We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks much nicer on the inside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi to your Saves list
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 110 Hotels in Nairobi
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Looks much nicer on the inside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Driving past this hotel I didn't think much of it but once we got inside it was beautiful.
I stayed here for 1 night with my sister and my dad as our flight to Tanzania left very early the next morning.
We ate lunch and dinner in the hotel and both were very nice.
The buffet lunch had lots of variety and the balcony had a nice view over the game park.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Rooms were very clean and quite roomy i though. Everything was well stocked and the tv had a good variety of channels. Not a lot of sound proofing though, I could hear the people next to us and above us all night but it didnt bother me too much.
The gift shop was very good as well. Not overpriced and still had a good variety of knick knacks for sale

Room Tip: Ask for one that overlooks the game park. Its nice to look out the window and see something run past
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback.

We are in the process of installing sound proof windows.

I am truly pleased to hear that your stay was pleasant and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    230
    108
    40
    32
See reviews for
59
132
39
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The hotel had been chosen by our Travel Company for an overnight stay before flying onto Tanzania. Unfortunately our flight did not arrive in Nairobi until 9.45pm so we arrived at the Hotel around 11.15pm, in the dark, which is not the best way of seeing it.
The hotel was well situated, with guarded gate and strangely enough an airport type security scanner for baggage at the reception entrance.
We were all very tired and the hassle of booking in did nothing to endear us to the Hotel. It was slow to the extreme despite there being four desk positions, but only two attended, I suspect it was lack of staff.
Everything got worse, since the electronic door keys failed to work and this meant a queue of guests at reception attempting to get assistance to enter their rooms.
You soon found out that everything is quite laid back and a "hurry-up" mentality just does not exist.
The room we were given however was the Masai Suite which was just heavenly but we could not open the windows due to the mosquitos and other flying insects.
Also having to be collected at 6am the following morning did nothing to allow us to appreciate this great ex-American Embassy building.
I am told that a game park comes right up to the Hotel but being dark on arrival and departure, nothing could be seen.
Under other circumstances, I am sure this Hotel would be great, we just hit the ground running so did not have the chance to experience the pleasures and daylight.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

My sincere apologies on the series of inconveniences you faced during the check-in process.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greatexpectationss
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

A very disappointing visit.....

Staff were slow and inattentive, and tried to overcharge me in many ways, from food i had not ordered, to overcharging certain items.

So i left disappointed and it got worse after that. The overall bill was put through multiple times on my card. I believe that this was done deliberately based on the earlier unsuccessful attempt to overcharge me.

No response from the hotel when i wrote to complain.

There are far better options in Nairobi - I suggest you go elsewhere or pay in cash. Do not trust this establishment with your credit card.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback.

In regards to your complain we did investigate the matter and strict corrective measures have been taken to ensure they are not repeated.

We sincerely hope that we don't lose you as our guest and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Recently in Nairobi and we selected the Ole Sereni; close to the airport, was the former US embassy with tight security and is quite stunning. The best part is that it overlooks the National Game Park and we saw giraffe while having breakfast. I found the staff accommodating.

Room Tip: try for a room overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The view from the hotel is absolutely stunning and the service quality is great. I stayed at the hotel for three nights for business and I will return if my road leads back to Kenya. I did however expect more from a 5 star property - everything is on par with a 3/4 star property. Room was clean, restaurant was good quality and good wifi, but nothing exceptional...

Good location to the airport.

Room Tip: Task for a room with a view of the National Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your positive review.

We are in the process of adding value on all levels of hotel operations and I am sure your future visits will be memorable.We look forward to welcoming you. back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

While the hotel itself was OK, the service was really not good.

- I made the reservation online. When I needed to add another night, and another guest, I had to make multiple phone calls. I was told that the reservations dept doesn't deal with internet bookings. How can they not deal with bookings made on their own website?? When they finally agreed to add a night as one off thing, I had to call 3 times before they finally emailed me a confirmation.

- On arrival I was told I can't get a twin room (even though I had a guest joining on the second night). Was told I could have a king, and switch to a twin on the second night. I was then led to a smoking room. The bell boy (who was very good by the way) then called, and got me transferred to a non-smoking twin room. Apparently they did have twin rooms!!

- That night I dined at the eagles restaurant. I was sat and told that it would take a while to take my order. Someone finally showed up after 10 minutes!! This is the fine dining restaurant. I was given an iPad to order drinks. I ordered one. Nothing came. The waiter then told me the iPad system doesn't work. Why give me one in the first place??

- On checkout, I was given a really confusing bill, which didn't add up to the total I was being charged. I even had to go back to the reception and they finally gave me an itemised bill, albeit still very confusing.

Room Tip: Park view, non-smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback.

We truly apologize for the inconveniences you had faced and assure you that your future stays will be memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Ole Sereni is close to the airport, has amazing service for travellers - from the friendly and helpful porters to the quick and efficient desk staff. I stayed one night which was a pit because my trip was very rushed. However for a business traveller the restauart is open 24 hours so breakfast before the very early flight is a possibility. Ask for a park facing room so you can see the animals in the morning (I hear but had a city facing room). Clean and well furnished rooms although the one bedroom was a tad small for my liking. The bathroom kind of feels like its inside the bedroom. Overall though about 10 minutes away from the airport (20 in some traffic) and I will definitely be staying there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a door away from the passage entry door - the sound of cards in that door kept me awake for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
I thank you for taking time to share your positive experience.

We are truly pleased to know that your stay was memorable and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.