We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel next to city national park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi to your Saves list
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Zurich
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“hotel next to city national park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Ole Sereni is around 15-20 MInutes from NBO international airport and next to the city's own national park. The rooms are nicely furnished and clean, my view from the small balcony unfortunately faced the adjacent parking lot. The hotel's restaurant has a good selections of menues, the local beef was so delicious I had it twice for diner. Breakfast was served on the terrace with a great view over the park, the buffet selection did not leave any wish unanswered. Through the local travel desk, I booked an early morning safari to the park where we spend 4 hours watching giraffes, buffalos, zebras, gazelles, rhinos, ostrich and lions. Definitely a trip to be recommended, especially if you don't have a lot of time but still feel for some African adventure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
I sincerely thank you for taking time to give us your positive reviews.

You have given us Top Marks across the board and for that we are greatly humbled.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    231
    108
    40
    32
See reviews for
59
133
39
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights. We choose it because of the location next to The National park. Our room was small but very nice. The first night we had a lovely meal in The Eagle restaurant on the 4th floor. The staff were excellent. When we asked for a wine recommendation they matched the wine superbly to our chosen meal. The only down side of our stay was the noise. It sounded like table and chairs being dragged across the floor from very early morning. That said we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your positive feedback.

I am glad you found Eagle's a fine culinary experience.

We do however apologise for the noise pollution on the floors and will address is right away.

We look forward to having you with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed here for several nights last week. I went on 3 safaris with the hotel. We saw so much wildlife at Nairobi National Park. We even saw a pride of 11 lions stalk and kill a zebra! Amazing. Our game driver was Benson, he was amazing, knowledgeable and he knew where to take us for the best safari experience.
This hotel is more than just a great place to stay, it is a destination for great safaris!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your raving reviews.

I recollect us watching those extra-ordinary images of the Nairobi National Park especially the one with 11 LIONS!!!! I have not met any of our guests who had a game sighting as you did.

Thank you for acknowledging 'Benson's' efforts and we wlook forward to welcoming you back.

You just might see 12 LIONS next time:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We only stayed here one night but it was lovely, a very nice first introduction to Kenya! The outdoor dining patio was great and overlooked a wide expanse of land. The breakfast was lovely and the staff were great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback.

I am pleased that you had a pleasant experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I enjoyed my most recent visit to the Ole Sereni and found it better than last time. It is very well located for a night or two, if you want to be near the airports and/ or the Nairobi National Park etc.
The rooms are a tad small, but fine for a short stay. The Hotel appears to have toned down its Sports Bar cum Club feel of late and maybe now recognises that a wide range of guests want to stay. Some upgrading and re vamping is taking place, including a new bar area, on the top floor, with great views. The menu, whilst not stunning, is fine and ok , quality wise. In my opinion, this hotel is a good quality three to three and a half hotel, that gives guests what they pay for ie not luxury but quite a good package, without being stunning.

Room Tip: Remember if a light and early sleeper, to avoid rooms above the open bar area, as it is quite noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your reviews.

I am glad that you have noticed the changes / upgrades we ahve been working on to enhance guest experience.

I can assure you that your future visit will encounter a delight at Ole-Sereni.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Excellent access to Nairobi International Airport. Good restaurant, cordial and competent staff. Clean, modern rooms. Business center and wifi throughout. I don't think I would stay at this hotel if I needed to be in Nairobi for meetings or tourism, but it was great for the night I arrived from the airport and I will use it the night before an early morning flight out. Also has good access to game parks and other tourist activities, and packages to support travel to them.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
I sincerely thank you for taking time to give us your positive reviews.

It is truly overwhelming to hear from a satisfied guest.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Ole Sereni is located midpoint between city centre and the airport. If your travels take you around that area this is an ideal place to stay to avoid the truly mind-boggling traffic mismanagement in Nairobi. The hotel is located on the edge of the Nairob Game Park so ask for a room with park view. The alternative is to look over a building site and the main road.
Rooms are reasonably appointed though not huge. Air con works. Baths are OK with step-in bath shower rater than walk-in in most rooms.
Terace is lovely to sit out on after a day at work and enjoy and G and T overlooking teh park. On occasion you will see the odd giraffe, buffalo or zebra.
Food is acceptable but service is often slow. Advice, order your food, then go for your pre-dinner snifter on the terrace and get them to call you when it;s ready.

Room Tip: Park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your reviews.

I am pleased that your stay was pleasant apart from the slow service which we will address right away.

We are in the process of upgrading the rooms layout in terms of design / finctionality and comfort.

We sincerely hope you will consider our services during your future travels to Nairobi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.