those in the group near the party.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

Located 10 minutes up the main Mombasa Road from JKIA int'l airport, this is a transit hotel or base for those active in the industrial areas southeast of the city, and also hosts local (small scale) meetings downstairs.

Location is the draw for those who need to be in this area, and it is definitely NOT for those who want to go downtown ... another 6km distant and with daytime traffic 30-45 minutes to/from the CBD area directionally depending on time of day and traffic flow.

Nearby buildings are warehouses, showrooms, and some brand new office buildings on Mombasa Road; while the hotel itself sits on a large plot of undeveloped open land 100m off the road by itself. The hotel directly fronts the Nairobi National Park 100 meters away, and one can see Zebra herds etc while you eat. The views and large empty scrubland space of the park makes in-your-face Nairobi seem distant.

There is absolutely nothing of interest within walking distance or nearby, but with two local shopping centers are a few km's in each direction if you need basic supermarket supplies with no traffic jams.

Run by the foreign Sarovar hotel group, the low-rise 4 story building isn't new as it was once upon a time the US Embassy. The building exterior is newly refurbished, as is the interior decor which is very new, modern, and artsy. Overall it has good security, it's clean, there's a 100% back-up generator for the infrequent power cuts, and staff are very friendly and helpful. Room decor and bathrooms is all very new, with flat screen TV, good wi-fi, nice firm mattress, and with it's semi-remote location .... quiet!

This is not a cheap hotel, so breakfast is to decent standard as would be expected; and also offers numerous hearty Swahili style vegetable-only dishes probably new to most people.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

This hotel was one of the best in our many travels if not the single very best! The 5 star service began the moment we arrived to the moment we left, the porter was delightful he spoke Swahili, English and German and went out of his was to impress us which he suceeded in doing. The room was absolutely divine in every way as was the bathroom. The shower was piping hot and so enjoyable, the bed was fresh and comfortable. The internet was fast, and the room service was great!

The restaurant was DIVINE, I highly reccomend you have the 'Lobster Tail' it is well worth the cost, as is everything else on the menu.

I reccomend this hotel and will come back as soon as I can. It was romantic, and also it was on a huge game reserve park, we saw the big 5 from the restaurant as we dined. The hotel is expensive compared to some however it is well worth the cost, and if yo uare on a budget it is worth saving to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

We had a dayroom booked in Karen but the traffic in Mumbai (oops I meant Nairobi which resembles the worst of Mumbai more and more each time we go) was so bad we could not make it back & forth to the hotel in time. I noticed the relatively new Ole Sereni the day before on the way past, and we decided to just show up and see if they could give us a clean place to rest and shower. For that, for $100, it was perfect. Decent room service for a quick snack, effective shower. But the noise blasting through the walls from the hotel bar would have meant zero sleep had we spent the night there. Staff was friendly enought but the check-in and payment process are very inefficient. I will stay there again for a dayroom in between NBO flights to avoid driving in & out of Karen, but I would not stay there overnight. It's nice to have a new option for this purpose.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

It is new, close to the airport and has a nice view of the empty bush. Reception area is cold, idle and tasteless, almost feels like it's not finished/furnished.

There is a bar with the view of the empty bush, the rooms are clean and standard, food is average, breakfast is more on the sweet side (a big buffet).

I remember this hotel as a place where I don't want to go.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.