We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eagles bar : great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
New Delhi, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Eagles bar : great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The eagles bar on the 4th floor of the hotel offers amazing views of the national park. And if you're lucky may be a few gazels or giraffes as well. The wine and cocktail collection is amazing. The place really has its charm during the sunset hours !

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for taking time to give us your positive review.

Eagle's is truly a treat for any diner especially with the breathtaking views it offers.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    204
    103
    35
    29
See reviews for
54
118
34
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

It's a nice hotel, though currently facing a highway under construction. The rooms are nice though a bit compact. The service is good. It's well located if you want to get to the airport while avoiding the traffic.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the national park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for taking time to give us your positive feedback.

We do apologize on the noise pollution from the roads construction. We believe its a month or two away from completion.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Great place at a nice location. Good for relaxation as well as business. Good food, friendly staff, great view of Nairobi National Park. Overall a great place to have some fun with friends or family.
We are regulars at Ole Sereni.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
I thank you for taking time to give us your positive review.

It's always good to hear from a satisfied guest and moreover that you are our regular.

We will continue to deliver better service on your future visits and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This hotel has an amazing location sharing a fence with Nairobi national park. Sit at the open air restaurant and you will most likely see some wildlife, most Ostrich but if you are lucky Giraffes as well. Good food, good service. Hotel will also arrange a game drive for a price.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for taking time to give us your positive review.

I am very pleased to learn that your stay was memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Driving past this hotel I didn't think much of it but once we got inside it was beautiful.
I stayed here for 1 night with my sister and my dad as our flight to Tanzania left very early the next morning.
We ate lunch and dinner in the hotel and both were very nice.
The buffet lunch had lots of variety and the balcony had a nice view over the game park.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Rooms were very clean and quite roomy i though. Everything was well stocked and the tv had a good variety of channels. Not a lot of sound proofing though, I could hear the people next to us and above us all night but it didnt bother me too much.
The gift shop was very good as well. Not overpriced and still had a good variety of knick knacks for sale

Room Tip: Ask for one that overlooks the game park. Its nice to look out the window and see something run past
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback.

We are in the process of installing sound proof windows.

I am truly pleased to hear that your stay was pleasant and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The hotel had been chosen by our Travel Company for an overnight stay before flying onto Tanzania. Unfortunately our flight did not arrive in Nairobi until 9.45pm so we arrived at the Hotel around 11.15pm, in the dark, which is not the best way of seeing it.
The hotel was well situated, with guarded gate and strangely enough an airport type security scanner for baggage at the reception entrance.
We were all very tired and the hassle of booking in did nothing to endear us to the Hotel. It was slow to the extreme despite there being four desk positions, but only two attended, I suspect it was lack of staff.
Everything got worse, since the electronic door keys failed to work and this meant a queue of guests at reception attempting to get assistance to enter their rooms.
You soon found out that everything is quite laid back and a "hurry-up" mentality just does not exist.
The room we were given however was the Masai Suite which was just heavenly but we could not open the windows due to the mosquitos and other flying insects.
Also having to be collected at 6am the following morning did nothing to allow us to appreciate this great ex-American Embassy building.
I am told that a game park comes right up to the Hotel but being dark on arrival and departure, nothing could be seen.
Under other circumstances, I am sure this Hotel would be great, we just hit the ground running so did not have the chance to experience the pleasures and daylight.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

My sincere apologies on the series of inconveniences you faced during the check-in process.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greatexpectationss
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

A very disappointing visit.....

Staff were slow and inattentive, and tried to overcharge me in many ways, from food i had not ordered, to overcharging certain items.

So i left disappointed and it got worse after that. The overall bill was put through multiple times on my card. I believe that this was done deliberately based on the earlier unsuccessful attempt to overcharge me.

No response from the hotel when i wrote to complain.

There are far better options in Nairobi - I suggest you go elsewhere or pay in cash. Do not trust this establishment with your credit card.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback.

In regards to your complain we did investigate the matter and strict corrective measures have been taken to ensure they are not repeated.

We sincerely hope that we don't lose you as our guest and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#17 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.