We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daylight robbery” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi to your Saves list
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Daylight robbery”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Regular breakfast for 3 at more than USD 100? In Nairobi? And terrible service to boot. Really? If that is not robbery, I don't know what is.

We went as a family of 3 for their much advertised breakfast this week.
We walked in to the restaurant and were met by an extremely bored looking 'attendant' who really wished we hadn't shown up and disturbed her.

We found our own table as she couldn't be bothered to show us to one.

The breakfast spread was reasonable, not remarkable, by any standard. The omelet I ordered was very good though, and I compliment the chef on doing her job well.

As we stayed for an hour or so, more guests showed up and it started getting busier. All being managed by an increasingly delayed staff member. She was trying to cope but clearly struggling to deal with requests of coffees and teas in addition to clearing the table,

We waited a good 15 minutes for our bill. KSH 9000 is the most expensive meal we've had in Nairobi ever. And some of our previous meals in this great city have included alcohol.Then their card swipe machine wouldn't work. So another 10 minutes while they swiped the card on another machine.

As we left, the same bored attendant was at the exit but this time deep in conversation with 2 other staff members.

Never again. Being robbed once is enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

Please accept our sincerest of apologies on the poor service delivery you experienced.

Ole-Sereni surely does nto stand for these standards.

Please allow me to touch base with you as we would like you to reconsider our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    284
    123
    46
    33
See reviews for
72
153
45
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

It seems Ole Sereni Hotel was understaffed on a Public Holiday, it took 30 minutes to get a internet password for use in the bar area, then when I need to leave and I asked for a receipt, the internet could not be added onto the food and drinks tab and took a further 30 minutes at the main reception desk to produce a receipt. In the first place charging for internet is a disgrace, secondly making a customer wait for a receipt for a Ksh 300 purchase v several thousand dollars for several rooms is extremely short sighted and the hotel staff should have allowed me to have the internet for free rather than delay me.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
I thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

We do sioncerely apologise on the Internet issue you raised. Going forward we have taken off this policy and its offered complimentary.

We do sincerely hope you will reconsider our services in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed two days recently. Was given room on 4th floor facing highway construction. Very noisy in day and only going to get worse as construction expands.

Rooms on this side are very small. Bathroom is tiny. Rooms are not soundproof so you hear everything in corridors. And not just a little.....paper thin!!

Good things are restaurant. Great food and service. Also nice setting overlooking reserve. Also great proximity to airport. If you need to be closer to city this is not the place as Nairobi traffic is horrendous.

Also annoyed at hotel concierge staff. Asked to store luggage on morning checkout while at office. Asked if it would be locked away which was confirmed. Came back in evening 8 hours later to find in the same spot as i left. When asked they said absolutely nothing. They then just laughed.

For what you pay i find this a disgrace. Stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for reserve facing side at booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

We do sincerely apologise for the noise pollution from the roads. We are in the process of addressing this issue by installing double glazed windows across all the guest rooms and public areas.

Your luggage not being stored as you had instructed was wrong on our part and we regret the inconvenience this caused. I will take this up with the concerned Dep't right away.

May I please request you to reconsider our services in future as we assure you a superior stay experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Located 10 to 15 minutes from JKI airport, so convenient location that avoids the Mombasa rd traffic issues going into Nairobi. Nice hotel, good facilities, rooms okay, bathroom is a little small. Overlooks Nairobi national park. Nice bars and restaurants, great buffet breakfast . Staff very friendly. Currently major road upgrades taking place outside hotel, which ruins the view to the city a little, no noise impact at all. The best views are from the Waterhole verandah bar looking over the park, beautiful spot for a quiet drink or meal. Good hotel, perhaps a little over priced.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for takign time to give us your feedback.

We do apologise on the noise pollution from the road works and some jobs carried out internally.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located near the airport. The health club has a full gym with modern Equipment. The food is very good. The restauranthas an outdoor patio with a view on the Nairobi National Park. The gym is big with modern equipment both for cardio and weights. The infinity pool is nice and relaxing. The only drawback is that the windows and doors are not soundproof at all. For rooms facing the front, you have the highway traffic noise and for rooms facing the back (the National Park), there are people having supper and drinks on the patio who talk loudly. And you can hear all that is going on the the corridors, including doors opening and people walking at all hours of the day and night, especially airline crews that use the hotel due to its location.

But the best part by far is the Eagles Club located on the top floor. The bar area is beautifully decorated and the restaurant is simply fantastic. It had been a long time since I had such a wonderful meal. The food is delectable and well-presented. It is haute cuisine that would make the envy of any French restaurant. I have stayed at all the hotels in Kenya over the last 10 years on business and I have eaten at all the restaurants. I can without hesitation that the Eagles Club restaurant is the best by far.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
I sincerely thank you for taking time to give us your review.

We are in the process of placing sound proof windows across all guest rooms. We thank you for pointing it out.

I am thoroughly pleased and humbled by your reviews about Eagles. A lot of time and effort has into making this outlet as the jewel of our crown. We are very proud of it and even more when we hear from our guests. I will surely share your sentiments with our Team.

We hope to continue in delivering the finest product and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed 2 nights.The hotel is very close to the airport. It's very modern and clean. The outdoor seating and dinning area are very nice and look out over park land. Rooms have a balcony, which is always a good thing. I wasn't too impressed with the security. The access door to the upper floor rooms was always open and although there were a few security guards patrolling, it would be very easy to breach certain parts of the hotel wall without anyone seeing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your review.

I am pleased that your stay was a pleasant experience apart from the security concern which we are addressing right away. Thank you for pointing it out.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, MT
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We arrived in Nairobi after a 16 hour flight from Atlanta and quick overnight in Johannisberg to find this stunning hotel abutting Nairobi National Park. Our 2 nights here were perfect. Everything about this hotel is first rate, from its African modern decor to food and service. We highly recommend Ole-Sereni!

Room Tip: Request room facing Nairobi National Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
I thank you for taking time to give us your raving comments.

I am truly pleased to learn that your stay was a pleasant one and you appreciated our services.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.3 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#23 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Panari Hotel
The Panari Hotel
#38 of 129 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#3 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
67 Airport Hotel
67 Airport Hotel
#22 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
8.6 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
3.0 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#10 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.