We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good security and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi to your Saves list
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 120 Hotels in Nairobi
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good security and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

We were transmitting thru Nairobi so only stayed 12 hours, so did not have a chance to fully experience the hotel. We did have dinner at the Big 5 restaurant where some of the meals were very good - beef and pizza - and some not so good - tuna. Our room was small and cramped, but clean. The most impressive was the security presence - bag checks and metal detectors. This is fairly standard in a Nairobi and key to ensuring safety of tourists. The other outstanding element was the staff who were very friendly and helpful. This hotel is a good option closer to the international airport.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
I thank you for taking time to share your positive review.

Security is our prime focus and we continue to ensure that our guests feel safe and secured. We thank you for acknowledging it.

I have taken note of your concern on the food quality and room layout. We will address it right away.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    251
    117
    44
    32
See reviews for
64
147
43
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We were moved three times trying to find a room that did not have remnants of someone smoking. Even in non-smoking rooms. We were moved a fourth time when it turned out that the third room was close to the pool area, and that they have live music (a band) on Sunday which was loud. A large local crowd arrives for the buffet on Sunday, and they make use of the pool area - leaving no chaises for guests of the hotel. We sat in the pool area at a table for 15 minutes are were never acknowledged by the bar staff. We left. They also wanted to charge us to print boarding passes in the business center , and the key cards were problematic. The food was simply okay. I will say that most of the staff is congenial, and the room was clean and the amenities were nice.
We chose this hotel for its proximity to the airport because traffic in Nairobi can be a nightmare. We had a late night flight and paid for two nights. This hotel was not inexpensive by any means. So if you are looking for a one night stay before leaving Nairobi , this would work. I would not recommend for any length of time, or for any other purpose.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your stay feedback.

My profound apologies on the series of inconveniences you faced starting from changing of rooms to slow service. It is unacceptable by any standards.

We assure you that these concerns are dealt with and we request you to reconsider our services in future.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhout, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Arrived early morning and rooms were already available. After visit to Nairobi national park an excellent buffet was organised on the terrace. Very friendly staff overall. Rooms a bit small. Good location close to airport and good security measures.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
I thank you for posting your positive review and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

A one night stay after arriving into Nairobi airport via a poor quality Business Class BA flight (my wife and I were not permitted to sit beside each other) from London helped to restore our good spirits at the start of an anniversary holiday in Africa.

This hotel is 15 minutes drive from the airport, in a carefully protected area. The rooms and hotel are very good, relative to what I imagine is the standard of other local hotels. While we did not avail of any hotel facilities (eg pool), the breakfast service was perfectly acceptable. We would certainly be happy to stay here again if we had to lay overnight in Nairobi.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your positive feedback.

I am glad you enjoyed our product and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

The Ole Sereni is a mandatory room while travelling from Kenya to Mozambique and back. It is an okay hotel, with all amenities and a nice terrasse outside. But the rules of the hotel and the staff's level of experience and hospitality is average. We had many things to complain about when trying to resolve a question of taxi. Their taxi to take you to the other side of town, a 3-40 minutes ride, costs a 100 dollars. We had ask them to call us a secure company that would charge us a decent price, they refused to helps us find a cab company. And we knew there was a lot of secure companies, given the importance of such a city for travelers. We had to find our own way, and we called the restaurant, Talisman to help us. They gave us the number of steve their usual taxi. Half the price and perfect service! The hotel would not move a finger. And it is quite expensive too! I dont know why exactly? is it because it is a mandatory and unique choice? Not good enough.

Room Tip: Park view room are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your stay feedback.

On your concern related to our travel services, our charges are at par with any other good hotel in Nairobi. We do discourage our guests to use local taxi as we care about their security.

This is surely NOT a trick to make money or to discourage our guests but purely due to security. On the count of our staff not assisting you in finding an alternate source is not acceptable and for that, we do apologize.

I will take it up with the team right away.

I sincerely hope you will reconsider our services during your future travels to this part of of the world and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This is an excellent hotel not far from the airport. Traffic moves very slowly in Nairobi, so we were very glad that we stayed outside the center of the city. We spent 2 nights at the Ole Sereni hotel at the start of our Kenya trip and one night at the end.

The breakfast buffet is very nice, and there are plenty of options for lunch and dinner. We enjoyed looking out on the Nairobi National Park, sighting several birds and mammals. Our room was quiet and the bed was very comfortable. Would be happy to stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
I thank you so much for sharing your positive feedback.

It's always a treat to learn that the guest enjoyed their stay.

We look forward to having you with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We had a quick layover (day rate) here on our way home from Safari. I believe it is the closest hotel to the airport (5-10 min drive). We were upgraded to a suite and really only had enough time to shower and have lunch. The service is ok (slow at the front desk and restaurant) and the food was quite good. Overall, I would say it is a decent airport hotel and served its purpose. Interiors are a little dated but the most important thing is that this property was convenient to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback.

I am glad your stay was pleasant apart from slow service levels which we are being addressed.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#17 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.