We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, watch the charges” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great location, watch the charges”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

If you need a hotel that is close to airport, serves excellent food, and you want a view over the national Park, then this is the place for you. The hotel is on the expensive side for Nairobi Hotels, but it has been built to high standards. What can let it down is the level of service, and the price of breakfast, and other services.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

We do apologise for the service delays you experienced and we are addressin this concern right away.

We request you to reconsider our services during your future stays as it will be assured of superior levels.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    190
    93
    33
    28
See reviews for
49
109
33
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I learned about the hotel from friends in the US that stayed there during their honeymoon. From an architectural design perspective, I was impressed since I was born in Kenya and have been to several hotels there, I liked how this was modern with African elements and using green design as compared to other luxury hotels I've been to.

I'd booked a room for my 10th wedding annivery but cancelled via email way ahead in order to avoid getting charged. I still got charged 4 days before I was due to check in. I emailed the Reservation Officer who forwarded my request to someone else to handle it. I received an email saying that the charges would be reverted back. But they never did!

I called the hotel and spoke to 1 person who said they'd verify my information after I'd forwarded them previous email correspondence. She promised to call me back in 5 minutes, I didn't here from her. After 20 minutes, I called back and was told this person had left for the day. Then I explained my situation to another person, she said they had the emails but they needed to wait until the original manager came back to work. By then I had a family medical emergency and needed a room for my father before he could be checked into Aga Khan hospistal to see a specialist. I was told by the reservation manager on duty that I'd preferred to use the payment for a room at the hotel since they'd already charged me. She (Catherine) explained to me that the original charge was only a hold. I told her that that's not the case because my bank distingueshes holds and charges differently, however I'd wait and see after my father's stay to make sure that it was adjusted correctly.

Once my father checked out, I was billed AGAIN. I've sent emails requesting my bill to be corrected and I haven't heard from anyone. I've delt with 6 people about this issue and even had to show up in person to deal with it. It would be nice to have someone actually follow through and do something right. I've seen similar complaints about double billing, I would hope the hotel has someone that verifies entries and ensures good customer service.

Room Tip: You either get the highway under construction or the view to the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

My profound apologies on the billing error you faced.

I have taken stock of your cocerns with my team and my apologies once agaon in the delayed reponse on the refund.

I understand that the refund has been made yesterday (6th Jan).

I sincerely hope you will reconsider our services in future.

We look forward tow elcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

While visiting Kenya for a family wedding in December ‘13, I decided to stay at Ole Sereni because of location. Set on the edge of Nairobi National Park, this hotel really gives you the feeling like you’re not in Nairobi, yet a short drive takes you into the city centre.

Facilities are great including a pool, gym, lounge bar, several dining options, business centre and free Wi-Fi throughout the complex.

The room was clean and very well presented with views overlooking the National Park.

Staff were polite and service was impressive, as expected from a hotel of this calibre.

Transfers via the hotel's shuttle service to Nairobi Airport was only 10mins meaning we had enough time to enjoy a perfectly cooked steak and a bottle of red wine...

Will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Nairobi

Room Tip: Book a National Park facing room... Views are amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for taking time to give us your positive review.

We are pleased that you found our services upto mark.

We look forward to welcoming you back and wish you a Brilliant 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Delaware
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

After a day of travelling it was nice to come to the Ole-Sereni upon arriving in Kenya. The hotel is close to the airport with a very attentive staff. The rooms are nicely appointed with roomy bathrooms. Not a great view from the room, however the view from the bar terrace was great. The hotel is adjacent to a game park, so you'll never know what animal surprises you may see.

The restaurant has a great menu selection and is very good service. Fee Wi-Fi, too (an added benefit). I would definitely stay here again at my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
I sincerely thank you for your positive feedback.

I am pleased to learn that your stay was a pleasant one.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilongwe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I stayed here the night of December 17th with my wife and 3-year old son. We had a good room, good service, and decent food. It was easy to get to from the airport and the construction noise wasn't an issue. In general we had a good experience here.

But, when I checked my credit card bill a few days later, I noticed that we had been billed for our room twice. Basically, the pre-authorization done at check-in had been charged to my credit card as well as the final bill upon check-out. I have been trying to get this charge reversed unsuccessfully for the last five days. The hotel was initially responsive saying they would look into the matter but did not provide any additional information or respond to a follow up email and so I had to call them. Right now, I have been told by the hotel that maybe this issue will be resolved by the end of the week.

So, what might have been a 3 or 4 star review has been reduced to one star due to this double-billing issue. I will revise my review a bit if the issue is resolved but I view this is a significant failing of the hotel - to incorrectly overcharge their clients, and would recommend anyone who doesn't want this to happen to avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for park side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

I fully agree with your frustration on the double charge on your credit card and we have taken this issue up very sharply with our bank and await their revert.

Please allow us to respond as we want this inconvenience to be resolved.

We thank you for your patience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalsmeer
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

On tuesday's and Saturday's they have a special price in the restaurant on the 4th floor which is highly recommendable.
The manager also provides with a nice gathering every week or so including drinks and a bite for guests to enjoy and get to know each other.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view on the park are nice, but with the restaurant/ bar open 24/7 it is recommended not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your positive review.

We are pleased to hear that your stay was pleasant.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, right next to the national park. The rooms are basic, but clean and without problems.

The restaurants serve good food and it's not too expensive.

The only real gripe is with the reception staff who really don't seem to know what they're doing. Both checking in and checking out were painful experiences, with "computer problems" blamed on both occasions. I had to leave without my bill as they were unable to resolve in time and had to call "IT" - who never came.

This hotel could be so much better if the right calibre of people were employed - or appropriate training given to existing staff

All around the hotel was building works, so very noisy and dusty when I stayed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

My profound apologies on the inconvenience you faced at the Reception.

I have taken this matter up with the department and we assure you superior level of services during your future visits.

I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jovago.com, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.