We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 101 hotels in Nairobi
Crowthorne, Berks
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not great experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed one night while in transit from Kenya safari's before travelling to Seychelles. Had booked a room and paid extra for view over National Park. On arrival , they put us in a standrad room with view of construction site and then denied we had upgraded and would not believe us. It took three hours to resolve, involving tour operator despite us having proof. No proper apology and we lost whole afternoon. Also they had problems verifying credit card and suggested it was a problem with our cards, connection or incompetence more likely. Even suggested we pay cash ??
Food and drink very expensive and not particularly good. Not sure i would stay again.

Room Tip: Be careful what room you book, as they are building a new motorway and flyover next to hotel and sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your experience.

My sincere apologies on the series of inconveniences you had faced. I will take this up with the concerned Department right away and ensure we do not allow them to be repeated.

May i please request you to reconsider our services in future.

Once agin, our sincerest of apologies and we look forward to having you with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    199
    98
    33
    29
See reviews for
52
113
34
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stoppped over in Nairobi for one night following a safari and on our way to Mauritius for the rest of our holiday.
Nairobi roads are interesting and very busy so the hotel looked like a haven away from the hussle and bussle.A very impressive entrance,lobby and restaurants.
Pool was OK but noisy as there is a main road being built just outside .Rooms were functional and clean if not luxurious,fine for a night or two.
We ate at the eagles restaurant on the top floor overlooking the game reserve.The food was excellent and the service superb.They are trying to attract wealthy westerners and doing a good job,we could not fault the evening.
Unfortunately the roadworks started at 6.00am next morning,so no lie in. We would go back for the food but not a restful nights sleep.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the game reserve as it will be less noisy in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
I thank you for taking time to share your positive experience apart from the noise polllution from the roads.

We are addressing it by installing 'Sound Proof' windows and this exercise should start very soon.

I am very pleased that your Eagles experience was upto your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Spend two nights in the hotel (as start and end of our honeymoon) and enjoyed it. Rooms were a bit small and the bed was extremely hard. Staff at the reception was not very friendly and check in process took quite some time. The breakfast was excellent (loads of choices) and the restaurant on the 4th floor is top notch! Decent hotel but pricy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your review.

Congratulations on your Honemoon and we appreciate you choosing Ole-Sereni for this special occasion.

We do apologise for the delay in the check-in process which will be addressed right away and also pleased that you found our Fine Dining reaturant 'Eagles' an experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Having left the Boma Hotel to try something new, I was disappointed to come to Ole Sereni. More expensive than Boma, with a room half the size, little amenities, cramped this hotel is definitely NOT worth the $300 (please don't fork this over for a park view, not worth it, go on a safari).

Adding to the experience is that I have a Kenyan girlfriend and we of course checked in together earlier this day. Went out at night only to be questioned by security upon returning.

As Lacie8, commented below, I had the same experience. Overall unless you're 'Mzungo' you will not be able to walk around freely without the suspicious eyes. Disgusting stay, wouldn't recommend this to anyone, even at half the price. Especially watch out for the security 'Augustine' who under the false pretense of 'I just want to see if you're double booked so tell me your room number (HAHA)' wants to nose around your business even if it's your wife or girlfriend of a different color, I guess at $300/night we deserve to be interrogated. It shouldn't even matter who goes to your room if you pay for two people especially at the ridiculous cost.

On the bright side, the workout facilities are quite nice, but you can get that in many other hotels, cheaper and for a better value. The pool is okay, but comparing to somewhere like the Boma (10-15 min walk away) really not worth it. Agnes at the front desk was as helpful as can be and a shining star.

Front desk is in the middle of the hotel so after you go up the first stairs and about 20 M down the hall or so. We brought our bags in ourselves and was not offered any help at any point even after check in, maybe they were too busy to bother with a local.

The room itself had bits of food under the fridge, the AC remote was under the bed and took time before we found it or realised there was even a control, rooms are quite small and cramped, no slippers were in the room as advertised (booking.com). It features a french balcony, which means the window opens but there is no room to go outside.

Just so you know where I'm coming from. I rated a 2 star guesthouse here in Nairobi 5 stars because of the level of service they offered for the rate of $30/night. For 10 x the price at Ole Sereni had me wishing I was back at the guesthouse.

I would never, ever stay there again. I am guessing most of the reviews are from others that have not stayed in other places in Nairobi or though that this was the best the city offers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback.

We have been communication vai mails on this complaint. It is extremly unfortunate that you feel this and I can assure you that Ole-Sereni is a global organization which ensures same service levels and respect is given to all its patrons.

We take this very seriously and do not allow any of our team members to deviate.

We sincerely hope you will reconsider our services in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed one night and enjoyed it. Our room overlooked the national park and we saw crowned cranes from our room. The room was very quiet and spacious. Beds in Kenya are harder than we are used to but it was still comfortable. The staff were quite nice. Will stay here again while traveling thru Nairobi.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your positive review.

We hope you will choose our services during your future travels to Kenya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The hotel is nice and close to the airport but also on the edge of the National Park so it feels very peaceful.
The staff were very helpful, although the check out process was quite slow.
The restaurant was great and had really good indian food!
I was lucky enough to have a room that overlooked the park, I didn't see any animals but it was still a nice scenic view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your experience.

I am thoroughly pleased to know that your stay was pleasant.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herriman, Utah
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed there for 5 nights while on a business trip. We requested a hotel car to pick us (5 of us) up from the airport. Due to the fire in the arrivals hall of the airport we cleared customs in a parking garage. The driver was there holding a sign for us with all of our names on it.

We found the staff at the hotel to be friendly and welcoming. The rooms are clean. The bed is a bit on the hard side. My other colleagues found this to be the case as well. I had no issues with service. The food in the restaurants was quite good. The only issue we had was that they were testing out a new internet system so that non staying guests at the hotel would have to pay for internet. It's complimentary for hotel guests. The system barely worked the first day. I believe they gave up the test and went back to the original system for a while.

The travel desk did want to charge $140 USD for a car to make a 1 hour tour to the post office and grocery store. We re-negotiated this to bring it down to $30.

Room Tip: Half of the rooms on the city facing side of the hotel have balconies. Ask for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your positive feedback.

I am very glad to learn that your stay was pleasant.

On your remark on the mattresses, we are in the process of changing them in the next month. I am sure you will find superior level of amenities during your future travels to Nairobi.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.