We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi to your Saves list
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Weekend offer of $ 199
Ranked #23 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Seaford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A very comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights at this hotel, and found it very convenient for the international airport, though Wilson whilst close can take quite a while on a busy traffic morning! We liked the rooms on both the park side and the city side, and surpisingly with the massive road construction on the city side we were not bothered by noise.

The food was good and the general standard of service excellent, the only exception being the archaic and incredibly long winded check in and check out, also the dreadfully slow service in the bar at lunch times. This can you can almost forgive as it is all accompanied with a huge smile

Room Tip: Park side very nice but dearer
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

I am very pleased to know that your stay was memorable.

We have noted your concerns on slow check-in and service in the bar. These will be addressed right away.

We look forward to welcoming you back,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    214
    103
    38
    32
See reviews for
57
126
35
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mombasa, Kenya
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The hotel has great ambiance, tastefully decorated and the staff are excellent and very friendly. I felt welcomed and was treated very well.

The food is amazing, lots of variety and very tasty. Good job.

The restaurant overlooks the Nairobi National Park and this gives the hotel a feel of being in the wild yet it is right in the city. It was good to see some Giraffe in the distance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
I thank you for taking time to give us your positive reviews.

I am very pleased to learn that you felt the warmth of our hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed at Ole Sereni for 1 night in transit from safari to UK. Hotel arranged transfers ($35 each way) and this was all very smooth with the driver waiting when we arrived even though our flight was delayed. Ole Sereni is about 10 - 15 mins from JKI airport and avoids the nightmare traffic entailed by staying in Central Nairobi. Best to request Park View room as opposed to view of building site. The room was large and well equipped and there is no additional charge for room service. Rooms have good WiFi (free). Recommend earplugs as, being an airport hotel, there is coming and going at all hours. We requested a late checkout but this was unavailable due to being fully booked. Hotel organised a trip to Elephant orphanage which was excellent and good value at $80 for the driver to take us there, wait with us for over an hour whilst watching the presentation and baby elephants, and return us through nightmare traffic in a nice airconditioned car. We ate in the Waterhole bar twice - food very good - large portions and not expensive. It was nice to sit outside and look out over the Nairobi Game Reserve but we did not see very much. Security good throughout and would recommend to anyone transiting Nairobi.

Room Tip: Park view is quieter as other side has construction and road - Higher is better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to give us your positive feedback.

I am pleased you enjoyed our product and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

There is a constant cacophony of noise from a road being constructed outside and the cleaners who are quite happy to Hoover outside your room early in the morning even though the "do-not-disturb sign is up".
Asking for drinks in the bar in the evenings depends which waiter you get as to whether they have your beverage of choice or not. Drinks orders can take 40 minutes to materialise, even when there are only two other customers there.
General attitude of the hotel is to be lazy and unhelpful.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your feeback.

My profound apologies on the inconveniences you faced on the slow service and the noise on the floors.

I have taken this concers with my team and we will ensure they are not repeated going forward.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

My wife and i stayed at Ole Sereni on two occasions, both were fantastic. Great food, great service by all staff and they were very accommodating when we needed the room till late in the day. This place is a must if you are in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Chose a room that faces the Nairobi National Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your positive review.

I am very pleased that your stay was pleasant.

We look forward to welcoming you both back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbourne, england
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and really enjoyed the hotel, the main attraction being its location, its right next to the game park. Consequently we breakfasted watching zebra, herds of buffalo and an amazing variety of bird life and with binoculars the giraffe were visible, wonderful!
The service was generally good, the staff were lovely, the bed was a bit hard for my other half, but fine for me, the food was good particularly breakfast, great choice and wonderful fruit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

We are pleased that your stay was a pleasant one.

We are in the process of changing the bed mattress.

I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Arriving around 4am to this hotel felt suitably exotic in the quiet pre-dawn. We loved our clean, comfortable room overlooking the park. We found all staff were very friendly. We enjoyed the food very much. The iced tea with syrup on the side was delicious! The breakfasts were really good. Restaurant service was a little uneven, though. We had fun shopping in the gift shop. We liked the decor and the vibrant atmosphere created by the variety of people passing through the hotel.

The best were our three days of safari, arranged by the hotel. Two days at Nairobi National Park, and one at Nakuru. Some of the most memorable days of our lives. We met our guide Benson through the hotel, and he was beyond outstanding. Among so many other breathtaking highlights, he found a group of eleven lions, who were walking right toward us, then past us, then just beyond, where they took down a zebra, in Nairobi National Park.

The hotel may be popular for a stopover, but there is also the opportunity for a great safari experience right from this convenient and beautiful place.

Room Tip: Facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
I thank you for taking time to give us your positive review.

I am truly pleased that your stay was memorable and that we were a part of making it happen.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.