We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfaction highly valued” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Satisfaction highly valued”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We requested a king size bed, but were placed in a room without the bed and room layout we had purchased on the hotel website. With the help of James, the manager, and Cathy & Connie at the front desk, they were able to scramble quickly and give us a two class upgrade. They were eager to do ask they could to meet our expectations and they did it with a smile.

Thank you James, Cathy, and Connie. You have won our recommendation.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
I thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

I am very pleased to learn that we managed your expectations.

I will surely share your sentiments with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    204
    103
    35
    29
See reviews for
54
118
34
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mombasa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Ole Sereni is beautiful on the inside. However, you don't want to eat there. You cannot get whatever you want past certain times. Orders take over an hour to arrive on the table. You don't get exactly what you ordered. There's clear lack of management in the restaurant, waiters/waitresses argue with the chef within earshot of customers.

Bogus experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your review.

We do apologise for the delays you faced on the orders and the level of service.

Ole-Sereni surely stands for superior service delivery.

Please allow me to touch base with you to learn further about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

OK, so the location is good for Airport access (International and Wilson) and that is where the good ends.
The breakfast buffet was reasonable, although other food was very average and like everything at Ole Sereni it was expensive/over priced.
The rooms are ok only. They had hard beds, the bathroom arrangement is a bit strange and does not allow for much privacy from the rest of the room.
We stayed twice - the first time the staff didn't have our booking and showed little interest in resolving the issue and after what seemed like 30 minutes they eventually found it. The second time they 'upgraded' us to room overlooking the construction site which is a serious mess. We refused the 'upgrade' and took the room overlooking the reserve (which is underwhelming from a game viewing perspective but infinitely better than the construction site).
We ordered some room service (bad) and the price on the bill was different to the menu. We were told that they just hadn't got to updating the menu....
Anyway, all up it was a convenient location, but very expensive/overpriced with uninterested staff.

Room Tip: Don't go on the construction site side. Ask for a room with view over the reserve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for takign time to give us your feedback.

My sincere apologies on the lapses you faced on service delivery.

I have taken your concerns up with the concerned department and we wille nsure they are rectified right away.

May i please request you to reconsider our services in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Regular breakfast for 3 at more than USD 100? In Nairobi? And terrible service to boot. Really? If that is not robbery, I don't know what is.

We went as a family of 3 for their much advertised breakfast this week.
We walked in to the restaurant and were met by an extremely bored looking 'attendant' who really wished we hadn't shown up and disturbed her.

We found our own table as she couldn't be bothered to show us to one.

The breakfast spread was reasonable, not remarkable, by any standard. The omelet I ordered was very good though, and I compliment the chef on doing her job well.

As we stayed for an hour or so, more guests showed up and it started getting busier. All being managed by an increasingly delayed staff member. She was trying to cope but clearly struggling to deal with requests of coffees and teas in addition to clearing the table,

We waited a good 15 minutes for our bill. KSH 9000 is the most expensive meal we've had in Nairobi ever. And some of our previous meals in this great city have included alcohol.Then their card swipe machine wouldn't work. So another 10 minutes while they swiped the card on another machine.

As we left, the same bored attendant was at the exit but this time deep in conversation with 2 other staff members.

Never again. Being robbed once is enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

Please accept our sincerest of apologies on the poor service delivery you experienced.

Ole-Sereni surely does nto stand for these standards.

Please allow me to touch base with you as we would like you to reconsider our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

It seems Ole Sereni Hotel was understaffed on a Public Holiday, it took 30 minutes to get a internet password for use in the bar area, then when I need to leave and I asked for a receipt, the internet could not be added onto the food and drinks tab and took a further 30 minutes at the main reception desk to produce a receipt. In the first place charging for internet is a disgrace, secondly making a customer wait for a receipt for a Ksh 300 purchase v several thousand dollars for several rooms is extremely short sighted and the hotel staff should have allowed me to have the internet for free rather than delay me.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
I thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

We do sioncerely apologise on the Internet issue you raised. Going forward we have taken off this policy and its offered complimentary.

We do sincerely hope you will reconsider our services in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed two days recently. Was given room on 4th floor facing highway construction. Very noisy in day and only going to get worse as construction expands.

Rooms on this side are very small. Bathroom is tiny. Rooms are not soundproof so you hear everything in corridors. And not just a little.....paper thin!!

Good things are restaurant. Great food and service. Also nice setting overlooking reserve. Also great proximity to airport. If you need to be closer to city this is not the place as Nairobi traffic is horrendous.

Also annoyed at hotel concierge staff. Asked to store luggage on morning checkout while at office. Asked if it would be locked away which was confirmed. Came back in evening 8 hours later to find in the same spot as i left. When asked they said absolutely nothing. They then just laughed.

For what you pay i find this a disgrace. Stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for reserve facing side at booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

We do sincerely apologise for the noise pollution from the roads. We are in the process of addressing this issue by installing double glazed windows across all the guest rooms and public areas.

Your luggage not being stored as you had instructed was wrong on our part and we regret the inconvenience this caused. I will take this up with the concerned Dep't right away.

May I please request you to reconsider our services in future as we assure you a superior stay experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Located 10 to 15 minutes from JKI airport, so convenient location that avoids the Mombasa rd traffic issues going into Nairobi. Nice hotel, good facilities, rooms okay, bathroom is a little small. Overlooks Nairobi national park. Nice bars and restaurants, great buffet breakfast . Staff very friendly. Currently major road upgrades taking place outside hotel, which ruins the view to the city a little, no noise impact at all. The best views are from the Waterhole verandah bar looking over the park, beautiful spot for a quiet drink or meal. Good hotel, perhaps a little over priced.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for takign time to give us your feedback.

We do apologise on the noise pollution from the road works and some jobs carried out internally.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.