We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel near JKIA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi to your Saves list
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
fred
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best hotel near JKIA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

Located 10 minutes up the main Mombasa Road from JKIA int'l airport, this is a transit hotel or base for those active in the industrial areas southeast of the city, and also hosts local (small scale) meetings downstairs.

Location is the draw for those who need to be in this area, and it is definitely NOT for those who want to go downtown ... another 6km distant and with daytime traffic 30-45 minutes to/from the CBD area directionally depending on time of day and traffic flow.

Nearby buildings are warehouses, showrooms, and some brand new office buildings on Mombasa Road; while the hotel itself sits on a large plot of undeveloped open land 100m off the road by itself. The hotel directly fronts the Nairobi National Park 100 meters away, and one can see Zebra herds etc while you eat. The views and large empty scrubland space of the park makes in-your-face Nairobi seem distant.

There is absolutely nothing of interest within walking distance or nearby, but with two local shopping centers are a few km's in each direction if you need basic supermarket supplies with no traffic jams.

Run by the foreign Sarovar hotel group, the low-rise 4 story building isn't new as it was once upon a time the US Embassy. The building exterior is newly refurbished, as is the interior decor which is very new, modern, and artsy. Overall it has good security, it's clean, there's a 100% back-up generator for the infrequent power cuts, and staff are very friendly and helpful. Room decor and bathrooms is all very new, with flat screen TV, good wi-fi, nice firm mattress, and with it's semi-remote location .... quiet!

This is not a cheap hotel, so breakfast is to decent standard as would be expected; and also offers numerous hearty Swahili style vegetable-only dishes probably new to most people.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ggggggggggghhhyttfff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

This hotel was one of the best in our many travels if not the single very best! The 5 star service began the moment we arrived to the moment we left, the porter was delightful he spoke Swahili, English and German and went out of his was to impress us which he suceeded in doing. The room was absolutely divine in every way as was the bathroom. The shower was piping hot and so enjoyable, the bed was fresh and comfortable. The internet was fast, and the room service was great!

The restaurant was DIVINE, I highly reccomend you have the 'Lobster Tail' it is well worth the cost, as is everything else on the menu.

I reccomend this hotel and will come back as soon as I can. It was romantic, and also it was on a huge game reserve park, we saw the big 5 from the restaurant as we dined. The hotel is expensive compared to some however it is well worth the cost, and if yo uare on a budget it is worth saving to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuchessRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

We had a dayroom booked in Karen but the traffic in Mumbai (oops I meant Nairobi which resembles the worst of Mumbai more and more each time we go) was so bad we could not make it back & forth to the hotel in time. I noticed the relatively new Ole Sereni the day before on the way past, and we decided to just show up and see if they could give us a clean place to rest and shower. For that, for $100, it was perfect. Decent room service for a quick snack, effective shower. But the noise blasting through the walls from the hotel bar would have meant zero sleep had we spent the night there. Staff was friendly enought but the check-in and payment process are very inefficient. I will stay there again for a dayroom in between NBO flights to avoid driving in & out of Karen, but I would not stay there overnight. It's nice to have a new option for this purpose.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra
Level Contributor
143 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

It is new, close to the airport and has a nice view of the empty bush. Reception area is cold, idle and tasteless, almost feels like it's not finished/furnished.

There is a bar with the view of the empty bush, the rooms are clean and standard, food is average, breakfast is more on the sweet side (a big buffet).

I remember this hotel as a place where I don't want to go.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sister-karamazov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

I have been here for several corporate events, didn't like their food much but thought the Waterhole overlooking the Park was quite romantic for an evening so I came back to try it but for someone trying to have a good time with their loved ones overlooking the national park in the evening, this was the worst choice I made. After booking as early as 9AM, arriving in good time, I hardly got served, everything we asked for was missing and was delayed even with the bill. Needless to say, we had a drink and left. It will take time for me to get over the embarrassment that the evening became.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UrbaneKenyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

Lovely hotel, lovely staff and very clean - buffet breakfast great. not quite in the city centre but nice view of Nairobi gamepark.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

I had a 24 hour over layover in this hotel and was very impressed. In Nairobi we have always stayed at the Intercontinental before which is slicker but this hotel is much closer to the airport and ideal unless you need to be in the city. The hotel is very aesthetically pleasing with a lovely atmosphere. Many of the public areas in the hotel overlook the game reserve. You may or may not see anything. I saw zebras during my short stay. On my first night I had room service on arrival about 10:30 PM and it was excellent. Red snapper on a bed of delicious pasta. The next day I had a late lunch in the bar, food again very good but service friendly but slow. I had to ask for the bill about four times, On checking out in the evening for the flight back to London I was itching to stay as the bar area was buzzing and there were a couple of live jazz musicians. Generally very impressed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gwokypoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.3 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#26 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Panari Hotel
The Panari Hotel
#45 of 145 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
7.1 mi away
67 Airport Hotel
67 Airport Hotel
#34 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
8.6 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#20 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#