We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and so convenient for air travellers.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi to your Saves list
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Weekend offer of $ 199
Ranked #23 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Sydney
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great hotel and so convenient for air travellers.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Having been through the chaos of Nairobi before the fire at Jomo Kenyatta airport, we were very pleased that our next stay was conveniently situated between the smaller Wilson airport and the main airport. The hotel met all the criteria that we would expect from such a modern establishment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your positive review feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    213
    103
    38
    32
See reviews for
57
125
35
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Tables overlooking savannah, nice and private. Waitrons attentive, not rushed. Ideal for a stop over while in transit.
The menu is varied and reasonably priced, including grills and seafood as well as asian cuisine. The portions are reasonably sized and well-priced.
The restaurant has a full bar and inside dinkng is an option.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your positive feedback which we truly appreciate.

Ole-Sereni's Biggest Strength is its unique location and we are glad to learn that you enjoyed the setting and the service levels.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ex pat in Ct
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on two occasions overnight between flights. For anyone who has endured or is aware of the traffic congestion and delays in Nairobi this is ideally situated between the international (now tent) airport and Wilson airport. The rooms are well appointed but extremely small. Service in the main restaurant is extremely slow and inefficient which left a very poor impression on what I would have considered an 'average' hotel.
So, ideal between flights but don't expect more than a basic airport overnight

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your constructive feedback.

I do apologise for the Service delays you faced which are unacceptable to us and we will ensure gets attended to right away.

We do hope you will reconsider our services during your future travels to Nairobi.

I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed here with my three kids for just one night 8th August. It had meant to be 7th August, but due to the fire at JKIA and no flights from Dar, we got into a taxi and spent a loooong time on the road...so when we pitched up at the Ole mid-morning I was very impressed that they simply 'rolled' over our booking to the Thursday for the two rooms. The people on reception were friendly and extremely efficient, dealing with 4 very tired, hungry and travel-weary characters. About an hour later we were tucking into the glorious buffet...the food choice was tremendous, and the food freshly cooked. The pool (fantastic) and deck overlook the Nairobi National Park, but we didn't see any animals from there. The hotel is one to relax in..and as it is near the airport, it is a good choice for a last stay before a flight elsewhere. In summary, the place is highly efficient, very comfortable and luxurious. Staff very friendly.

Room Tip: We stayed in the club rooms which were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
I sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to give your positive feedback.

Thank you for acknowledging our Teams efforts as we will share your sentiments with them.

We thank you once again for choosing Ole-Sereni and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Recently was in Nairobi. After a not so great visit to Lagos was pleasantly surprised with everything the hotel had to offer. The hotel is next to Nairobi National park. from the hotel rooms you get to see the park and if you are lucky can see wild animals grazing, hunting etc. I could spot wild buffalows and few Zebras. The restaurant has excellent multi cuisine offerings.

Room Tip: Please ask for park facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
I sincerely thank you for giving us your raving reviews.

I am glad you got the opportunity to spot some game in the park.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Ideally loacted at about 10 miles from the airport this hotel is facing noational park and from the terrasee you can enjoy viewing the girafes if you're lucky or aother aninamls and many birds.
Staff is great and very friendly , the breakfast buffet and lunch buffet are also great.
We were not lucky though as construction outside the hotel were noisy and we had to wake up at àèhàà when the wrok started !
Shame as this would have been a realxing stay... Check construction is over before going
Visited 08 to 14 AUG

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your positive review.

I however do apologise for the noise pollution you faced due to the adjacent road construction which is concluded now.

We hope you will reconsider our services during your future tarvels to Nairobi.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We only stayed here one night before flying down to Dar Es Salaam. The hotel is very good. British Airways crew were all staying here too. We arrived very late, but had a speedy check-in and great breakfast overlooking the national park. The bar and restaurant areas were very clean and the waiting staff were very efficient. The room décor is a little dated, but I would stay here again if I was travelling to Nairobi

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your positive review.

I am glad that your stay was a pleasant one and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#17 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.