We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ashly Jacob” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi to your Saves list
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ashly Jacob”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Great place at a nice location. Good for relaxation as well as business. Good food, friendly staff, great view of Nairobi National Park. Overall a great place to have some fun with friends or family.
We are regulars at Ole Sereni.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AshlyJacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
I thank you for taking time to give us your positive review.

It's always good to hear from a satisfied guest and moreover that you are our regular.

We will continue to deliver better service on your future visits and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has an amazing location sharing a fence with Nairobi national park. Sit at the open air restaurant and you will most likely see some wildlife, most Ostrich but if you are lucky Giraffes as well. Good food, good service. Hotel will also arrange a game drive for a price.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Amolfromdelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for taking time to give us your positive review.

I am very pleased to learn that your stay was memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Driving past this hotel I didn't think much of it but once we got inside it was beautiful.
I stayed here for 1 night with my sister and my dad as our flight to Tanzania left very early the next morning.
We ate lunch and dinner in the hotel and both were very nice.
The buffet lunch had lots of variety and the balcony had a nice view over the game park.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Rooms were very clean and quite roomy i though. Everything was well stocked and the tv had a good variety of channels. Not a lot of sound proofing though, I could hear the people next to us and above us all night but it didnt bother me too much.
The gift shop was very good as well. Not overpriced and still had a good variety of knick knacks for sale

Room Tip: Ask for one that overlooks the game park. Its nice to look out the window and see something run past
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The hotel had been chosen by our Travel Company for an overnight stay before flying onto Tanzania. Unfortunately our flight did not arrive in Nairobi until 9.45pm so we arrived at the Hotel around 11.15pm, in the dark, which is not the best way of seeing it.
The hotel was well situated, with guarded gate and strangely enough an airport type security scanner for baggage at the reception entrance.
We were all very tired and the hassle of booking in did nothing to endear us to the Hotel. It was slow to the extreme despite there being four desk positions, but only two attended, I suspect it was lack of staff.
Everything got worse, since the electronic door keys failed to work and this meant a queue of guests at reception attempting to get assistance to enter their rooms.
You soon found out that everything is quite laid back and a "hurry-up" mentality just does not exist.
The room we were given however was the Masai Suite which was just heavenly but we could not open the windows due to the mosquitos and other flying insects.
Also having to be collected at 6am the following morning did nothing to allow us to appreciate this great ex-American Embassy building.
I am told that a game park comes right up to the Hotel but being dark on arrival and departure, nothing could be seen.
Under other circumstances, I am sure this Hotel would be great, we just hit the ground running so did not have the chance to experience the pleasures and daylight.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bowdlerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

My sincere apologies on the series of inconveniences you faced during the check-in process.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greatexpectationss
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

A very disappointing visit.....

Staff were slow and inattentive, and tried to overcharge me in many ways, from food i had not ordered, to overcharging certain items.

So i left disappointed and it got worse after that. The overall bill was put through multiple times on my card. I believe that this was done deliberately based on the earlier unsuccessful attempt to overcharge me.

No response from the hotel when i wrote to complain.

There are far better options in Nairobi - I suggest you go elsewhere or pay in cash. Do not trust this establishment with your credit card.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank greatexpectationss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback.

In regards to your complain we did investigate the matter and strict corrective measures have been taken to ensure they are not repeated.

We sincerely hope that we don't lose you as our guest and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Recently in Nairobi and we selected the Ole Sereni; close to the airport, was the former US embassy with tight security and is quite stunning. The best part is that it overlooks the National Game Park and we saw giraffe while having breakfast. I found the staff accommodating.

Room Tip: try for a room overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bevf4967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The view from the hotel is absolutely stunning and the service quality is great. I stayed at the hotel for three nights for business and I will return if my road leads back to Kenya. I did however expect more from a 5 star property - everything is on par with a 3/4 star property. Room was clean, restaurant was good quality and good wifi, but nothing exceptional...

Good location to the airport.

Room Tip: Task for a room with a view of the National Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aucamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your positive review.

We are in the process of adding value on all levels of hotel operations and I am sure your future visits will be memorable.We look forward to welcoming you. back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.3 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#26 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Panari Hotel
The Panari Hotel
#45 of 145 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
7.1 mi away
67 Airport Hotel
67 Airport Hotel
#34 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
8.6 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#20 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing