We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi to your Saves list
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 115 Hotels in Nairobi
1 review
“Lovely staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Breakfast was splendid...The staff was amazing especially Winfred who offered her guests first class service.she was Jovial and was always up and down in making sure that guests were happy and comfortable....Kudos!!!

Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    239
    111
    42
    32
See reviews for
60
137
43
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Had an enjoyable yet brief overnight stay at the Ole-Sereni as a stopover on a business trip. Arrived late in the evening and was greeted promptly and assisted from the cab and check in was swift. I inquired about an early breakfast to be delivered to the room since we would be leaving early in the morning before the breakfast buffet was served. The hotel staff assured us there would not be any problems and we placed our order with the kitchen. Room service was 15 minutes late before I called to inquire and they assured me it would arrive soon. It did, but I didn't have much time to enjoy it as I only had 5 minutes before I needed to leave to catch my flight. Great location not to far from the airport. I had an upgraded club room which was great, nestled on the edge of the game park and had a nice sitting area facing it. The bathroom was wonderful and overall had very nice amenities. I would definitely stay here again and hopefully longer than just overnight to really enjoy the place. Staff were very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I chose this hotel based on location near the international airport – 15 minutes drive. The hotel arranged my transfer from the airport on arrival (US$25) and were there waiting for me.

I elected for a Club room due to the balcony overlooking Nairobi National Park. Although, the “balcony” was actually inside the room with the windows at the outside edge of the balcony. Lots of birdlife seen but no large mammals.

Efficient and quick check-in and check-out. The bill was accurate.

Room is clean and bed is comfortable.

The restaurant staff could do with providing an explanation of what is available and where/how. Breakfast is self-service and guests were having to ask other guests how it all worked. But the food was good and plentiful. No real continental option – no meats/cheeses.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback.

I am pleased to learn that your stay was pleasant.

I agree with your point on creating more awareness to the guest on what is available in the restaurants. We have addressed this.

We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely place. Pool bar w amazing view of safari park. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great food. Nice shop. Quiet. Good location, close to airport and town. Clean rooms -best with view over safari park. Great gym.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you so much for taking time to share your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Entebbe, Uganda
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The person who made the reservation sent me the confirmation and that's what I presented at check-in. Sadly there was no reservation, apparently, and "we are full tonight". I was encouraged to take a seat and given a refreshing glass of fruit juice, which was appreciated.

A few minutes later and all was resolved, but of course my request for a Smoking Room wasn't possible (because there was no reservation and they're full, remember) and I also got what must be one of the worst rooms available.

When being formally welcomed "for two nights" once it was all sorted out, I did wonder how the receptionist knew the duration of my intended stay if there was no reservation to refer to. Some light questioning revealed a simple answer......"we always have these problems with b**kings.com". Oh well that's fine then, you let those problems continue and the guests can just accept the outcome.

The two emails I'd sent the week previously asking for a Smoking Room didn't get answered and the Receptionist's apology was obviously all I would get at check-in. But thinking back now, if there was no reservation then who would care enough to perhaps write back and explain you can't have a Smoking Room until you've got a reservation, Sir.

For no other reason that I've got too much time on my hands, I will keep re-sending the same request and see how long it takes for a response.

Anyway, that's my gripe over and done with. What about the hotel generally?

A great location in respect of the airport; staff are friendly and efficient; restaurant choices are good but the Ostrich and Lamb are only on the menu to fill the pages and are apparently rarely available.

It's miles from anywhere worth a walk to investigate, and there's a new by-pass being constructed on their door-step. The views of the National Park are stunning and it's a great venue for never seeing any animals - although I did see three Ostriches and wondered whether to mention it to the chef.

And now I've just received an email asking me to complete a survey about my experiences.

This will be fun. Remind me to suggest their "Tuna Mayonnaise Sandwich" should be re-branded on the menu as "two large chunks of tasty bread with a teasing hint of Tuna Mayonnaise"

Room Tip: Check you've really got a reservation. Try to avoid inter-connecting rooms. Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback.

My profound apologies on the ordeal you faced in making reservation and the dining experience.

Ole-Sereni surely does not stand for these levels of service but obviously we failed to deliver it

I have taken stock of all your concerns and we have addressed them and I can assure you that your future experience with us will be of superior quality.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Adjoining the National Park, the hotel has pretty good rooms, multiple dining options and good service. The reception and lobby are though, just about average. While the USP of the hotel is proximity to the National Park, maybe I was unlucky, but did not get to see a single mammal over my 5 days of stay. Locationally, on the highway and offish from the city. Hotel provided taxi charges are astronomical. So, not much flexibility to move around. Good hotel to stay overall

Room Tip: Rooms facing the park are better. Book regular room and pay for upgrade. It works out better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback.

I am pleased to learn that your stay was pleasant.

We are in the process of upgrading our interiors especially when it comes to lobby and reception as you have rightly pointed out.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Abridged Version: Nice hotel, above average rooms, staff v friendly. Food good but not cheap. Would we go back?? - Yes.
Warts 'n' All: We stayed at the Ole Sereni (second time) on New Years Eve, pre safari stopover. The hotel is recovering from the motorway construction next door which is almost complete. This night entertainment was laid on for the New Year. The balcony (overlooking the Nairobi Park) had 'burners' on that kept the guests warm and the insects at bay. Insects here were no problem anyway. No malarial mozzies or tsetse flies here. The wifi was fine in the bar also worked okay in the room - Free and easily activated with room and surname. The bar is spacious and well staffed. Best tip I would say is dont have the restaurant Breakfast - didn't try it as $34 pp for a buffet, so a bit steep. Instead we had the In room service - A photo of the in room menu will be posted with this. For 1000 KSH they did a very good 3 egg omelette with lots of fillings delivered to the room on time. The room was about £130 for double room only.

Room Tip: If you can ask to overlook the Nairobi National Park. Otherwise you'll be overlooking the road u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking time to share your positive feedback.

We are pleased to learn that your stay was a pleasant one and thank you for choosing Ole-Sereni as the venue for New Year Eve.

We wish you a Brilliant 2015 and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#17 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.