We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed for 1 night, with meetings at the airport, the perfect location, and you avoid the manic traffic in and out of the city.
Room very pleasant, if a little small, and always good to have free wifi.
Buffet dinner very good and plenty of choice.
Only moan would be the tardy check in/check out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

I am pleased to learn that your stay was pleasant apart from the slow process at the reception.

We will address this concern right away.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    195
    93
    32
    28
See reviews for
50
109
34
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here for a night while travelling out to the Maasai Mara. Security is good at the hotel. We stayed in the Maasai Suite which was a beautiful suite. The only complaint is that the bed is extremely uncomfortable but that was the only complaint we had for the room.

Unfortunately, we didn't have time to use the amazing bathtub but it really was beautiful. The bathroom was very nice with a great shower.

The hotel itself is beautiful and if you eat at the restaurant you can overlook the park which is so peaceful. They have some great statutes and it is decorated very nicely. Service in the restaurant was extremely slow when we ate and the staff wasn't overly attentive.

Room Tip: Maasai Suite was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback which is very appreciated.

Our sincere apologies on the bed discomfort and the slow service in the restaurant. We will have these concerns addressed right away.

We hope you will consider our services during your future travels to this part of the world.

I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Ole Sereni is around 15-20 MInutes from NBO international airport and next to the city's own national park. The rooms are nicely furnished and clean, my view from the small balcony unfortunately faced the adjacent parking lot. The hotel's restaurant has a good selections of menues, the local beef was so delicious I had it twice for diner. Breakfast was served on the terrace with a great view over the park, the buffet selection did not leave any wish unanswered. Through the local travel desk, I booked an early morning safari to the park where we spend 4 hours watching giraffes, buffalos, zebras, gazelles, rhinos, ostrich and lions. Definitely a trip to be recommended, especially if you don't have a lot of time but still feel for some African adventure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
I sincerely thank you for taking time to give us your positive reviews.

You have given us Top Marks across the board and for that we are greatly humbled.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights. We choose it because of the location next to The National park. Our room was small but very nice. The first night we had a lovely meal in The Eagle restaurant on the 4th floor. The staff were excellent. When we asked for a wine recommendation they matched the wine superbly to our chosen meal. The only down side of our stay was the noise. It sounded like table and chairs being dragged across the floor from very early morning. That said we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your positive feedback.

I am glad you found Eagle's a fine culinary experience.

We do however apologise for the noise pollution on the floors and will address is right away.

We look forward to having you with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed here for several nights last week. I went on 3 safaris with the hotel. We saw so much wildlife at Nairobi National Park. We even saw a pride of 11 lions stalk and kill a zebra! Amazing. Our game driver was Benson, he was amazing, knowledgeable and he knew where to take us for the best safari experience.
This hotel is more than just a great place to stay, it is a destination for great safaris!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your raving reviews.

I recollect us watching those extra-ordinary images of the Nairobi National Park especially the one with 11 LIONS!!!! I have not met any of our guests who had a game sighting as you did.

Thank you for acknowledging 'Benson's' efforts and we wlook forward to welcoming you back.

You just might see 12 LIONS next time:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We only stayed here one night but it was lovely, a very nice first introduction to Kenya! The outdoor dining patio was great and overlooked a wide expanse of land. The breakfast was lovely and the staff were great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback.

I am pleased that you had a pleasant experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I enjoyed my most recent visit to the Ole Sereni and found it better than last time. It is very well located for a night or two, if you want to be near the airports and/ or the Nairobi National Park etc.
The rooms are a tad small, but fine for a short stay. The Hotel appears to have toned down its Sports Bar cum Club feel of late and maybe now recognises that a wide range of guests want to stay. Some upgrading and re vamping is taking place, including a new bar area, on the top floor, with great views. The menu, whilst not stunning, is fine and ok , quality wise. In my opinion, this hotel is a good quality three to three and a half hotel, that gives guests what they pay for ie not luxury but quite a good package, without being stunning.

Room Tip: Remember if a light and early sleeper, to avoid rooms above the open bar area, as it is quite noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your reviews.

I am glad that you have noticed the changes / upgrades we ahve been working on to enhance guest experience.

I can assure you that your future visit will encounter a delight at Ole-Sereni.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.