We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel on a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel on a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

The Ole Sereni is a nice hotel close to the airport and located on the edge of the Nairobi NP. We used this hotel to spend our last night in Kenya and eave to the airport early morning for our flight back home. For that purpose this hotel is great.

They have a couple of good restaurants that aren't too expensive. The food taste very good.
The rooms are not big but hey, you only come there to sleep. It is decorated very nice and the room is nice and clean.

Since we left the hotel before breakfast we ordered our breakfast on the room (with no extra costs). They were nice on time with the breakfast and the taste was also good.
Check in and check out went very smoothly.

Overall this is a nice (transfer) hotel and perfect for your first and/or last night of your holiday or to use as a business hotel.

Chantal & Remi

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
I sincerely thank you for taking time to give us your positive feedback.

I am very pleased to learn that your stay was pleasant.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    204
    103
    36
    29
See reviews for
54
118
34
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Thanks to the General Manager, Ghulam Samdani and his courteous staff we had a wonderful Thanksgiving dinner prepared by Executive Chef, Kevin Baron, Kevin prepared a Thanksgiving turkey with all the trimmings we would have expected from a family dinner at home. He prepared an area near the pool and six US Service members joined us in the beautifully set traditional American event, It was a great opportunty of my wife Kathy and I who have been living in Africa for two years now, to meet other Americans.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
I sincerely thank you for taking time to acknowledge our efforts.

Thanksgiving is a landmark day in the American calendar - A day to spend with Family & Friends.

We are very pleased that we were able to add value of this day during your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purrmerend
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

If you have a room on the park side, it;s not too bad, but if you are sleeping, more like trying to sleep on the other side, it's terrible. They are building new highway right next to your room. The windows don't close properly, do I need to say more. I would give this hotel a pass and move on.

Room Tip: try to get room on the park side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your review.

My profound apologies on the noise pollution from the roads. To kill this issue, we are in the process of installing 'Sound Proof' windows across all guest rooms.

I can assure you that your future stays will experience a noise free envorinment.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights at this hotel, and found it very convenient for the international airport, though Wilson whilst close can take quite a while on a busy traffic morning! We liked the rooms on both the park side and the city side, and surpisingly with the massive road construction on the city side we were not bothered by noise.

The food was good and the general standard of service excellent, the only exception being the archaic and incredibly long winded check in and check out, also the dreadfully slow service in the bar at lunch times. This can you can almost forgive as it is all accompanied with a huge smile

Room Tip: Park side very nice but dearer
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

I am very pleased to know that your stay was memorable.

We have noted your concerns on slow check-in and service in the bar. These will be addressed right away.

We look forward to welcoming you back,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The hotel has great ambiance, tastefully decorated and the staff are excellent and very friendly. I felt welcomed and was treated very well.

The food is amazing, lots of variety and very tasty. Good job.

The restaurant overlooks the Nairobi National Park and this gives the hotel a feel of being in the wild yet it is right in the city. It was good to see some Giraffe in the distance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
I thank you for taking time to give us your positive reviews.

I am very pleased to learn that you felt the warmth of our hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed at Ole Sereni for 1 night in transit from safari to UK. Hotel arranged transfers ($35 each way) and this was all very smooth with the driver waiting when we arrived even though our flight was delayed. Ole Sereni is about 10 - 15 mins from JKI airport and avoids the nightmare traffic entailed by staying in Central Nairobi. Best to request Park View room as opposed to view of building site. The room was large and well equipped and there is no additional charge for room service. Rooms have good WiFi (free). Recommend earplugs as, being an airport hotel, there is coming and going at all hours. We requested a late checkout but this was unavailable due to being fully booked. Hotel organised a trip to Elephant orphanage which was excellent and good value at $80 for the driver to take us there, wait with us for over an hour whilst watching the presentation and baby elephants, and return us through nightmare traffic in a nice airconditioned car. We ate in the Waterhole bar twice - food very good - large portions and not expensive. It was nice to sit outside and look out over the Nairobi Game Reserve but we did not see very much. Security good throughout and would recommend to anyone transiting Nairobi.

Room Tip: Park view is quieter as other side has construction and road - Higher is better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to give us your positive feedback.

I am pleased you enjoyed our product and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

There is a constant cacophony of noise from a road being constructed outside and the cleaners who are quite happy to Hoover outside your room early in the morning even though the "do-not-disturb sign is up".
Asking for drinks in the bar in the evenings depends which waiter you get as to whether they have your beverage of choice or not. Drinks orders can take 40 minutes to materialise, even when there are only two other customers there.
General attitude of the hotel is to be lazy and unhelpful.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your feeback.

My profound apologies on the inconveniences you faced on the slow service and the noise on the floors.

I have taken this concers with my team and we will ensure they are not repeated going forward.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.